7/29 Morgaine AMPS 174,+6 117,PMPS 120

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

So I feel like a broken record but at least I am stuck with the blues. We have 3 more cycles with 2 units bid and I am wondering if some of you would look at her SS and let me know if we would be better off to stay with the 2 units for a longer time, beyond the 10 cycles or up the dose 2.25 if things do not move. She seems to come down just a bit with each dose increase but so far, she has only been under 100 once and that was a 98.

Although I think she is doing okay, I believe she can do better and get better control. Last night she drank 5 oz. of water which tells me she had numbers that were up. Yesterday she was not showing any PD. As mentioned before, the FS meter seems to run lower than most of them so a 174 could easily be well over 200.

I think my question is this: Is it best to stay on a dose longer if the results are like Morgaine's or is it wise to increase after 10 cycles if numbers are so close to being beuatiful. The protocol is not clear to me in this range. As usual she is not really showing any high numbers but some green would be nice. Then I believe she would be in a real safety zone as far as her symptoms go. Right now she is still consuming too much water and I do believe it is because she drifts into the higher numbers. According to Queensland info. 70 ml/kg is considered okay for a diabetic cat and Morgaine is just above that at around 75 ml/kg. That includes water from canned food. We do live on the desert so she may be drinking more as the AC is always on and it is very dry in my apartment. Anyway, this is the concern for me and has been all along. From all the reading I have done, it is possble to get these kitties in the normal range so that the PD/PU completely subsides.

I also worry that it may be a kidney issue but if she responds when her numbers are lowest, then I am thinking it is the FD causing the PD/PU. Can anyone offer any insight at this point.
 
Re: 7/29 Morgaine AMPS 174 dose ?

Hello Rosalie and Mlle Morgaine,

I was just staring at Morgaines ss - all the lovely blues -it has a calming effect. . .

skybar22 said:
I think my question is this: Is it best to stay on a dose longer if the results are like Morgaine's or is it wise to increase after 10 cycles if numbers are so close to being beuatiful.

I'll start out by saying - This situation was not in our experience. Those are some beautiful numbers. One question is what numbers do you feel would be best for your cat? I know you want her below her renal threshold, with no glucose dumping into her urine. Will there be further improvement at this dose? That's unknown,, unless you try it. However similar to kitties that are trying to come down from high numbers, is it a bad idea to hang around too long at higher than desired numbers, even when they are beautiful blues? I myself don't know for sure but that may be the case. Hopefully someone whose experience more closely matches Morgaines will chime in.

To me she seems to fit into the first category below - Holding the dose.

Increasing the dose...

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 7/29 Morgaine AMPS 174 dose ?

I would definitely prefer tighter control. In my human experience with type 1, my doc always says that anything inder 150 is acceptable but the tighter the control the better the results. As Morgaine continues to rise high enough to reach her renal threshold, I would be inclined to give it another day or so and then increase the dose again but i would like more input at this point. My other way of thinking is that each time i increase the dose by .25, it takes a few cycles for her to settle in and then she goes a slight bit lower on the new dose. Though I do not desire to see her in the low greens, I do desire to see her in the normal range. For me tight control means keeping my BG's in the 90-120 range and that is for a human. I do that but I also experience some hypos. Of course cats are very different and Lantus is a gentle, basal insulin. Seeing how she responds makes me think I should continue to increase the dose after 10 cycles if her nadir remains consistently above 120 or so. Of course none of this is precise and as I have said so often, the FS meter runs low.
 
Re: 7/29 Morgaine AMPS 174 dose ?

Hopefully you will get some more input.
You've got a few more cycles to go ...the numbers will help you decide.
 
Re: 7/29 Morgaine AMPS 174,+6 117 dose ?

Thanks Sandy. I am going to bump this as I would like somemore input.
 
Re: 7/29 Morgaine AMPS 174,+6 117 dose ? ADVICE please

I believe that your assessment is correct -- the longer at any dose range, the harder it is to bring numbers down. Morgaine's body will begin to regard a dose range as "normal" the longer she stays in that range. This is the rationale for raising the insulin dose. Given how flat Morgaine's cycles are, if she were my cat I'd be raising her dose.
 
Re: 7/29 Morgaine AMPS 174,+6 117 dose ? ADVICE please

Sienne and Gabby said:
I believe that your assessment is correct -- the longer at any dose range, the harder it is to bring numbers down. Morgaine's body will begin to regard a dose range as "normal" the longer she stays in that range. This is the rationale for raising the insulin dose. Given how flat Morgaine's cycles are, if she were my cat I'd be raising her dose.
I hadn't really considered that it might actually not be good for her to remain at the level she is at but now that you mention it, it makes sense. Her body almost seems to "want" to return to a higher BG no matter what the dose is. I am a bit perplexed at how this is all working for her since her numbers really have not changed much since we started. They drift down a bit but we started at .50 u bid and she is now at 2 u and such a minimal change in her BGs.

Has anyone experienced anything like this with their kitties? no high BGs but very little movement with increases.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top