7/27 Enana PMPS 261 +1/270 +2/235 +3/262 +6/273

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 Dental today

Sending lots of good dental vines. Remember, feed only small amounts when Enana gets home. You don't want scarf-and-barf!
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 Dental today

Paws and Fingers crossed for an easy dental for sweet Enana!
Please keep us posted--I wil be looking for a report! Hugs & lub from us!
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 We are back

All went well. He said she had little cleaning to do.

She's all groggy and enjoying the view from the window.


Any tips/advice for after dental care will be appreciated.


Thanks for the thoughts, prayers, healing vines. :-D
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 We are back

YAY!!!! This is awesome news and nice, non-scary numbers!!! WHOOPPEEE!!!

Now everyone can go btb! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 Post dental questions

1) How often should I test her?

2) About when do you see the effect of anesthesia in the BG? At the beginning or at the end of the cycle or tonight?

She doesnt want to eat.
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 Post dental questions

Glad that all went well and Enana is enjoying the view ……. and the buzz. :lol:

If Enana isn't really nasty about checking her mouth have you considered brushing. Tess used to have really bad tarter and since I've been brushing her teeth the vets say they are looking really good, no need to even consider a dental in over a year.,,i admit i don't get it done every day, but at least 3 or 4 times a week.

Check out this info about training ing cats to get used to brushing.http://partnersah.vet.cornell.edu/pet/fhc/brushing_teeth Also CET has a tiny toothbrush that works well w/ Tess.toothbrush The others are just too big, especially the ones you put on your fingertip. Check w/ your vet about rinses or gels if she won't put up w/ brushing. Avoid anything w/ alcohol and I've heard bad things about Oravet Plaque Prevention Gel.
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 Post dental questions

So glad the dental went well and Enana didn't have to have any extractions! Simon's bg's went down the day of the visit but then went back up the next day. of course, he was on an antibiotic which probably made his bg rise. Is Enana eating ok?

I'm bumping you up for more expert eyes.
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 +4/237 Post dental questions

Ann, thanks for the video and the tip. I will brush her teeth from now on. :-D

Georgia, she is not eating. She is completely and utterly stoned.
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 +4/237 Post dental questions

There's no way to know if Enana's BG will be effected by the anesthesia. I'd give her some food (a teaspoon at a time) if she's hungry. Food will help stimulate her metabolism and help her work the drugs out of her system. I'd simply gauge where her numbers are at at PMPS. If her numbers keep dropping, then you may need to shoot a reduced dose tonight.

Ann has a great idea. I brush Gizmo's teeth and use the same product and brush that Ann is using for Tess.
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 +4/237 Post dental questions

Sienne is right-Only some cats have that nom nom effect, where bgs can drop after a dental, Not All cats!
So just monitor her & check with the board--So Happy she is OK!!!!! dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat party_cat
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 +4/237 All ok. :)

Thanks Sienne and Roni :-)

I will reduce the dose if she is still dropping by PMPS.
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 +4/237 All ok. :)

Yay! We are so glad to hear that the dental went well and Enana is resting comfortably. Hope you have a great afternoon with her!
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 +4/237 All ok. :)

Glad to hear all went well!

As far as her BG goes...when Trixie had her dental, her BG didn't drop until PMPS the following day - more than 24 hours after her dental. So I would keep a close eye on Enana's numbers for a few days.
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 +4/237 +8/156 All ok. :)

Hi Natalia, so glad to hear all went well with Enana's dental. They do have that stoned look for a while after the dental as I remember. :lol: Scritches to Enana,
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 +4/237 +8/156 QUESTION

Yes, she is eating and looking less stoned.

Question: how much should i reduce the PM shot to?
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 +4/237 +8/156 QUESTION

Hi Natalia, bump up and that's a question for one of the dose advisors like Jill, Sienne or Libby or others. How long before you have to shoot?
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 +4/237 +8/156 QUESTION

There's no way to know if Enana's BG will be effected by the anesthesia. I'd give her some food (a teaspoon at a time) if she's hungry. Food will help stimulate her metabolism and help her work the drugs out of her system. I'd simply gauge where her numbers are at at PMPS. If her numbers keep dropping, then you may need to shoot a reduced dose tonight.

Hi Natalia, here is what Sienne said above. I know you want to know how much to reduce. I'd see what the PMPS is and then someone should be on to advise, or you could try and pm one of them. Maggie had quite a drop after anesthesia, but she was under longer and had extractions, so each kitty is different.
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 +4/237 +8/156 QUESTION

Glad she's eating now.

Since she's never had a dental before you really don't know how she'll respond.

If she is still dropping you can consider the following:

1. the most conservative approach - skip the shot tonight and shoot tomorrow.

2. moderate approach: to shoot half of what you typically shoot or less than what you shoot.

3. least conservative approach: go for the full dose.

Curry continued to drop over night and she hadn't had any insulin for a full day. Went from 114 to 67 the next morning. I'm glad I didn't shoot her. Michelle's Mannie also dropped alot over night and I believe she was up most of the night.

If you shoot be ready to stay up late and have plenty of HC on hand.

Some kitties don't drop at all.

When do you shoot and what is her glucose? It looks like she is dropping according to the +8 reading.
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 +4/237 +8/156 +11.5/293 QUEST

Well, she's at 293.

Thanks Ann and Tena. :-D

I dont like to skip shots :? . I might go for a reduce shot or full shot if she keeps going up.
 
Re: 7/27 Enana AMPS 264 +3/278 +4/237 +8/156 +11.5/293 QUEST

is Enana eating any better?

After seeing so many cats respond to anesthesia differently, I would tend toward the cautious side and give a partial dose. She might not eat like she normally does and you don't want to have to worry about fishing her out of the basement if she won't eat. Just my opinion...
 
Re: 7/27 Enana PMPS 261 Reduced to 0.75u

She is eating better. Dried Chicken and canned food.

She dropped from 30 minutes ago, I reduced .50u to 0.75 tonight.

I dont know if that is reduction enough or too much. confused_cat
 
Re: 7/27 Enana PMPS 261 Reduced to 0.75u

Thank goodness for dried chicken!! If they won't eat anything else, they'll eat that! I hope she stays nice and stable for you!!
 
Re: 7/27 Enana PMPS 261 Reduced to 0.75u

I'm sure it will be fine--Not to worry, you'll be monitoring tonite some, so you can see where she goes..
Both of you did great today!! Hugs from Us!
 
Re: 7/27 Enana PMPS 261 Reduced to 0.75u

Hi Natalia, I was advised to get a +2 or sooner after her pm shot, which I'm sure you're monitoring.
Give Enana some scritches from Maggie and me.
 
Re: 7/27 Enana PMPS 261 +1/270 +2/235 +3/262

Hi guys - I am so glad that the dental went well. Good news! I think you are wise in shooting a reduced dose. She seems pretty stable tonight, but I would continue to monitor tomorrow too. I know ECID, but with Mannie we had "issues" for two days after his dental.... long story there most of which doesn't really apply here, but bottom line: monitor well for a day or two, and then you'll know what dose will be right for her Good lucK!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top