? 7/27 Marvin amps 92 + 3 74, +11 122, PMPS NS, + 2 94

Status
Not open for further replies.
He stayed in the normal range when shots were skipped and even had a green nadir after skipping on 7/24. Have you thought about starting an OTJ trial soon?
 
He stayed in the normal range when shots were skipped and even had a green nadir after skipping on 7/24. Have you thought about starting an OTJ trial soon?
I thought about it, but he stills has a lot of blues, @Wendy&Neko who helps us a lot, mentioned normally we would want to see a bit more greens. There are a couple things I can do to help with that, so as soon as I get a auto feeder will try encourage the green and see if he can hold it. Not sure how the depo works with a drop :)
 
I am wondering if it's time to try a "food trial", where you just feed the mutiple small meals, and see how he does on his own. He's had a couple of inverted cycles when you've given insulin - where the number have gone up. That can be a sign of too much insulin. Though it's not all the time so I'm not sure it's a consistent pattern yet. But it might be worth trying to take the training wheels (insulin) off for a few days and see how he does.
Not sure how the depo works with a drop :)
It doens't last long, especially with the skipped shots in there too.
 
Four meals a day may work, six might be better. Or try feeding a small snack at +8-+9 when you can. Technically he earned a reduction today according to SLGS - and he didn't even get insulin! Maybe he's bouncing?
 
Worst case, his numbers start rising and you go back on the drop.
2.5 hours after last meal Marvin is at 97, will test him again in 30 minutes or an hour. So it does look that food does trigger his own insulin. If the 122 was a bounce, he recovered quickly. Is that how bounces should work in a nearly regulated cat?
 
I'm guessing that Marvin is still getting used to those lower green (but normal) numbers. If you look at some of the other cycles where he got lower than he is used to, like July 23 AM, he did a mini bounce the cycle afterwards. Gradually he should get used to those lower numbers and stop bouncing. Of it may not have been a bounce. It could have been the stress of you leaving, a noise next door, him being a cat. :cat:

At this point you could probably test at preshot time, and if he is green, just let him be. If he's blue, test a few hours later and see if the food triggered his pancreas to bring him down.

Out of curiousity, have you weighed him lately? Just wondering what direction he's going.
 
He's much better regulated now. :)
He is still going down from his food intake earlier :) he's at 90 now. I will let him be for now, will give him food when I go to bed. Working on a plan for his feeding, going to go look for the auto feeder at a couple places tomorrow. I may need to do a day trip to Ottawa on the weekend to find a PetSmart with one :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top