7/29 Max Amps~83 +1.5~72 +4.25~237 PMPS~165

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Member Since 2012
\lo. An hour and a half before Max's sh\ {Thank you, Emma, for helping write the post!}
ot time his BG is 96. He had a little bit of food right after I tested him. He's a nibbler, and never eats very much at once unless he's been deprived. He ate at +7, too.

Today is the one-year anniversary of my grandfather's death. I miss him. I don't want to stay home alone all day. Emma and her Daddy are going to Grandma's.

If I give a token dose or a reduced dose, we'll get back on track. How much should I give him if he's still near 100? His shot time is 10:00 a.m. and +6 will be 4:00.

Link to yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75918&p=821165#p821165
 
Re: 7/29 Max +1.5 (284)(night) +11.5 (96) +12.25 (83) Dose?

Well, I waited 15 minutes, and he was at 83. That made me pretty nervous, and I gave him 0.5. I hate to mess up our progress, but he ate some at +11.5, and to be at 83 less than an hour later is a little scary. What should I have done if I was committed to staying home? Stall more and try to give 2.5? Or was a dropping number that low after food was on board a serious warning sign as I thought it was? Now he's hungry which is a good sign. EDITED: I'll test again at 10:45. I'm looking at the protocol to try to remember this stuff.
 
Re: 7/29 Max +1.5 284(night) +11.5 96 +12.25 83 +0.5 82 Dose

He's still not rising at 0.5, but he's in a safe range. He's not hungry. I'll test again in an hour at 11:45.

We've had a couple of fur shots (one on the evening of 7/27 and one on the morning of 7/28), we've had two late shots: (one on the morning of 7/27 and one on the evening of 7/28). We had one shot 15 minutes early on the morning of 7/28. With all this going on it's a little concerning that he's so low at 0.5. Maybe this is totally normal, but it seems that if I had given him good shots instead of those fur shots and an on-time shot last night, he would be needing HC food right now even before +1. Likely?
 
Re: 7/29 Max +1.5 284(night) +11.5 96 +12.25 83 +0.5 82 Dose

Hi Dale!

Let me look at his SS. BRB.

Can you please change your subject line to just have: 7/29 Max AMPS XX and then +.5 82? I haven't looked at your SS yet so I'm not sure if 96 was the number you shot or not.

And I'm so sorry about this anniversary....I know it's difficult. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/29 Max +1.5 284(night) +11.5 96 +12.25 83 +0.5 82 Dose

He's really just surfing. What I've observed is it seems like kitties can come down quite a bit when clearing a bounce. I have no science to explain it.....it's just an observation. It makes me wonder if all that extra glucagon and the hormones released by the liver to protect the body just all of a sudden clear out and then the BG drops. Again....it's 100% speculation on my part.

What I can't speculate about is whether he would hypo if he hadn't had the fur shots, late shots, etc. I know you said he got fur shots but usually with fur shots, it would take a bit to refill the depot; perhaps they were partial fur shots and you got in more than you thought? The way his cycles look to me.....it really looks like bounce clearing and makes sense with the low numbers he got on 7/27.

I know you are going out today but at some point, maybe you could do a little SS work for us? When we're trying to read it, it helps to have important info like fur shots, actually on the spot where they occurred.
So, I'd add it to the "U" column on the evening of 7/27 and morning of 7/28. Just add "fur shot".

And for the numbers today....go to your PM cycle from yesterday and in the "+11" column, please put "96 @ 11.5". Did you get 83 twice or only at 12.25 and that's when you shot? If you got it at 12.25 and then shot, then in the AMPS column today, put "83 @ 12.25". That way we know you stalled. So for any shots that you stalled, if you could do it that way, it allows us to read it quickly instead of reading through all the remarks.

Please let me know if you need actual examples and I can steer you to some on Gracie's SS.

Thinking of you today.
 
Re: 7/29 Max Amps 83 +0.5 82 Advice for next time pls?

No hurry... I know today is not a good day for it. I just don't trust my memory :lol: :lol: :lol:

What advice are you looking for for next time? Do you mean next shot? If you do, I think we need to see what this cycle does and where he goes with it.

