7/27 Max AMPS 476 +6 439 PMPS 471

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Max and I had a rough night but he is doing well this morning. He even went to the window to watch the birds. He hasn't done that in a long time. Last night he woke me up at PMPS +7 (2:15 am EST) vomiting, checked BG at 327. Gave him some boiled chicken because he does this sometimes when he gets empty. I don't know if he has acid reflux or not. I should have asked the vet about that. Yesterday's post https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...15-4-488-6-467-10-75-477.250408/#post-2825511
 
Last edited:
Max and I had a rough night but he is doing well this morning. He even went to the window to watch the birds. He hasn't done that in a long time. Last night he woke me up at PMPS +7 (2:15 am EST) vomiting, checked BG at 327. Gave him some boiled chicken because he does this sometimes when he gets empty. I don't know if he has acid reflux or not. I should have asked the vet about that. Yesterday's post https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...15-4-488-6-467-10-75-477.250408/#post-2825511
If you think he might be going too long at night and it’s causing some acid, you can leave some boiled chicken out for him. I did this for Gracie using an auto feeder and it would open at +8 as after appeared to be when she might get an acid tummy (she also had IBD).

I saw this on yesterday’s condo and want to respond:
Good morning! Considering our fur shots and schedule issues over the last several days do you think we should wait a little longer and see what happens? Or do you think that has anything to do with his BG still being high? Honestly, the thing that’s in the back of my mind is that I’m not going to know what to do or how much to give when the BG does start coming down into the yellows or lower. Do I still give the full dose and if not, how much? What BG determines a reduction? What if I post and don’t get a response soon enough, or get bad advice? I only know a couple of people here including you. You have gone above and beyond with helping me but there may be times when you’re not around, and that’s certainly understandable and expected. I appreciate you so much. I know Max is not going by what the vet said and I’m relying on this message board so I kind of need some knowledge about when I would need to decrease a dose, when not to shoot, how much? I’m still a long ways from understanding how this insulin will affect him and what BG we are aiming for in Max. Does all of that make sense? I’m not very confident enough in my caregiving yet to be able to make decisions like that when I need to, and I’m afraid I won’t be able to get the advice I need at the time I need it. Do you have any advice about when to reduce the amount for a lower BG or when not to give. I have read the guides but still not understanding I guess. So sorry for all of my questions and worrying. It’s hard knowing what to do.

Because Max is eating only wet food, no dry, you can do TR and I would encourage you to do it. You are testing enough and it will help to get him to a better dose faster. I’d suggest reading the Sticky I linked and decide whether you want to do TR or SLGS but, again, he will make more progress faster under TR.

That means the dose would increase after every six consecutive cycles. If you skip, stall, or shoot a reduced dose, the cycle count starts over.

Yes, I suggested a dose increase for Max even though he had a partial fur shot and a stalled shot because Wendy and I both believe he needs more insulin. Some times we fast track cats to get them out of really ugly numbers because the longer they are there, the worse the glucose toxicity is.

Having said that, if you are not comfortable increasing yet and you want to wait six consecutive cycles, that’s up to you and we will support you.

In this forum, if you are doing TR, you are likely testing enough that we don’t do curves. Curves are done under SLGS after the dose has been held one week. You can run a curve after the allotted time the vet has told you but you have enough data that I don’t see it as necessary. Doing a curve means poking him every two hours for 12 hours and I just don’t see that will give your vet any additional info than you are building with random testing in the cycle. You should be able to show him that you have plenty of data without a curve.

If you post here daily, try and read other condos, interact with other members, you will see more members reaching out here. Keep in mind that many members are not so comfortable advising with high dose kitties because of the larger depot. I know I’ve given you alot to read already but be sure you are prepared for lower numbers with your hypo toolkit. If you haven’t looked yet at the FAQ part of this board, it is invaluable.

How to Deal with Low Numbers
How to Handle Low Preshots


If you start to get dropping numbers towards 150, post immediately and ask for help by putting “Need Help ASAP” after his usual BG data and put up the “?” prefix. If it goes lower and you get worried, use the “911” prefix but, in both cases, as soon as someone responds, take all that down. If you don’t get response, you can also PM Wendy or me and ask us to visit the condo ASAP since we are potentially dealing here with IAA and/or acro.

So absorb all that and ask me some questions :):)
 
Back
Top