7/29 Mary AMPS 280, +5 360, +9 285, PMPS 396, +4.5 503

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Mary

Member Since 2012
This morning Mary's breakfast was half a can of FF and half of the raw mix. I didn't add water today and that made her enjoy the raw more but I'll make some plain broth that I can give separately to make up for the water in her food

Mary sends smoochies to everyone!
 
Re: 7/29 Mary AMPS 280, +5 360, +9 285

Hi Jane & Jack!
Sienne, I know the raw is lower carb than the FF so I'm hoping that will help and will focus on changing the food over for thd next few days. If that doesn't work I'll follow thd protocol and go up another quarter unit.

I cooked a chicken and saved the wings for Mary and gave her one to try today. She was very interested and is happily gnawing away at the wing an hour after I gave it to her. Here's Mary when I first gave her the wing. When I posted this video to YouTube I saw there was a version Proud Mary by the Chicken Wings so I thought that would be a good personal theme song for Mary today :-D

Mary prefers the Tina Turner version but sends smoochies to everyone anyway!
 
Ooh that was a nasty 503 at PM +4.5. Could giving Mary the chicken wing in addition to her normal food make that much difference?
 
Hi Lisa

I'm a little concerned at reading that you let Mary have a cooked chicken wing... Cooked bones become more brittle and can splinter very easily, causing small fragments to break off, creating an injury risk. You could consider giving Mary a small piece of chicken neck to chew on if she enjoys that, or even gizzards or heart, depending on her individual taste. Feeding cooked chicken wings is not a good idea.

You might want to look at Dr. Lisa Pierson's webpages on Making Catfood

Here is a quote from the "Safety" section of her page on making raw catfood:
However, I am not comfortable with the size of bone pieces that result from the use of this plate. In fact, my cats have gotten bones the size shown below stuck in their mouths causing them great distress. I have a 4 minute video of my Robbie violently pawing at his mouth because of a bone fragment that had gotten stuck. He was not happy and neither was I! I often get asked about acceptable bone size. This is where I differ from many raw feeders. I tend to err on the side of caution and grind the bones very finely. This picture illustrates a bone size that I am not comfortable with:
Bone%20size%20dime.JPG


Please avoid feeding cooked bones, for the sake of Mary's safety.
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top