7/26 Shadow B PMPS+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73+11=86

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShadowsMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

AMPS 123, +1=166, +6=104
PMPS 169, +1=192, +2=176, +6=65, +6.75=62, +7=78, + 8.75= 53, +9.25=52, +9.5=73, +11=86


Holding at 0.10 units.

20cc Core BV&L post AMPS and at +1, +3 and +4. Gave him a 10cc Gerber meat baby food as AMPS +9.5 treat. Thinking that bumped up his PMPS a bit.
20cc Core BV&L post PMPS and at +1, +3 and +4. He woke me for an +8.75 (was actually a bit later than that) feeding and tested at 53. I gave him 10cc of the Core.

(Also posted below.) What's going on here? +8.75 is 53. Is this the real nadir? I've seen him drop at +10 or +11 before, but this is really early. Feedback appreciated.

Retested about 20 mins later (calling it +9.25) and got the 52. I realize that this is pretty much the same reading as before (within testing margins).

Food is kicking in now. +9.5=73. Am I right to suspect he would have slipped under 50 without it?



Yesterday's values:
AMPS 115, +1=128, +3=97, +4=71, +6=100
PMPS 151, +1+151, +3=194, +6=162, +11=141
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B AMPS 123, +1=166

Hi Hellen and Shadow-welcome to the forum. I thought I posted on your condo yesterday but I must have been sleepwalking :oops: Shadow is off to a great start today, and you are doing a fantastic job with him at age 20!! :smile:
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B AMPS 123, +1=166, +6=104

Thanks for the welcome! Everyone has been so friendly and helpful. I can't tell you how much we appreciate that.

Could someone tell me if this sort of reaction is typical when you first reduce a dose? We only recently began shooting twice a day on a regular basis, so his numbers were more erratic. Just when we started getting nice greens, he earned that reduction and now we are back up into the blues. So despite that, this is still a good looking curve, right? It's been just over a month since his DX, so I still don't have a handle on what I need to be watching for.
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS 169, +1=192, +2=176

Most times when you reduce a dose, it's because kitty earned a reduction by going low. That low BG can cause a bounce, which can take up to 6 cycles to clear out. So yes, often you do get higher numbers for a bit right after a reduction.

The meat babyfood that you are serving - what are the ingredients? You want one that is just meat and water. Some of the meat and gravy BF's have flour in them which means carbs.
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS 169, +1=192, +2=176

It does contain 2 grams of carbs per serving/jar. Since I get 50cc's out of one jar, I was hoping it wouldn't be enough to bump him up. Don't know if that had anything to do with it or if it's due to the bounce. I'm hoping to find some 0 carb food locally tomorrow.
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS 169, +1=192, +2=176, +6=65

65 at +6 and we are back in the green! Woo hoo! :-D

Dropped a little by +6.75=62.

Back up to 78 at just after +7.

I'm off to bed. Goodnight!
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS 169, +1=192, +2=176, +6=65, +6.75=62

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Bounce is gone!
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS 169,+6=65, +6.75=62, +7=78, + 8.75=53

What's going on here? +8.75 is 53. Is this the real nadir? I've seen him drop at +10 or +11 before, but this is really early. Feedback appreciated.
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS+6.75=62+7=78+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73He

Hi Hellen, well Shadow is looking great. Maybe he's on a mission. I can't answer your question or give dosing advice but I would say just make sure not to feed him within the 2 hour window before his shot.

So I just saw your +9.25 post. Looks like he's holding steady. Are you feeding him?

Oh, I just saw your +9.5 post. OK, so he's coming up. Good. Hopefully he can surf here a bit.
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS+6.75=62+7=78+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73He

Nope. I'm letting him coast from here on the 10cc's I fed at +8.75.
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS+6.75=62+7=78+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73He

Great job Hellen. Just curious, what's your "will not shoot" threshold?
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS+6.75=62+7=78+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73He

To be honest, that hasn't been an issue until now. We just started the tight protocol a couple of days ago and between his solid AM/PMPS values and the bounce we got from the other night, I've been able to shoot without much worry. That's about to change. I'm thinking that I'll shoot above 100 and just try to steer him with food for the next couple of days. Suggestions welcomed!!!
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS+6.75=62+7=78+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73He

So you have plenty of supplies/strips/HC/Karo should you need them? It would be great if you can get Shadow surfing green for some consecutive cycles. (Edited to say: But honesty, he's looking so good, I wouldn't be surprised if he earns a reduction to "no insulin" pretty soon anti-jinx).

