7/27 Morris PM+2 139 - 1 year on insulin annifursary!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Member Since 2009
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20768

Today is Morris' 1 year annifursary of being on insulin. He spent the day at the vets office getting started on July 27 last year. He was on canninsulin at first, then we switched over to Lantus at the end of November.

So, since I haven't been testing Morris for awhile, he decided to give me a good scare last night! He went down to 40, and then started to come up again. I slept in this morning, so I was not able to get a +11 check before his AMPS this morning. He has been having 2.5u since the middle of May & he has been acting just fine - no signs of hypo or anything.

All of his P's are in perfect working order these days! He is quite a different cat from this time 1 year ago! If it wasn't for those scarey numbers he was giving me last night, I would say that Morris is a perfectly healthy, regulated kitty!
 
Re: 7/27 Morris AMPS 234 - 1 year on insulin annifursary!

We are coming up to the one year mark too. I am wondering if you are well enough to test Morris often each day again. I see by your SS that you got sick and stopped testing. I would really think that it's best if you can get into the routine again now and watch his numbers closer. What do you think?
It would be great for him if you tested before shooting at the very least, ya know? Just sayin....the testing is important in my mind...not sure what you feel about it though....
 
Re: 7/27 Morris AMPS 234 - 1 year on insulin annifursary!

happy one year annifursary! Im so glad to hear that morris is feeling and looking good ...
 
Re: 7/27 Morris AMPS 234 - 1 year on insulin annifursary!

Gwen & Morris--Happy 1Year AnnifurSARY-Just wanted to say, that I really do think you need to be testing especially now at one year--
I dont know if you know me, but I couldnt bg test Moonie for the first year, and did urine testing at that time--I do believe if I had been able to bg test her & do the protocol as it is now, she might have gone OTJ--Of course, nothing is for sure, but all those times I checked her & she looked & seemed fine, she was teetering on very low numbers!!!! She could have hypo'd and I wouldnt have known till it was bad--
Thanks to the board & strong help, I did learn to do thet bg testing--
Just wanted to give you a heads up, that no matter how he looks or acts, you can never know without concrete proof--BG TEST
Hope you can test at least amps & pmps & maybe a +3 & +6.. We want Morris to be well more than anything--
Happy 1 year!
 
Re: 7/27 Morris AMPS 234 - 1 year on insulin annifursary!

happy anniversary and welcome back!

I'm dying to see where Morris is at PMPS. BTW, he earned a reduction last night. That's a big early drop to a number <40, no choice, have to reduce.
 
Re: 7/27 Morris PMPS 175 - 1 year on insulin annifursary!

Thank you for all the congrats & welcome backs!

For all of those who have mentioned more testing.....in my update I posted yesterday, I did mention that my plan is to get back on track with the testing now that my life is getting a bit more under controll. I am hopeful to return to my usual 3-4 times per day & I am hopeful to get a complete curve done before Morris has his check up with the vet on Aug 13.

Libby and Lucy said:
BTW, he earned a reduction last night. That's a big early drop to a number <40
He didn't really go under 40....he landed on 40! I have kept him at his 2.50u he has been on for some time now.....I want to see more data before I dosecrease either direction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top