7/27 Tomcat PMPS 150, +1.5=102, +3.5=51 +4=68,+7=72

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomtom13

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100906

EVENING ALL

can anyone say: HAIR-BALL/PUKE FEST AT A DIVING +2? :shock: :shock: :o

okay..that sucked. poor tomcat and poor me.

that was a first. just when I had those low numbers all figured out....I knew I was in total control, I knew food would bring him up...what type...how much.....yadda yadda...well....what to do when all the pre-loaded food comes chunking back up and I am left with a Tomcat that says: "I AIN'T GONNA EAT NOTHING MOM....NOTHING. GOOD LUCK BRINGING UP THAT 50 TONIGHT LADY!!!!"

my secret weapon: a lovely cat that will eat most anything...especially gravy lovers...was suddenly GONE.

oh crap! now what am I gonna do?

now I know how Bern and Dara feel!!

okay....well....I think the crisis is over as the little stinker has finally settled his tummy and has agreed to help me out and eat some gravy lovers. I actually wouldn't even give what I did....but I am so worried as he is on TOTAL empty...and we have a ways to go.

okay...so here is the question for the night: what do I do next time this happens...and HE WON'T EAT AT ALL during a dropping cycle? I assume I break out the syringe right? never had to do that before. so what are the instructions on that? the only syringe I have is the Orbax syringe. is that big enough? if not...where do you buy such a thing?

okay......I hope everyone is having a great evening....everyone is safe and healthy.....


~Kelly

ps. he ALMOST AGAIN...AGAIN...AGAIN...earned his reduction.....I always just manage to grab him and poke at 51, or 50 lately, always a little too soon to catch that 49!! plus, perhaps tonight's low 51 is due to the puking as well. then again....we ain't done with this cycle by a long way either... ;-)
 
Re: 7/27 Tomcat PMPS 150, +1.5=102, +2.5=69, +3.5=51

Good times! Tom, you bad boy - behave for your mom. Although this wasn't him being difficult (as Bob would be), just he got a tummy ache from a big hairball. Poor little fella.

Well, I actually get the syringe and fill it with the gravy from the high carb and put it in the side of his mouth. He does not like it, but you gotta do what you gotta do. It helps pretty quick.

Hope he surfs in green for you and doesn't go down too much tonight. I've got my eye on Bob and am pretty sure he's ready to give me a hard time. He's thinking -you've had two good nights of sleep- you don't need any more!.

Hang in there - I'll be watching!
 
Re: 7/27 Tomcat PMPS 150, +1.5=102, +2.5=69, +3.5=51

Feeding syringes....when I was doing wildlife rehab years ago, one thing that worked well was a syringe we found in the baby food section. If that's too big, most vets have various sized medicine syringes. I used to have a big stockpile of them, but don't anymore.
Here's a pic of what I still have.

From left to right:
A 1ml syringe with a catac (sp) nipple - great for feeding infant possums and squirrels
A 5 ml baby med syringe - used those for larger orphans - great for feeding "mush" consistency
A 12 ml syringe we got from the vet - made by Monoject
 

Attachments

  • P7272994.JPG
    P7272994.JPG
    4.3 MB · Views: 495
Re: 7/27 Tomcat PMPS 150, +1.5=102, +2.5=69, +3.5=51

Well, with the 51, you could have held off feeding and re-tested in 15- 20 min.

There's not a great deal you can do if a cat vomits and refuses to eat. In the case of a hairball, usually they'll go back o eat in a little while. If it's an upset stomach, Pepsid may help.
 
Re: 7/27 Tomcat PMPS 150, +1.5=102, +2.5=69, +3.5=51 +4=68

thanks guys

i was lucky tonight that he finally got his tummy settled before i really had a BAD PROBLEM.

i will see if that Orbax will even work....it may...it may be too small.

okay...thanks Carl on the baby food section hint ...i will look there. or i can easily get one of the Monoject's you sent a photo of.
just what i needed to know...now i can go buy it.

Wildlife rehab 'eh? that is interesting! That must have been so rewarding.

Dara: i think that Bob's numbers are AMAZING given the wonky week he has had!! WOW......i always check up on the picky fellow! glad your SS was updated! i was at a loss!
 
Re: 7/27 Tomcat PMPS 150, +1.5=102, +2.5=69, +3.5=51 +4=68

Paws crossed Tomcat behaves for you for the rest of the evening. Nice cycle so far. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I got a couple of the Monoject syringes free from the vet.
 
