7/28 callie

Status
Not open for further replies.

calliecat an marty

Active Member
Good morning everyone and Happy Thursday !

I would like to thank everyone for their advise on what to do for callie, I read each and every reply and take them all under consideration , I don't know what I would do without FDMB.

when I lowered callies dose it was based on I get pinks with higher dose and she acts sick , sleeps all the time just does not act herself , she has this sad look in her eyes to that breaks my heart.

since she has been on the .25 dose she has been staying in the yellow with ps getting alittle lower each day and she is playing , purring , running up and down the stairs again and just much happier, I check for keytones and she has been neg , her appetite is good , I'm watching her closely I feel at this time this is the right thing to do for callie I will give it a day or two and see how her numbers go ! thanks so much callie and marty :YMHUG:
 
I wouldn't stay at 0.25u too long unless you start getting blues. Please make sure you are checking for ketones *every* day at this dose. Makes me nervous!
 
That is definitely important to take their symptoms and how they are feeling into account. If you don't get good results on the low dose and you continue to see signs that she isn't reacting well as you raise the dose, I would consider trying a different insulin. Could be PZI just isn't the insulin for her.

It is fairly common with PZI that as you raise the dose they get wider swings, and often we do see higher PSs once the insulin is working than without it (for those cats who do not seem to zoom). If you can get them in really good green numbers that often settles down and all the numbers are good after that, but many times there is some goop you have to swim through, so to speak, to get to that point. I don't know how much that is true of the Ls, but I have seen it a lot on PZI. Many cats tolerate it well and then do ok, but some have more problems.

If you haven't already, you might post on Health for comments on the stuff about not feeling well as you raise the dose. I have seen some people mention things like that, like that their cat acts strange a couple hours after a shot or something, but I haven't paid a lot of attention to it. If there are steep drops that is one explanation, but I'm not really seeing that in the data you have. Could be something that someone has some insight into.
 
I agree with Joanna. I'm not sure why she would be reacting differently on a higher dose, but her pattern right now doesn't make it look like 0.25U is nearly enough insulin for her.
 
I am at a total loss here, thank you for your feed back, I gave callie a .05 last night and it put her amps at 351 ?? I will post on the health board and see if I can get some answers , and after I gave her , her shot she slept all night long I kept checking on her she would just raise her head and look at me with those sad eyes , I know it sounds stupid to say that but her eyes look different when she is that way ??
 
How strange. But since she was pretty much flat although yellow on the .25u I would stay with .5u for a few days and see if she will settle into it.

Hang in there.
 
What type of syringes are you using again? How many gradations do they have? In other words, is it easy to see on them tiny dose changes? Are they marked in half units or whole units? If you are estimating the amount because they don't have many gradations, then you may actually be giving more or less than you think, which may account for some of this variation.
 
I wouldn't worry about the pink number particularly. Yellow is bad, pink is bad, so that doesn't trouble me (well I mean it all troubles me! but not pink vs. yellow - I know it's disconcerting, but it's not at all unusual that as you raise the dose, PSs go up some).

I am concerned though with her behaviour and seeming like something is wrong after the shot. I'm not sure what to make of it. Hopefully you will get some good suggestions on Health. I would certainly consider trying a different insulin, maybe she is just having some kind of reaction to ProZinc?
 
I like the syringe question too - occasionally we have seen someone shooting a dramatically different dose than they thought they were b/c they accidentally had the wrong syringes, or were reading them wrong.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top