Are you able to take him with you?
 
Re: 7/29 Max Amps 83 +0.5 82 Advice for next time pls?

We'll be back for his next shot tonight. I'm not leaving until I see that he is at a good number to leave. I think that would be around 100 or 120 at +4 or +4.5 considering the fact that I gave him only 0.5u this morning. Does that seem safe?

As far as advice, If I am in similar circumstances (I know, things are slightly different every time.) and I were staying home, do I have enough data to shoot 2.5 (or a full dose) for a pre-shot of 83, and if so what is that data? How does it apply? Let's assume I did NOT have two fur shots and one late shot just before he tested at 83 for pre-shot.) I hope to learn from this.

Thank you!
 
Re: 7/29 Max Amps 83 +0.5 82 Advice for next time pls?

I think if you get two rising numbers that you just fed his regular food, then I'd leave food out and go.

The thing about shooting reduced doses is that it doesn't typically affect the current cycle because of the cumulative nature of lantus and the insulin depot. Where you'll see the effects are in the next cycle. One dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles; obviously if you just barely reduce the dose, then you'll see less of an effect then if you shoot a drastically reduced dose like today. But if you shoot his full dose tonight, on time, you might not see too much of an effect from the reduced dose. Hard to know for sure because ECID.

I believe you have enough data to shoot a full dose into a PS of 80s (as long as you have all the supplies and will be there to test) but I'd like to see you do it with help just so we can keep an eye out and tell you what to watch for. You shot a 107 with 2.75u; 83 is within meter variance of that.

Some of the data you want to look for in shooting a lower number is:

(1) does he get a food spike at +1....a food spike at +1 is good because you know he's not going to immediately drop from the PS. On lantus, Gracie rarely got a food spike so I knew if I shot a 54, she was not going to go up before she came down. If he doesn't get a food spike, that's fine but you just need to be aware because you might want to test a little earlier than +1
(2) when does he onset typically ...does he onset early like at +2 like Sienne's Gabby? If he does, you might want to test earlier than +1 to catch any drops
(3) when does he typically nadir...how long before he will hit the peak action of the insulin? This can change so it's important to see patterns; if he nadirs early, then you might have a pretty active cycle early on
(4) is he clearing a bounce ...he "could" come down faster...ECID
(5) is the PS a dropping number or a second dip....if it's a dropping number, it could continue to drop and you could get some great overlap as long as you know how to deal with it. If it's a second dip, he'll probably come back up before he onsets.

I don't know where you'd be with him if you hadn't had two fur shots and a late shot. As much as experience as Jill has, I don't think even she would hazard an explanation. Some things are just unknown and we just deal with what's in front of us right now.

If you do get a low number that you are worried about shooting, don't feed, post and ask for help. It could be you can shoot the number but the first time you shoot lower, we like to help you :-D

SS looks much better! Thank you so much.
 
Re: 7/29 Max Amps 83 +0.5 82 +1.5 72 +2.5 80 +4.25 237

Thank you, Marjorie. I'll study this more tonight. For now, I can go out as he's bounced up again. He's hungry now, and came to me for more food. I'll leave it out just in case.
 
Re: 7/29 Max Amps 83+0.5~82+1.5~72+2.5~80+4.25~237+10.25~171

I suppose this could be a second dip. I doubt I'll have any trouble with giving a full dose tonight. It's very interesting. When I saw the 237, I thought, oh, now I'm seeing the result of the fur shot and having giving a token dose, he going to go way up. I'm surprised he went back down. I'm very pleased because I was hating the fact that he might go up into the 300s tonight.
 
Yes...it does look like a second dip :-D :-D :-D

Good shooting....I like how he surfed from late into the cycle into PMPS. Please be sure and get a +1 and +2 although I'm heading to bed soon ;-)
 
I completely passed out from exhaustion! I'm going to move the shot time up 15 minutes this morning to 10 am, and I'll get +1s and +2s. He's at 192 1/2 hour before his new shot time. So good!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top