Re: 7/27 Tomcat PMPS 150, +1.5=102, +2.5=69, +3.5=51 +4=68

Hey Kelly - yah, I think Bob's looking pretty good tonight too! Tom's ss is amazing!!! YOu are doing a good job keeping him in good numbers!
 
Re: 7/27 Tomcat PMPS 150, +1.5=102, +2.5=69, +3.5=51 +4=68

thanks all for looking in

i think tonight is going to be an exact repeat of last night.....EXCEPT the part where we stay up until practically AMPS! actually that part doesn't bother me....it is the after AMPS where it really starts to kick in..........alarm: stumble around the house looking for tom.....try to figure out how much time you can sleep until you need to check again....alarm: stumble around the house looking for tom.....well...you all know the routine. RINSE LATHER AND REPEAT. that is what that means right?


thanks Carl for that photo! aren't you Johnny-on-the-Spot!!!? visuals are always the most helpful!

Dara....Bob is still behaving nicely. incredible don't you think? you really had to reduce too....and he is still responding perfectly! now that is how you go down that insulin scale in a hurry!!

thanks Wendy...i will ask the vet about the syringe. i need to stop in and buy some Revolution for next month anyway. i hope he doesn't ask me what Tom's numbers are lately considering he bugged out on me when i told him tom had a nadir of 119 one time! "oh that is way too low....."

Sienne...yes, i should have waited it out, i was scared though...go figure. But if Tom is due for an increase...as Carl told me: he will let me know!!

and like you said...with a hairball ...he did snap right back . believe it or not...don't tell anyone...i am not that schooled in cats. now throw a dog at me...and i am all over it. but Tom is my first cat and up until now has been really an outdoor cat...indoors just to eat and run....so i am still figuring him out. and i have a feeling.....i never will. that, i have figured out! :smile: ;-)


thanks again all

~kelly
 
Re: 7/27 Tomcat PMPS 150, +1.5=102, +2.5=69, +3.5=51 +4=68

Cats are made that way - they are mysterious and don't want to be figured out! :razz:
 
Re: 7/27 Tomcat PMPS 150, +1.5=102, +2.5=69, +3.5=51 +4=68

:lol: :lol: :lol: actually....it's lather, rinse, repeat. If you rinsed first and then lathered, you'd have soap on you :lol:

It's ok, I always want to say wash, rinse, repeat.

Good job on the numbers tonight.

You might be able to get a 3ml syringe from your vet or pharmacy (those are good for karo) but the best syringe for feeding is the 10/12 ml size.
 
Re: 7/27 Tomcat PMPS 150, +1.5=102, +2.5=69, +3.5=51 +4=68

RINSE LATHER AND REPEAT. that is what that means right?
Actually, it's LATHER, RINSE, REPEAT....you have to lather first or there's nothing to rinse. :lol: But yes, that's what it means. Alternately, we could call it "alarm, stumble, sleep, repeat" :lol:
 
Re: 7/27 Tomcat PMPS 150, +1.5=102, +2.5=69, +3.5=51 +4=68

actually....it's lather, rinse, repeat. If you rinsed first and then lathered, you'd have soap on you :lol:

It's ok, I always want to say wash, rinse, repeat
.

But yes, that's what it means. Alternately, we could call it "alarm, stumble, sleep, repeat
"


okay....you 2.....now that is funny!!

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/27 Tomcat PMPS 150, +1.5=102, +2.5=69, +3.5=51 +4=68

Thank you Kelly for Marje" hairball recipe I already use organic coconut oil and have syringes to use with it awesome now figure out how much for Lucky he is 18 lbs. Well thank for the info on that guess it's bed time for me. :smile: Linda
 
We actually rehearse this in PMs

well...yeah...that is obvious! you 2 are quite the team!

:lol: :lol: :lol: it is so refreshing and important to have that humor mixed in during all these stressful times

even though you 2 are giving me a good time......I have a nice 72 ...so I will offer some more LC and off I go- I need to rest up those stumbling legs....

thanks for the help and laughs

~Kelly

your welcome Linda, I hope it helps Lovely Lucky!
 
Kelly,
You've kept a great sense of humor through all the madness yourself. :smile:
TomTom's adventures have been a pleasure to be a part of.

OK, I got to get back to rehearsal... :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top