7/29 Moonie PMPS 155, +3~87

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roni and Moonie

Member Since 2009
Morning-Got home late from party, but Moonie had eaten a normal amount of food... BY This am she had eaten
a great amount of food including some mc I had left out for her..So that was great-
I shot with the new syringes ultra comfort supposedly monoject, and they get terrible bubbles, but otherwise it is pretty easy-
I shot I'd say 0.2 I think, and we'll see where she goes--She was talkative , ate some & is now resting next to me in a blanket.. Yesterday was really terrible for Moonie (except that she got temptations a lot :lol: ;-) )
she was so unsettled, uncomfortable, and just not a happy camper...
Hoping for a better day today, restful & peaceful...
Have a beautiful Sunday-Hugs & Love from us--I am up to 7/15/12 in my SS :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Almost there :lol: --Enjoy your day!!

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75905
 
Re: 7/29 Moonie AMPS 163

Morning Roni - Nice start for Moonie today, a nice mid-level blue. I hope she has a good day today. It is never fun when they are unsettled, and not happy. Good luck with the new syringes. I use those. hey have issues, what ones don't, but overall I think they are OK.

Hey WOO HOO on that SS! :-D :-D

Enjoy your day today. Surf well Moonie!
 
Re: 7/29 Moonie AMPS 163

Hi Roni, very exciting yesterday for Moonie and congrats on the reducie. I'm glad Moonie is feeling better today. I have the Monojects syringes, too, but I have it easier with just counting drops, but with the higher doses can be a challenge. Have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 7/29 Moonie AMPS 163

Hi Roni,
So glad that Moonie is "normal" this morning and that she is eating well. With the Monojects it helps to control the bubbles by pushing the plunger all the way in forcefully and holding it there while you insert it into the insulin pen. Then let up on the "power hold" and slowly draw beyond your dose. Then twist to your dose. That is a really small dose that Moonie has! Did you see my drawing of a "perfect" Monoject syringe? :
https://docs.google.com/document/d/18Sy-_ED9Vi_119OVGEF71zZ0PM6op2R_07oz578xaWU/edit

Check your syringe and make sure that the bottom of the "cone" lines up with the zero line. Also see how far the base of the needle comes down into the cone (it should come down to the bottom, but rarely does in the newer lots). Both of these are compensating factors because if you just measure to where the marks are on the syringe, it is possible to give more insulin than you intend. (Even if the base of the needle comes all the way down to the bottom of the cone, if the bottom of the cone is above the zero line (on the needle side of the zero line), you will have extra insulin between the zero line and the bottom of the cone and you will be giving a larger dose than you intend).

So nice that you had a fun dinner last night.

Big Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/29 Moonie AMPS 163

Oh, I'm so sorry to read Moonie had such a rough go of it - I'm sending lots of vines for a better, happier day today! Hang in there Roni!

We're going to do condo-visits with extras today, since it's Sunday and all, so here's a rainbow for you straight from the Hout Bay valley:
422176_10100300236436183_1464144572_n.jpg


Jane
 
Re: 7/29 Moonie AMPS 163,+3~84,+4~88,+5.5~101

She is surfing, but only because I am hand feeding her & gave a few temptations...I think the weather is making her feel badly, she is sitting down in front slowly, & seems to not be herself..
I thought it was her numbers, but the humid, rain around weather is murder on the bones--I am worried.
I do have bupe but never used it & dont remember the doseage-know it 0.5, but have oral syringe..Wont it make her woozy & yucky?--She is sleeping in the corner of our room in her hidey hole--
I feel so bad, dont know what it is..at times she is herself, now seems unsettled--
Any insights?
 
Re: 7/29 Moonie AMPS 163,+3~84,+4~88,+5.5~101 arth pain?

Hi again, Roni,

Sorry, no insights, but the hot, humid weather could certainly be affecting Moonie. It affects all the rest of us! Is she drinking enough water? Is she making contributions to the litterbox?
I've never given Bupe, but I have it for emergencies and people on the board here told me that 0.2 is a safe dose (not too much, but just enough).

I hope Moonie is feeling better by this evening, when it is cooler. Rusty is picking a bouquet of beautiful healing vines for her.

Big Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/29 Moonie AMPS 163,+3~84,+4~88,+5.5~101 arth pain?

Poor Moonie...I hope she's feeling better by the time you read this! I'm sure the weather could be affecting her. My Mario also seems a bit stiff lately, too, even though it's only been 2 weeks since his last Adequan shot. It's also been very stuffy and muggy around here.

Her numbers are looking quite lovely, though! Feel better Moonie-Girl!
 
Re: 7/29 Moonie AMPS 163,+3~84,+4~88,+5.5~101 arth pain?

Roni

I'm so sorry Moonie is not feeling well today and send her many many healing vines.

