7/28 Jasper AMPS 203 +2 263 +6 231 skip vs late dose tonite?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leslie and Jasper

Member Since 2012
We would like guidance for dosing tonight please. Jasper is having a yellow day today. We have been shooting him 0.75u 2x per day at 8:30 am/pm to fit around work schedule. He is free feeding with the other cats, eating pretty well last couple days and no recent vomiting - yay! Tonight is our first time we won't be home at his usual shot time, we will be out 6:30 - 11:30 for a close friend's retirement party. Plan is test him when we get home, then decide skip or late full dose or late modifed dose. If we give a dose we will test him at +2
If we get home when expected and depending on his number at that point these seem to be our options
1. Skip dose tonight, resume testing and shoot usual time or bit earlier in the morning, might deplete his shed too much?
2. Give his normal dose 3 hrs late, test him at +2, that becomes his new time, we sleep in tomorrow (?) and gradually work him back to preferred dosing time.
3. Give .25u lower dose 3 hrs late to not deplete his shed, test him at +2, does that let us stay closer to preferred shot time in the morning? I would not increase dose tonight because we wont be able to watch him closely overnight.

Any other options? Advice? Watchouts? Thanks!
Leslie
 
Re: 7/28 Jasper AMPS 203 +2 263 +6 231 skip vs late dose ton

In my way of thinking, you have two choices:
  • Skip the shot
  • Shoot late and gradually adjust the time to get back on schedule
With Lantus, even if you give a reduced dose tonight, you still have to shoot 12 hours from when you actually gave your shot. There's no advantage with respect to getting back on schedule if you reduce the dose.

As long as you have the flexibility with your schedule to work your way back, I'd shoot late. You can then move your shot time by 15 min. per shot or 30 min. once a day. IF Jasper decides to give you a high pre-shot number, you may be able to move the time by more. However, even with some pre-shots that are in the 300s, Jasper has been coming back down to double digits so I'd be very cautious about moving shot time by more than 30 min. With Lantus, an early shot acts like a dose increase.

Also, a word of caution. On 7/26, Jasper had a PMPS of 304 and a +3 of 56. There was a lot of momentum behind that drop. I would have encouraged you to give jasper some low carb food and retest in 30 min. and then repeat the process to insure his numbers weren't dropping further.
 
Re: 7/28 Jasper AMPS 203 +2 263 +6 231 skip vs late dose ton

Thanks Sienne,
We can work around the shot timing, more concerned with post shots testing into the wee hours.
Thanks for confirming lower dose will not let us shorten the interval between doses. Jasper did have a drop the other night around midnight and we did feed him but did not do additional testing that night because frankly we were already falling asleep. We are going to revisit his shot time to be able to do the more important testing around the am and pm. Heading out for the evening now, when we get home we will test Jasper and check for any further advice.
Leslie
 
Re: 7/28 Jasper AMPS 203 +2 263 +6 231 skip vs late dose ton

Leslie

SS looks great! Thank you for your work to get it in this format. Have a great evening. Let us know if you have any other questions about getting him back on schedule.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top