7/28 FCC AMPS - +2.5 77, PMPS 83, +2 67

I think I've asked before - what is the the guage of the lancet? Even "milking" the drop doesn't help?

28 gauge. He won't let me milk it for more than a second or two. I tried folding gently to see if he responds better to that, but I didn't have any success. I went back to the pen because he seems a little more relaxed with me when I use it. My partner still uses the lancet.

I feel like right now we've already had to lower his dose so much that I won't even be able to tell if it's working if I can't get his numbers. He loves his new treats (and he loved his previous ones as well).

Big fail for the morning on my part.
 
He wouldn't co-operate at +2, but I managed to get him at +2.5. He's at 77 which seems like a solid number? He's eaten on the hour. Not sure if it's best to let him be til PMPS or to try and find out what's happening later in the cycle. Although maybe the depot is still in play?
 
I decided to leave him til PMPS because I figure it is important to concentrate on the PSs and +2s until I have some consistency again. Unless there there are outlier numbers. It's going to get quite warm here over the next few days so I'm hoping it might make FCC more compliant as well as aiding with the ear bleed. If this is the case I will swoop in for some spot checks.

Is this the right approach?

I've been looking at a lot of SSs and it seems like FCC did kind of kickstart and not look back. He seems to be a bit of an odd duck, but I don't know if it's just because of the particular ones I looked at.
 
The 77 @2.5 was a good number to leave him at till PMPS. And yes, PS and +2 are good enough for now :)

That's good to know, thank you. Sometimes I wonder if FCC has revenge dreams where he's poking through my ears.


Also very useful. I will follow along. Hopefully more information will help lead me to a better understanding. I appreciate it.
 
Successful PMPS is 83. Would he likely have settled into his new lower dose or is the depot still at play? I know I've read it can be up to 6 cycles, but because he's on such a small amount I don't know how it works.

Since I am able to supply such a limited amount of information is it possible to gain any insight to his cycle? Does this mean he generally stays below 83 throughout the day?

Thank you!
 
Since I am able to supply such a limited amount of information is it possible to gain any insight to his cycle? Does this mean he generally stays below 83 throughout the day?
I missed answering this. I would say that he is in green all day for sure. Not able to ascertain how low he is going without mid-cycle tests.
 
I missed answering this. I would say that he is in green all day for sure. Not able to ascertain how low he is going without mid-cycle tests.

Eventually I want him to be under 80 for the most part?

I am going to switch meters soon and will test my blood a few times on both of them to try and get a sense of how much the numbers might differ.

you think he needs a little more time, you could try a +3 or even +4. Take a nap and set an alarm for the test.
As usual feed at PS and +1 (and +2 if you are awake).

My partner wants to try testing with the pen so he is going to do the +2. I will be awake and feed and if the test is unsuccessful I will try for a +4. I'll report back either way.

Thank you and I hope you and you kitties are enjoying your morning.
 
I ended up doing the +2 because the angles don't work for another person to come in with a pen when the cat is between my legs. Surprised no one pulled a muscle. Thankfully I had success and I am really hoping FCC and I are developing a new routine. I put it all down to the beef liver and it doesn't count for anything if I can't get several consecutive PS levels. Here's to hoping.

Safe to go to bed? If it is I assume it is better if I stay up til +3 and put food down then for the rest of the night rather than now? Or should I stay up and attempt more tests?
 
I think it's okay to feed and go to bed. :-)

Tomorrow, we could try to get later tests instead of +2 (say +4 in the AM and +3 at night) to see how low he is going.
 
I think it's okay to feed and go to bed. :)

Tomorrow, we could try to get later tests instead of +2 (say +4 in the AM and +3 at night) to see how low he is going.

Okay. I will do that. Thank you.

That also sounds good. I will try for a +4 after the AMPS.

I really appreciate your help as always and hope you have a fantastic day.
 
You are most welcome! Glad to see FCC do so well.


Btw, I didn't get what you meant by this?

Sorry. I think I just have a running monologue about FCC in my head at all times now and am confused when people don't know what I'm talking about. My partner keeps telling me that he doesn't understand the American numbers and I actually ask him questions by using the phrase "oh you meant at +3?"

FCC was getting freeze dried chicken and was a fiend for it, but I picked up some freeze dried beef liver the other day and it seems to have topped the already worshipped chicken.

As someone who hasn't eaten meat for decades this has become a very strange new focus of mine.
 
Back
Top