Amy&Tibby
Member Since 2020
Hello, everyone. I have some basic comprehension issues to run by you all. Tibby has been diabetic since February, but I've just recently switched him to Lantus, like days ago. I'm going to try using the SLGS method, but I'm not sure I completely understand it. Until now I've been emailing the curve numbers to my vet for dosing advice, but it would be quicker to take that on myself.
So I'm at 2 units of Lantus twice a day. My understanding is that I do that for at least a week, and then do a curve. If his nadir is below 90, I can lower the dose. Otherwise, I might continue the same dose or raise it depending on the numbers. Here are my questions:
So I'm at 2 units of Lantus twice a day. My understanding is that I do that for at least a week, and then do a curve. If his nadir is below 90, I can lower the dose. Otherwise, I might continue the same dose or raise it depending on the numbers. Here are my questions:
- The dose changes all seem to be in .25 increments. How can y'all see that small a change on those tiny little u100 syringes?
- I read that if his BG is below 90, lower the dose by .25 immediately. Is that for another week, or just for that dose?
- These BG numbers are for a human meter, but I'm using a pet meter. Is there a big difference?
- Is there a certain time that will be his nadir, or does that vary a lot by cat?