Ella's description of the MJs and her picture is right on target. The variation in the needles coming into the cone, etc, is why I got rid of them. The Terumos do not have a cone.

We give Gus bupe....he weighs 9.5lb and I give him .1ml bid. That's a maintenance dose for him. I would suggest you start low and then increase a little bit if it doesn't seem to help her. ECID.

Hugs and prayers for you and Moonie.
 
Re: 7/29 Moonie AMPS 163,+3~84,+4~88,+5.5~101 arth pain?

We are so sorry to read that Moonie is not feeling well. We also used Bupe with Zener post-dental in small amounts as Marje wrote. He was having transit time problems and the Bupe seemed to slow that down, but it did make him feel better and eat much better. We have paws crossed Moonie is feeling better very soon.
 
Re: 7/29 Moonie AMPS 163,+3~84,+4~88,+5.5~101 arth pain?

I actually have Adequan & syringes ready to go--also bupe & oral syringes
I am going to start the Adequan tomorrow--Will it cause bleeding with that big syringe??Vet prescribed SubQ shot of Adequan---Hope it will help my sweet girl!!
Also..If that doesnt work, I still have the bupe...
Thanks for all the help--I so appreciate it!
 
Re: 7/29 Moonie AMPS 163,+3~84,+4~88,+5.5~101 arth pain?

I've never had a problem with Mario bleeding after an adequan shot. However, it does take a while for it to kick in. We started seeing SOME results within a few shots, started seeing more noteworthy results a few weeks in, and saw the most significant improvement after about 4-6 months. So, you may want to use the bupe in the meantime, until you get through the loading dose and start seeing improvement...just double-check with your vet that it's OK to give both bupe and adequan at the same time.
 
Re: 7/29 Moonie AMPS 163,+3~84,+4~88,+5.5~101 arth pain?

Roni, bupe is a wonder drug for Checkers. He doesn't have arthritis in his joints, he has a degenerative disk in his spine, which is occasionally VERY painful.
After discussing with his doctors, every medication available for cats with this condition, it was decided, that pain relief was the best thing for him..as opposed to a med that is designed for arthritis.

Roni, in less than an hour, Checkers is free of pain, he is NOT loopy. He sleeps for a while, then goes looking for food.
He is more affectionate with me and just generally happy, now that he can have pain relief when he needs it.

He was prescribed 0.1 ml by mouth....under tongue, or in cheek pouch, every 12 hours. I get prefilled syringes, easier for me. Only once, has he needed it twice in one day. Checkers is 9 pounds

He has had 1.5ml and it was just fine.

Bupe must be kept in the DARK.

Roni, please don't be afraid to give Moonie bupe. She will feel so good, and not dopey or drugged.

You know of course, that I am not a vet!!!

ed for spelling
 
Re: 7/29 Moonie AMPS 163,+3~84,+4~88,+5.5~101 arth pain?

Hi Roni, sorry Moonie is hurting. Maggie and I are sending some healing vines to our good friend, Moonie. I hope the Bupe helps her. Hugs and love from us.
 
Re: 7/29 Moonie PMPS 155

Pretty good numbers today! She even ate some chicken & came to the table to ask for it at dinner!..Also ate some cat food but I had to hold the plate for her in her cat bed :roll: :roll: She has me so whipped!!! But I tried to give her dasuquin in a pill pocket(no go) and that is something I feel she hasnt been eating for the last week, or not getting it into her! Also the methyl B12 she hasnt been eating much, so both have to do with her leg problems---

Tomorrow I will work on getting her better-adequan and maybe bupe..will talk to vet tomorrow..
I see her face and her movements and I know she's not feeling right..My poor baby I Will help her...
Also does she need dasuquin if she is on adequan? Guess not? SURE I JUST GOT A NEW BOTTLE YESTERDAY!!!!! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
Thanks for all your help today..I am happy that she ate some tonite & hope she will eat during this evening!
GEEZ These Cats are a Lot Of Work!!!! But we just love them so...Hoping for a good evening-BBL Hugs!
 
She came out & stayed with us tonite-ate a bit on her own, & got a nice 87 at +3..
Hope she eats some more overnight, and we'll see how we go tomorrow...
So tired after watching the Olympics--awesome!!! All that exersize exhausted me :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Amazing to watch though!
Hope tomorrow will be a better day for us all==Have peaceful dreams, calming sleepus & good health.
Sending Hugs & love from us--Ni Ni LL!!
 
Sorry about Moonie not feeling well, luckily she's having an appy & eating. It's so stressful when our little furry one is not eating or not feeling well. Hope the painkiller can help Moonie. How about a hot water bottle putting on one side of her bed. Usually my cats will lean on the warmth if they feel more comfy with it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top