7/28 HARLEY PMPS 398-where did the blue go

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/28 HARLEY AMPS 152-+3 122 can someone help

Harley started at 152 and at +3 is 122. I know they are good numbers but I am not use to them. I need to leave and will not be back until 4:00 and don't want to face hypo. Should I feed him or just leave it as it is.

Can someone give me advice.

Pattie.
 
Re: 7/28 HARLEY AMPS 152-+3 122 can someone help

Hi Pattie

they are good numbers.

When you have to leave, top off food with some HC, leave plenty out for him to graze thru the day.
Think positive. Breath and no panicking.
I use to leave several bowls out - even one where Luna would be napping, cuz sometimes they get lazy and don't wanna get up...and that always made me feel better.

When you get in later, do an "in the door" test.
 
Re: 7/28 HARLEY AMPS 152-+3 122 can someone help

Good advice from Ronnie!!

One thing you might want to try when you're home is to leave food out and see if Harley will graze. If not, you might want to consider a timed feeder so all of the food isn't available all at once.
 
Re: 7/28 HARLEY AMPS 152-+3 122 can someone help

I am looking into the timed feeder. Since Harley usually hangs out in the bedroom, that would be a great place for it. The other two cats stay in the living room.

Pattie
 
Harley had some lovely numbers all day. He was 122 when I had to go to a meeting and was unable to be at home. When I got home at +9, he was 152. 3 hours later 398. I really did love the blue numbers.

Could he have fallen too low during the 6 hours I was gone? I did feed him 1/2 can FF before I left. This weekend it is off the find the auto feeder.

Pattie
 
The way I see it - you'll never really know where he went while you were out.

Unless you ask him and he tells ya :lol: Look into his his eyes..... and give him some pats! cat_pet_icon

No worries Pattie - Harley will do it again! :-D
 
Do I ever hear you! I won the Drama Queen award at some point. You have to remember that Harley's dose has been slowly adjusted. The protocol that you are following for Harley wasn't just written last night. The fact that you are monitoring Harley gives you an idea of where he's at - meaning if he has grown out of the his dose. His body has adjusted to the dose and he shouldn't (can't never say 100%) go clinical hypo because if he's overdosed, it's only by a little bit (like 0.25U) and you know that his liver is working because he bounces back to pink. Does that help at all?
 
yes, that helps. I would love to lower the dose - the vet thought going to 6 units instead of 6.5 would be ok. I am afraid of ketones since he is prone to them. I will see what he does over night and go from there - I guess.


Pattie
 
I wouldn't reduce the dose yet, especially on a ketone-prone cat. Harley is just now starting to get good numbers more consistently, and this is the dose that is doing that for him so I wouldn't abandon it until he has obviously outgrown it (by going too low). If you reduce too soon you risk losing all the progress Harley has made to this point.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top