7/28 Mr Tinkles AMPS 272 +4 205 +5 180 +6.75 233

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laurie and Mr Tinkles

Member Since 2010
Good morning LL!

Yesterday (trying to get the hang of this!)
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20828&start=0

Tinkle's preshots are coming down, and he got a good size drop at +4. Dare I hope his shed is full? I'll check again at +5, I have to leave for a few hours after that, so I hope he doesn't drop too much! I can postpone it if I have to, but only by an hour or so...have to go pick up DD.

If his shed is full already, is that an indication that the dose is too high? Or is it possible that this isn't the shed being full yet, and he is bringing himself down? He has been getting some drop every cycle since we started Lantus, and he was trying to decrease dose on the ProZinc before we switched. His URI was interrupting the process.

Either way, I like it! :smile:

I went and got a variety of food today, LC, MC, MHC so I'm ready to start experimenting more with food.

Have a great day everybody!

ETA: +5 180, gave a MM :smile:
 
Re: 7/28 Mr Tinkles AMPS 272 +4 205 +5 180

I don't know a lot about how long it takes the shed to fill up, so no answers from me. I hope Mr. Tinkles has good luck with Lantus and gets back on track for some reductions and better health.
 
Re: 7/28 Mr Tinkles AMPS 272 +4 205 +5 180

Laurie, from what I understand about Lantus, (correct me if I'm wrong here, people), I think it'll take Mr. Tinkles about 5-7 days to fill his shed and start giving you some good #'s. Blackie has been started the same day as you and Mr. Tinkles, and her #'s are gradually coming down (saw 2 yellows so far today! :) ), so I know it's working. I'm sure that her shed isn't full yet.

May we both continue to see good #'s for our sugarkitties. :)
 
I guess Tinkles answered the shed question, he started rising after the 180. :lol:

I'm happy to see a blue number! He's feeling pretty good overall, I'm very satisfied with how he's doing.
 
generally, it'll take about 3 days to "fill" the shed. however, if the dose isn't close to kitty's "ideal" dose, you *may* not see a whole lot of action.
nice to see blue on cycle 5 of this dose!
gooooooooo Mr. Tinkles!
 
Thanks Jill! That was what I thought...the closer to the "ideal" dose, the faster the shed fills. I didn't see that spelled out anywhere, but it makes sense.

I'll keep watching, he likes to surprise me!

ETA: Oops, I just re-read that...so the shed fills in about 3 days even if the dose is not close to "ideal"? It just won't have much effect on the BG until the dose is closer to ideal? (I know it's really not that important, I'm just trying to understand how Lantus works.)
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Thanks Jill! That was what I thought...the closer to the "ideal" dose, the faster the shed fills. I didn't see that spelled out anywhere, but it makes sense.

I'll keep watching, he likes to surprise me!

ETA: Oops, I just re-read that...so the shed fills in about 3 days even if the dose is not close to "ideal"? It just won't have much effect on the BG until the dose is closer to ideal? (I know it's really not that important, I'm just trying to understand how Lantus works.)

lantus has a cumulative effect, meaning one dose builds upon the next. no insulin is absorbed 100% by the body upon injection. when lantus is injected, it forms precipitates (kind of like crystals) under the skin which are released as they dissolve. the larger the dose, the larger the shed is. once the shed/insulin depot is formed, the body can draw upon that reserve as needed. if the dose isn't close to kitty's "ideal" dose, even though there's a shed in place... there is still not enough insulin in the body to create the desired effect. once kitty's optimum dose is reached, you'll see the long "flat" curve lantus is famous for.

it's a little more complicated than that because you have to figure in taking advantage of the use of overlap and carryover.

Carryover - insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
Overlap - the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect
Insulin Depot - (aka "storage shed" in Lantus Land) "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body
 
Tinkles is doing great! And not at a high dose either. It was weeks before we saw a blue number, so I bet you are really pleased with his progress.

I actually see a fair amount of wildlife near my house too...but no bears! Deer, fox, hawks and various other birds...I did see a bobcat once, that was pretty cool.
Laurie, a couple of years ago a bobcat walked across our patio. I freaked out and did a head check and everyone was inside. We never saw him again and I was glad.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top