7/27 Lightning AMPS 168, +3 67, +7 77, +10 62 PMPS 67

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pamela and Lightning

Member Since 2010
7/26 Condo
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20737

Just wanted to share something that made my day today - Lightning is not the kind of cat that wants attention or to be pet if he doesn't have a reason behind "letting" you pet him....But last night he slept on my bed, right where I normally sleep, and he made me the happiest pet owner in the world. Unfortunately though, he slept horizontally and only gave me about 2 feet of room...but I loved every minute of it and didn't mind that I woke up every hour to make sure he was still next to me!! I guess its just the little things like that that make me love him more than words.

So, back to the numbers....He's been pink for his AMPS 2 days in a row and today he was in the blue. I swear, its like there's no rhyme or reason to him sometimes!! I don't understand where his nadir is because it seems like its really late after the first shot, then then after his PM shot, he can be down to green in a few hours. And today he was green after +3 (probably even before). So I'm wondering what his PMPS is going to be in a few hours. I think i'm getting more comfortable with shooting at a low number, which is guess is good...just hope I don't end up with a hypo kitty at some point. I just wish I knew what to expect numbers wise for him.....guess I'll have to keep waiting...patience is NOT one of my strong suits!! ;-) Arrggg!!!
 
Re: 7/27 Lightning AMPS 168, +3 67, +7 77

Hi Pamela,

It's normal to feel that you are running out of patience... but to recharge on your patience, go have a look at Meadow/Amber's condo... Lighting is responding well and that is truly a blessing. Believe me, things could be worse.

Blood sugar isn't flat all the time.... for some it's fluctuates more than others.

Yesterday you had a 43 at PM +3 -> well I will take the liberty to comment on that.... and will all due respect....
1st -> you should feed the 40s, which I believe that you did.
2nd -> you should also monitor the 40s, +3 was early in the cycle and Lightning could have gone lower and may have needed more gravy (HC). So please ensure that your cat is surfing before going to bed, specially in the 40s.

This morning blue may be a bounce from the lowish greens from yesterday, IMO.

And.... while I was on the subject of the 43... that's a dose decrease for a newly diagnosed cat. So with that said, the new dose for Lightning should be lowered by 0.25U to 1.50.

I hope it helps.
 
Re: 7/27 Lightning AMPS 168, +3 67, +7 77

Helene & Tizon said:
And.... while I was on the subject of the 43... that's a dose decrease for a newly diagnosed cat. So with that said, the new dose for Lightning should be lowered by 0.25U to 1.50.

Thanks for the help Helene!! So when Lightning gets even one BG reading that's low (below 50 since he's a newbie) I should decrease the very next dose? Should I change the dose for the PM shot or should I start fresh in the AM? I'm asking because I will be doing his PMPS in a few hours and if he's still low (which i have a feeling he will be) I'm wondering what dose I should give.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top