Wow, I see Shadow's 20 years old. Awesome.
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS+6.75=62+7=78+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73He

I'm loaded to the gills with supplies. :lol: I'm ready to tackle it if it comes. This has been a CRAZY roller coaster of a ride. And all of this drama on a 0.10unit dose? I'm floored.
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS+6.75=62+7=78+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73He

Looks like Mr. P is kicking in, making the ride a little more exciting. Just stick with the protocol and let him earn his reduction safely.
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS+6.75=62+7=78+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73

I'd welcome some input from other members on what would be a reasonable "no shoot" number based on the data I've collected over the last couple of days. Do I have enough information to shoot lower numbers? He still has 1.75 hours to go before his AMPS and I can give him the slightly higher carb Core to attempt to steer him into safe values.

Right now he's sitting next to me begging for breakfast. It's a very good morning. :smile:
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS+6.75=62+7=78+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73

ECID, but I've found that the lower Zeke's PS is the flatter the cycle tends to be. Granted I've not had many green PS, but it is ironic that this does seem to occur quite a bit with other kitties as well. As long as you have supplies and will be available to monitor, and you know you're not shooting a dropping number, you should be able to shoot anything over 50.

If you're eager to get a response from others for today's shot, I'd suggest you change the subject of your original post and say "Dosing advice please".
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS+6.75=62+7=78+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73

No, you've answered my question. Thanks! I do have to leave for a bit, but it would be later in the cycle, around +7 or +8 and only for 2 hours. I feel confident that I'll have a good idea of what's going on by that point. I can always give him an extra snack to carry him over a little if he needs it.
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS+6.75=62+7=78+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73

Get a +11ish, it will be valuable data.
If you will be around to monitor and you can count on him to eat should you need him to, for first time shooting green 80ish is a good threshold.
From the TR protocol:
If it is your first time shooting green, then we will likely suggest that you stall the first time, even if the number is 80-100. That will let you collect data on what your cat will do when you stall. One thing you can do if you are having a low cycle is to get a +10 and +11. Those will give you a good idea of how quickly the cat’s numbers are rising (or not) when preshot time arrives.
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS+6.75=62+7=78+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73

Was planning on the +11. That's in 15 mins. I'll stall the AMPS and we will see what happens. He's assist/syringe fed right now and never declines his food, so that's not a worry. Here's hoping for green!
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS+6.75=62+7=78+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73

ShadowsMom said:
No, you've answered my question. Thanks!

Oh, I'm so glad Sandy posted that guidance. It was not my intent to give you dosing advice for today. I was speaking in terms of "in general". I assumed that for today you were going with your "over 100" threshold that you'd stated earlier; that's why I added "if you want advice for today's shot....".
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS+6.75=62+7=78+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73

Not a problem, Laura. I was in the process of editing his SS when her message came in and was going to change my subject afterward. If I hadn't heard from anyone, I would have done just that. I'm not about to play it fast and loose when it comes to my grouchy little old cat man. ;-)
 
Re: 7/26 Shadow B PMPS+6.75=62+7=78+8.75=53+9.25=52+9.5=73

If your AMPS is higher than the +11 and you are comfortable, don't worry about stalling.
If you have doubts and want to stall, re-check 15-20 mins after PS and see if BG is stable.
It looks like a good opportunity to shoot you first green. :cool:

eta - with Lantus (being a slow acting insulin) you want to be mindful of your kittys onset (time and BG) patterns - that''s the number you are 'shooting at', so to speak.
 
Fingers crossed you have a comfortable PS#. It would be great to see Shadow have a nice green surf (fingers crossed; anti-jinx)
 
+11 and we are at 86. I probably won't have to stall. This is looking good. I'll prep the higher carb Core and give him that for lunch. I'd like to see what he does on his usual stuff for the +1 and +2.
 
Beautiful! :cool:
Very exciting too.

With the start of the AM cycle, please remember to open a new condo for todays date ;-)
(easy to forget in all the excitement)
 
ShadowsMom said:
I'd like to see what he does on his usual stuff for the +1 and +2.
Great idea. Sometimes the lower carb food is just what kitty needs to surf. It goes without saying that Shadow's safety comes first, but you might want to consider not breaking out the higher carb food unless you need to or are concerned that he's gonna drop/dive. The +1, +2 should give you some indication of what to expect. But like Sandy said, you do want to keep the nadir in mind - don't want to fill him up with a lot of low carb food early and risk him not wanting to eat later in the cycle when the insulin is at its peak. So mixing in a little MC/HC with the LC food, as opposed to feeding more volumn of LC food, might be a better option.

Have you had many occassions where you've needed to give Shadow HC food to prop up his numbers? Do you know how carb sensitive he is?
 
It's only happened twice now, both in the last couple of days. He's very carb sensitive. I'd feel more secure in leaving him later this afternoon if he's surfing on a slightly higher carb food, particularly since he threw that late nadir at me a few hours ago. I'll return to the lower stuff this evening when I'll be around to monitor him all night. I'm so excited about the possibility of shooting green!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top