7/29 Belle AMBG: 83,*+6: 97, *+10: 113, PMPS: 115, +1: 95, +2: 86, +4: 95

When did she eat last? Test again in 20 mins (from the last test to see if she is higher).
Can you test if you shoot?
 
A +2 and a +9 is good enough. Let us see where she is in 20 mins (from the last test).
OH NO, my battery on glucometer just flashed low and I dont have replacements! Not a good morning!! I did not expect it to die after only a month of use. I'm not sure if the batteries will make it to +2. I should just hold and not feed, recheck 20 minutes from last?
 
We are 88 20 minutes later
With SLGS, you skip the shot below 90.

At some point, when you can catch your breath, you may want to think about following TR. Let's discuss this when the morning is less crazy! :)

ETA: She has earned another reduction and you would go down to 1U tonight.
 
With SLGS, you skip the shot below 90.

At some point, when you can catch your breath, you may want to think about following TR. Let's discuss this when the morning is less crazy! :)

ETA: She has earned another reduction and you would go down to 1U tonight.
We have shot below 90 before but I'm not sure if that's before we decided to SLGS or I just was completely ignorant regarding what I should have done. Regardless, we cannot test like we did the day that we gave insulin below 90. We are able to test constantly that day
 
We have shot below 90 before but I'm not sure if that's before we decided to SLGS or I just was completely ignorant regarding what I should have done. Regardless, we cannot test like we did the day that we gave insulin below 90. We are able to test constantly that day
There is a 15-20% variance in meter readings, so 83 is not very different from a 90 or 92 that you shot last night. The good thing is that she has flattened out quite a bit and it looks like a +2 is a good-enough indicator of what her cycle will be like. So you don't need to test every hour.

I don't know if it's only the food change or whether her pancreas has suddenly kick-started (that happens in some cats where they go from pinks and yellows to blues and greens almost overnight!), but she is doing very well and holding all these back-to-back reductions. She is down from 3.5U to 1U in a week! So hopefully the skipped shot will not affect her very much.

Like I keep saying, at some point, she MAY not hold the reductions and you want to think about following TR then. Let's cross that bridge when we come to it. :)
 
Last edited:
There is a 15-20% variance in meter readings, so 83 is not very different from a 90 or 92 that you shot last night. The good thing is that she has flattened out quite a bit and it looks like a +2 is a good-enough indicator of what her cycle will be like. So you don't need to test every hour.

I don't know if it's only the food change or whether her pancreas has suddenly kick-started (that happens in some cats where they go from pinks and yellows to blues and greens almost overnight!), but she is doing very well and holding all these back-to-back reductions. She is down from 3.5U to 1U in a week! So hopefully the skipped shot will not affect her very much.

Like I keep saying, at some point, she MAY not hold the reductions and you want to think about following TR then. Let's cross that bridge when we come to it. :)
My partner did not get a test this morning at what should have been +2 if she had insulin. I would have liked to see the data without insulin but at least she didn’t have insulin and not get her test
 
Getting a test 3-4 hours after eating and a skip can give useful information. I know it’s not possible today but wanted to mention that for the future. If the pancreas is starting to function the bg will come down then. Congrats on the reduction.
 
Getting a test 3-4 hours after eating and a skip can give useful information. I know it’s not possible today but wanted to mention that for the future. If the pancreas is starting to function the bg will come down then. Congrats on the reduction.

we ended up getting a test at what *would* have been +6 and it was 97
 
The diet change is helping a lot. I edited my questions after you replied. What medication was used for her ears?
 
The diet change is really helping. Lots of vets use a steroid plus antibiotic gel for ears that contains a steroid which is why I asked. Thanks for confirming.
 
Yes. Do it. She is doing so well. You will not need to reduce so quickly and spending more time in green gives a best chance at regulation quickly and anti jinx going otj.
 
we ended up getting a test at what *would* have been +6 and it was 97
Belle is doing very well despite the skipped shot. You can probably continue to take reductions per SLGS and consider TR when it looks like you need to be more aggressive. It's possible that Belle is on her way to becoming diet-controlled. Time will tell. :-)
 
Belle is doing very well despite the skipped shot. You can probably continue to take reductions per SLGS and consider TR when it looks like you need to be more aggressive. It's possible that Belle is on her way to becoming diet-controlled. Time will tell. :)

Thought you might be asleep Bhooma ;) What exactly do you mean by "aggressive"? I am about to read through the TR protocol again for my own SA
 
If you are away too much to monitor keep going as you are. TR might not even be needed.
Was just about to say, we are away maximum 8 hours per day if I am working day shift only. I am somewhat of a shift worker so I do work nights and evenings, which allows me to be home more during the day but those shifts are few and far between. I get worried when I cant test as much
 
Thought you might be asleep Bhooma ;) What exactly do you mean by "aggressive"? I am about to read through the TR protocol again for my own SA
Just a cute picture of Belles to say thank you for everything
227910471_363331381842451_7044489415253454504_n.jpg
 
Just a cute picture of Belles to say thank you for everything
ADORABLE!
She looks like she's saying stop clicking and start feeding! :p

Thought you might be asleep Bhooma ;)
I should be! It's half past midnight! :confused:

What exactly do you mean by "aggressive"? I am about to read through the TR protocol again for my own SA
TR is aggressive in that you decrease only when the BG drops below 50 and you don't take back-to-back reductions. It does require more monitoring because it allows you to hold a dose that would see the cat in normal numbers. For now Belle seems to be doing fine with SLGS. Considering that and your testing constraints (work schedule), let's look at TR if and when SLGS does not work for her. For now it is :-)
 
ADORABLE!
She looks like she's saying stop clicking and start feeding! :p


I should be! It's half past midnight! :confused:


TR is aggressive in that you decrease only when the BG drops below 50 and you don't take back-to-back reductions. It does require more monitoring because it allows you to hold a dose that would see the cat in normal numbers. For now Belle seems to be doing fine with SLGS. Considering that and your testing constraints (work schedule), let's look at TR if and when SLGS does not work for her. For now it is :)
Fantastic, we've just gotten a +10 test and it was 113, she last ate around 3 hours ago
 
Back
Top