7/26CharlieAMPS 133, +4 173, +6 292 +9 409, PMPS 427, +5 352

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
Our new vet says it's OK to give lantus at .5 units, even if Charlie's BG comes out at 5 (90 in US metrics).
Does this seem right (as with caninsulin, that would seem very risky)?

Charlie seems real tired today but is a bit better after taking the anti-diarrhea tablet (finidiar), a few syringes of the vitamin/mineral replenishment "coctail" (VIYO recuperation), and the droplets against bladder infections (phytonics bladder comp). Let's see how it goes but we are celebrating a step in the right direction (no diarrhea/no vomiting/eating chicken/not hiding behind the couch).

cat_pet_icon
 
Re: July 26, Charlie, AMPS 133, +4 173, +6 292 +9 409

I'm glad Charlie is feeling better. It does take time for these upsets to get back to normal. Patience is a thing many of us struggle with, we want our babies better NOW! ;-)

For a newly dx cat that is a low number for preshot. Here we normally recommend stall and ask for help or to skip the shot under 150 about (6.6 for you) and many consider that too low. Later after you get a good understanding of how Charlie handles Lantus , yes you can shoot lower, but not until you have lots of data to back you decision up. You also don't want to shoot low if you can't be around to monitor by frequent testing. (I even shoot in the 50s but I have 2.5 years of testing to back me up AND I will test every 30 to 60 minutes to be safe.)

What time do you shoot? Your time that is, you are 6 hours ahead of the east coast and 9 ahead of me. If we know when you test we can look for you. Try to get an extra test an hour before shot time or at least do the preshot a bit early so you have time to post and get a response. Getting that extra +10 or +11 test helps to show where the BG is going so you have time to think, get advice and not panic.

BTW, how is the testing going?
 
We just did a test before bed. Test results came out at 19.6? (352.8 for US metrics).

Should it be that high still after almost 5 hours? I find that concerning. Charlie WAS stressed before this BG though and that stresses us both out too. We are accomplishing it, but tonight was an example where she really hated it. Some of them go really well and she snuggles me and then we do the test. Others, she starts out annoyed (like this time) and it's difficult.

Some things we have incorporated (instead of the clothes pins, I hold the scruff behind her neck). This calmed her down earlier today (or else at those times she was so tired it was easy). At this time, because she seemed energetic, I was SURE her numbers were going to come out low. They didn't. Is this due to stress? Bladder infection keeping the numbers high? I don't know.

We tried treats. Now know that she hates the freeze dried duck/ hates the freeze dried sardines / hates any kind of pate for dinner. Ground up meat is bad. Freeze dried = bad. Cooked, canned food that's fresh meat is good (but these days she's not eating as much as she used to and that concerns me as she has been losing weight). Losing weight is a good thing in a way (we need to get her to 4.5 kilos max, per our vet), but it also seems to be a sign that the insulin is not working well (or something else is going on).

I really must admit, we're getting discouraged. We love this girl more than anything, but I'm starting to worry that something bigger is going on and maybe this is going to all end in disappointment sooner than we think.

To give you more input:

Our AMPS is normally at 7am and the shot follows usually immediately. So far, her BG is so high in the AM that it's no problem to shoot, but later we could need more help if it changes. PMPS is normally done at 6 or 6:30 (now we will try for 6pm) and we shoot at 7pm. Does this work?

We were away for a few hours tonight to let this girl get some rest (and also get a break from diabetes literature, diabetes web forums, diabetes small talk, paranoid cat monitoring, etc). We need to keep our sanity in order to do what's best for this girl. Thus, the few hour break. Seemed to be good for Charlie too (maybe she rested) as when we arrived back home she greeted us at the door. Lately, if she's feeling awful, she wont even do that. However, she really did not react well during her BG test. We are working on that one. Step by step improvements as we need to figure out what works for Charlie.

Goodnight guys.

Ou BG monitor is the freestyle precision. The ER vet tested it and said our #'s were not that far from theirs. Is there any chance our machine is still off and that's why the #'s are so high after this much time? Or do you think that's normal given the weekend Charlie has had, the puking, diarrhea, potential bladder infection (or other issue causing the high amount of leukocytes during her urinalysis)?
 
Re: 7/26CharlieAMPS 133, +4 173, +6 292 +9 409, PMPS 427, +5

Jill, I know it is frustrating, but you have only been giving Lantus for 2 days. It can take up to a week for lantus to establish a shed and you see how it is working. Add an infection on top of that (yes, infections do increase BG) and all the stress of the last few days, it isn't surprising that her numbers are up.

I'm glad you got out for a little. It helps to relax and breathe. Charie is also picking up on your stress and that stresses her out too.
 
Re: 7/26CharlieAMPS 133, +4 173, +6 292 +9 409, PMPS 427, +5

Hi Jill! Welcome to you and Charlie. I hope she's doing better.

She appears to be bouncing off the blue numbers...that is normal. When the liver senses numbers it is not accustomed to, it releases counterregulatory hormones and glucagon to bring the BG back up. It can take up to 72 hours to clear a bounce.

If you recall from your first condo, Jill/Alex mentioned possibly fast tracking the dose since you are switching insulins. The tight regulation protocol allows for this. IMHO, even though Charlie is getting into blue numbers, I think she could use a bit more insulin.

In order to do that, you need to be ok with testing her as often as necessary.
 
Re: 7/26CharlieAMPS 133, +4 173, +6 292 +9 409, PMPS 427, +5

@ Marje: Look at her numbers today. Good thing we didn't increase just yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top