7/28 Gus AMPS 241

Status
Not open for further replies.

bev5477

Member Since 2011
There's room for a bit of improvement, but I'm happy with this. Mama is going out for a leisurely bike ride at the park. Hopefully, Gus will lower a bit while I'm away. Have a great day!
 
Hi guys .. sunny numbers for gus this morning .. how nice he gave you permission to go riding .. hoping for some blues when you return .. have a great day guys!
 
hi bev - yes, i'm in the non-knitters camp, although we haven't done any shopping yet today.

i looked at gus' ss because i saw your comment in champ's condo - i think you should drop his dose a little more, maybe to 10u. then you can re-evaluate tomorrow.

you probably already know all this, but i'll say it just in case any of it is helpful. the "kind" of diabetes that punkin and gus has is like this. imagine a cell as having a padlock on it with a keyhole in the middle. insulin enters through the keyhole and does what it does to the sugar/carbs inside the cell. the tumor our boys has puts out a hormone that distorts the shape of the keyhole. so the insulin is still being produced by their pancreas, and we are still adding insulin in their shots, but the distorted shape of the keyhole prevents some of that insulin from getting through to deal with the sugar.

as time goes on, the tumor revs up production of the distortion-producing hormone, or it slows down its production. no way to know which except by the effect on the BG. so we chase after our kitties running along side - increasing the insulin when their numbers are telling us that not enough insulin is getting through and decreasing the insulin when they seem like there is more insulin getting through. the only way you know is by that BG.

i would say that Gus needs another drop in his dose. i would guess that the tumor is less active the past couple of days and the "keyhole" is less distorted and more insulin is actually getting in. always for our kitties and everyone else's, it's better to be a day or more too high than a minute too low.

does that make sense? that's why we have to keep changing doses, when up until now we've learned to hold the dose and let it settle. i think we still have to do that because the way a body bounces, new dose wonkiness, etc., those factors are still in play. we've just added a new factor and have to respond quickly and change doses more frequently, perhaps than we did before.

please don't be insulted if i'm repeating what you already know. i keep repeating this stuff to me as well, and simplifying it to keep it locked in my brain. i've reached the age where things fall out without my permission. :lol:
 
Hi Bev!!! Let me start by saying that I'm very lucky I don't have an acro kitty!! Figuring out what dose to give for any given cycle seems to be a real crap shoot...you're damned if you do and damned if you don't. In looking at Gus' SS, it looks to me like his tumor has been taking a break in fits and spurts, making it very difficult to know what to shoot from day to day. The 60's Gus was throwing during his AM cycle yesterday technically shouldn't happen...that's the time of day for rising numbers, not dropping by 40 points. If you've gotten any spot checks during his AM cycle today, I think that will give you an indication as to what the tumor is doing today. If Gus stayed in the yellows and blues today, I'd keep him on the same dose. If he dropped to greens/low blues, I'd drop his dose. His dose is so large (and, thus, his shed), I don't know what you typically drop by...0.5u or 1u....but I'd keep it conservative. You've got a good handle on how your guy reacts to carbs when he does go low so no sense in dropping his dose by a big amount just to have him shoot into the pinks again.

I hope I've helped a bit. I really don't envy you having to play this guessing game, that's for sure. I'd be completely bald from all the hairpulling!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top