? 7/27 Ivy AMPS 332, +6 179, +11.5 59, Libre, Dose Increase During Bounce?

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...6-3-292-7-160-is-dose-ok.279778/#post-3090085
Hi everyone,
Ivy is still bouncing, on 2.75 units Lantus....I think she should probably get an increase to her prior dose of 3.0 Lantus (follow SLGS)
We reduced dose a few weeks ago, she went under 90 on handheld meter. She's been bouncing a lot.
*Reminder, I usually get her everyday readings on a Libre 3 sensor, unless she goes very low and I check on handheld meter.

She's spending stretches of time in "blue and green" numbers on the Libre, so I've checked a few times to see how that Libre readings correlate to her Contour Next meter.
(reminder: there's a lag in the Libre values, it can be 10 minutes ago the reading you actually see against the handheld meter, so it's not exactly apples to apples).
Blue Libre Values:
102 Libre was 171 Contour Next
136 Libre was 219 Contour Next

Green Libre values:
I usually find when she's in the low 40's or UNDER on Libre is when she's 90 or under on handheld Contour Next meter.

So....since she's not been going under 90 on Contour regularly, and only going into "Green" Libre numbers (which really equate to between 100-170ish handheld)..and blue Libre values (equate to Contour high 100's and 200's) I assume she needs an increase.

Do you agree?

My question is this....
Do I increase while she bounces? Or is there a safe time to increase?

since she bounces from these stretches of "lower" Libre numbers and bounces into 300's to 400ish Libre values. I know to ignore the high bounce numbers.


Also to note, on 7/24 I gave a 1/2 dose in AM cycle we went to vet for xrays of her broken (mending) leg and they required no food be given. I assume that 1/2 dose caused numbers to go higher after that and somewhat reduced the depot and readings for a few days...is that correct?

Thanks for any safe ideas how to handle :)
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Bandit's Mom
 
upload_2023-7-27_19-50-29.png
UPDATE: So as it turns out, after I posted this earlier today, Ivy was breaking a bounce today and sharply dropped to 82 on the Contour meter at shot time. I stalled for an hour but she never came up.
I ended up skipping her shot. Argh. I hate to skip a shot.

And the stranger thing was that the Libre read 87 and the Contour read 82!
I would have thought they would be much different values.
(I tested 2 x to be sure and got a close number on the contour)
So now I need to take a reduction after all that talk of an increase.
Here’s the 2 meters for reference.

Anyone have any ideas on a how I should proceed??
upload_2023-7-27_19-50-29.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-7-27_19-50-29.png
    upload_2023-7-27_19-50-29.png
    244.8 KB · Views: 138
Last edited:
:bighug:
Hi Staci, how is Ivy's leg coming along ?
Sorry no one got back to you, I'm no expert but I would have reduced also
Hopefully someone you tagged will come along and confirm this :cat:
@Staci & Ivy
Hi Diane, thanks for checking in and for your concern. I hope the reduction was right!
Her leg is healing, slowly. Been 8 weeks. Had an X-ray done last week. They said to continue to keep her confined so she doesn’t jump on furniture and injure it. Still has more healing to do. We go back in 8 weeks.
It’s been a long haul for her.
They want her to walk on it so I take her around the house to different rooms so she changes the scenery and I stay close to her to make sure she doesn’t jump.
(I'm sure she’s bored in one room, mostly.)
Thank you for asking about her.
I hope you are doing ok. I’m thinking about you. Sending a hug your way. I appreciate you! :bighug:
 
Back
Top