7/27 Xander AMPS 171 +2 87 +3 76 +4 81 PMPS 141 +3 102

Albert & Xander

Member Since 2025
Previous post

I hope everyone is having a great start to the week!

Xander's finally back to his usual nadirs and decent preshots the past few days, but despite this the past few days have been very difficult eating for Xander. It's incredibly frustrating the amount of effort to feed him at some offerings, and then a great meal at others despite the daily mirataz and 2x ondansetron. He's also been having some ongoing constipation issues. I would increase his miralax dose, but I know it won't really work without added moisture and he won't tolerate water in his food. Other than that, he's happy as can be and social, showing no signs of pain. I grieve those few months where mirataz was a miracle drug for effortless eating for him.

I believe i'm going to bring him in for a vet visit Friday to reevaluate him and see if there is anything else we should try to make this more manageable. I'm not really sure though. Maybe rerun bloodwork to make sure? Trial of pain meds? (he doesn't seem to be showing pain at all, and scared of making him more tired and constipated). Maybe adding fluids could help things along when he has these periods? Maybe trying a different appetite stimulant would be better, like cypro? So many variables.

The outcome has been perfect, with him continuing to maintain and even gain weight. But the way of getting there has been so so hard.
 
Previous post

I hope everyone is having a great start to the week!

Xander's finally back to his usual nadirs and decent preshots the past few days, but despite this the past few days have been very difficult eating for Xander. It's incredibly frustrating the amount of effort to feed him at some offerings, and then a great meal at others despite the daily mirataz and 2x ondansetron. He's also been having some ongoing constipation issues. I would increase his miralax dose, but I know it won't really work without added moisture and he won't tolerate water in his food. Other than that, he's happy as can be and social, showing no signs of pain. I grieve those few months where mirataz was a miracle drug for effortless eating for him.

I believe i'm going to bring him in for a vet visit Friday to reevaluate him and see if there is anything else we should try to make this more manageable. I'm not really sure though. Maybe rerun bloodwork to make sure? Trial of pain meds? (he doesn't seem to be showing pain at all, and scared of making him more tired and constipated). Maybe adding fluids could help things along when he has these periods? Maybe trying a different appetite stimulant would be better, like cypro? So many variables.

The outcome has been perfect, with him continuing to maintain and even gain weight. But the way of getting there has been so so hard.
Awwww I’m sorry it’s been so hard. You’re doing such a great job with Xander.
I hope the vet has some suggestions to help.
Has he been diagnosed with IBD? I wonder if some of the food causes a problem for him?
Ivy eats lamb (a novel protein) since they felt she has some level of IBD.

Sending good eating vines to sweet Xander 🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀
 
Awwww I’m sorry it’s been so hard. You’re doing such a great job with Xander.
I hope the vet has some suggestions to help.
Has he been diagnosed with IBD? I wonder if some of the food causes a problem for him?
Ivy eats lamb (a novel protein) since they felt she has some level of IBD.

Sending good eating vines to sweet Xander 🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀
Thank you 🤗

Not really diagnosed, more of a possibility. We had the ultrasound done in April and it was noted that he had mildly thickened lymph nodes that could indicate IBD, or it could be inflammation from pancreatitis (which she felt was more likely as his spec fpl at the time was really high at around 30). The bowel walls themselves were normal, no thickening.
 
Back
Top