7/27 Jasper AMPS 157, +2 152, +3 151, +6 100

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leslie and Jasper

Member Since 2012
Jasper is having a good morning, fairly playful. I did a +2 this morning because his +3 is at ~11:40 and he will hide when the AC service tech comes sometime between 11-2.

Thanks for the clue about spreadsheet file format. My husband and I are both engineers and hard core Excel users for many years. I just retired end of June, he is still working so that makes me a trophy wife now - ha ha! This is our first use of Google docs (now google drive), starting to learning my way around the Google formats, so far I much prefer Excel over web browser for data entry and edits but I will get used to this. I am also familiarizing with the colors instead of line graphs to view trends, it seems somewhat like weather maps vs. financial charts. I am still doing line graphs for his numbers since that famialiar way or me to assess day by day trends.
I have exported my Excel sheet to gsheet format here https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0ArI0xmGhuhirdGZJMkJuaFoxV0tZbXZiOGIwWkRtS0E&hl=en#gid=0,
and Published to Web is here https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0ArI0xmGhuhirdGZJMkJuaFoxV0tZbXZiOGIwWkRtS0E&output=html
Would you please take a look and let me know if at least one of these works? If so I will link it in my signature.
Meanwhile I will get started creating Jasper's profile, stay tuned!

Leslie
 
Re: 7/27 Jasper AMPS 157, +2 152, +3 151, new ss

The version of the Google SS in your signature still comes up tiny. I'm not sure how to correct that. When I opened the SS from the link in the text of your message, it was better. For most of us, when we use the Google template that was developed for FDMB, it comes up in a full page format so you don't end up with eye strain. Some of us look at a lot of spreadsheets so having the information displayed in a way where we don't have to toggle between enlarging and shrinking the page is very helpful.

I'm presuming you have the link. If not, this is the SS template we use.
 
Re: 7/27 Jasper AMPS 157, +2 152, +3 151, new ss

Fabulous SS! You'll get used to the colors. And fabulous cycle! Flat is where it's at. :lol: :lol: Congrats on retirement! Now you have time to take care of Jasper. :roll: What kind of engineer? I'm an EE prof.
Liz
 
Re: 7/27 Jasper AMPS 157, +2 152, +3 151, new ss

I just updated the ss link in signature to point to the google format and added link to Jasper's new profile. Let me know if it works ok now, if not I can link this google generated web htm format instead Jasper SS in google web format

Jaspers bg is very stable so far today, maybe he has passed the bounce?

I was a chemical engineer, Andy is a mechanical engineer. Last few years my work was engineering IT on our corporate intranet system, lots of Excel integration so naturally I chose the Excel template option from the instructions page. Interesting I am now learning how regular people share data via web in the real world. Microsoft and Google may not natively play well together, sometime I will figure out how I can use Excel to update Jasper's Google spreadsheet, good project for a rainy day.

Leslie
 
Hi Leslie

They are all the same. Not only are they small, but they don't allow us to scroll up and down.....which we need to be able to do. I tried to do "print screen" for you but I don't have my wireless keyboard programmed yet for the function keys to work. BUT, you can look at it from your condo and see what we are seeing. Also, look at one of ours and you'll see the difference.

We hate to be sticklers, but we have that specific template for a reason....it works best for those of us looking at the SS so we can give advice.

The other thing is, I was extremely worried last night about you testing at +3, getting a 56, and calling it a night. Especially when he started at 304 at PMPS. That is setting him up for a hypo. Sorry to be blunt but that's dangerous. Many of us here are prepared to stay up with members through the night if need be to walk them through low numbers to make sure the kitty is safe. The standard is to have two rising, non-food influenced numbers before you quit testing....and preferably one of them would be at or after nadir so you know he's not going to come back down.

I also see a 47 mid-cycle on 7/19. I don't know of any member here who would stop testing at 47...even those of us experienced who know our cats and know their onset, nadir, and duration. It's not too far down to a number that could result in hypoglycemia.....which can be life threatening.

Here is what a typical lantus cycle looks like:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

As you can see, onset is "typically" at +3 although some cats (like Sienne's Gabby) onset a bit earlier.

We are big believers in getting a +2 test. It can tell you so much :-D If the +2 is much higher than the PS, it will probably not be an active cycle. If it is the same or close to the PS, you can expect a typical lantus cycle as shown above....meaning numbers will likely come down. If it is much less than the PS, you should expect a very active cycle where numbers may come down fast and early.

I am not criticizing here....only trying to let you know why it is important to keep testing when you get these low numbers. Lantus hypos can last over 16 hours and it's not pretty. We don't want Jasper to be one of those.....first and foremost, we are about safety and we will help you in every way we can :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D
 
Hi Marjorie, Wow.... First, thank you for your concern and I am sorry to have worried you last night I did not realize you would wait up for an update. I have noticed some folks have data from all hours and I really dont know how they manage that we are hard pressed to stay awake even for his pm +3 test. Of course we dont want Jasper to hypo, we also need enough sleep to function ourselves

Yes Jasper had a 47 nadir last week while he was still on Humulin. His highs varied yet he had consistent nadir at 5hr 15 min, hence we were testing at +5 and not more points in between.
Since starting Lantus we are testing at the PS and +3, +6, +9 during waking our hours, today we got +2 as well.

I recognize if you can't read Jasper's data you can't advise us on it. I redid the spreadsheet today following the directions, when I click the link in my signature it looks full width on our 2 different computers and my tablet and I dont see any settings to rescale it. I am sorry to hear its still too small on your screen for you to review and I dont know what to do about that. Perhaps someone else has run into that and knows how to fix it.

Leslie and Andy
 
Leslie

I do apologize if my other post sounded harsh. I don't intend to be and after reading your post, I can see why you would not have worried about going to bed at a 56.

Maybe if I explained a little about lantus/levemir, it would help. They are depot insulins which allows them to be long lasting. Humulin is not so it's in, then it's out. Lantus and levemir have different mechanisms for "filling" their depots and different methods of releasing the insulin slowly. But one of the most important things about them is each shot builds on the one before it so you get a cumulative effect from one shot to the next. While this is a wonderful bonus of these insulins as they, eventually, allow for nice, long, flat curves, it can also make them scary because low numbers can be tenacious if not dealt with.

And that's where testing comes in and knowing your cat. It's wonderful you are getting the PS, +3, +6, +9 tests during the day. It's important to build data but many, many cats have different cycles during the day and at night. At night, if he is coming down or flat, you might have to set an alarm and get up to test him to make sure he is coming up. Many of us sleep/test. Is it ideal? No. But it keeps our cats safe. The other thing you could do is shoot earlier so it's not so late by the time +6 rolls around....but then that means getting up earlier in the morning to shoot.

My husband and I trade off so we can get more sleep. The good thing for you is Jasper is on lantus so if he nadirs and starts up, you are ok. Gracie is on levemir and she has an entirely different curve which requires a little more nighttime monitoring.

I'll PM you about the SS. It's odd.....I've helped tons of members and never seen this :-D :-D ;-) ;-)
 
Leslie, you are doing a super job with Jasper. Wow, what a nice flat cycle today! I love all those blues. :-D :-D There is sure a lot to learn around here. I was pretty worried last night too so I'm glad to see all is well today. Your new spreadsheet looks ok to me. The old one was funky.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top