? 7/26: Roxy AMPS: 67, +1 61, +3 49, +4 63, +5 125

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Roxy & Deb, Jul 25, 2021.

  1. Roxy & Deb

    Roxy & Deb Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2021
  2. Margaret (and Pearl)

    Margaret (and Pearl) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
    When I shot low and didn’t yet have a pattern for what Pearl would do, I always made sure to get extra tests in like at +1, +2 etc. also don’t know if Roxy is on a downward trend given that the PS is lowest number you’ve got for last night so NADIR. She might still be going down.

    I also would test more when the insulin is kicking in. Basically with cycles with low PS you are building the data on what those cycles will look like for Roxy at this point.

    I hope this helps.
     
  3. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Hi Deb, do you have some medium carb food? I would give her a little spoonful of it to help her along so that the insulin doesn't take her too low and help her surf. Hourly tests with a little food after each one until she starts heading up would be good to do. Continue medium carb food if the next test is lower than her AMPS, and high carb food if she dips below 49. Roxy might be angling for a reducie. :)
     
  4. Roxy & Deb

    Roxy & Deb Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2021
    OKI gave her a spoon of a FF gravy beef food just now. She was 3.6 at +1.45 so not really any change since breakfast.
     
  5. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Your US sheet says she got 36 at +1. Is that an error?
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2021
  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    On the world ss it says 3.6 so maybe an error and your recorded the 3.6 on the US as 36? Please confirm as if a 36 you need high carb and testing in 20-30 minutes.
     
  7. Roxy & Deb

    Roxy & Deb Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2021
    Doesn't say that when I look at it..?
     
  8. Roxy & Deb

    Roxy & Deb Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2021
    This is what I can see?

    upload_2021-7-26_9-55-43.png
     
  9. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yeah that's showing correctly now. Earlier it had 36 in the +1 and 65 in the +2
     
  10. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s gone now. All that I see is +1 is 65. When I first looked after reading what you wrote it was there and then gone. Odd.
     
  11. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Were you able to get another test since +1?
     
  12. Roxy & Deb

    Roxy & Deb Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2021
    Please see updated sheet. Just gave her some gravy food as she's still going down. Put some honey on her paw but she's not licking it off yet.
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  13. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Great that you have honey. :) Hopefully she'll clean it off her paw soon. :cat:

    Could you test again in 30 minutes? If you could keep her thread title updated with your numbers that would be really helpful. :) Your next shot should be reduced to 1.75 as she dropped below 50.
     
  14. Roxy & Deb

    Roxy & Deb Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2021
    She is licking the honey off her paw now, and finishing the gravy food - whole can
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  15. Roxy & Deb

    Roxy & Deb Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2021
    updated the sheet. she is now back in her bed and purring.
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  16. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Next time, try just giving a few teaspoons of just the gravy part. I used to pop the top, put it back down and squeeze the gravy into another bowl (it's messy but it works). We want to nudge them back up above 50 without sending them to the moon or filling them up in case we really need them to eat again later in the cycle.

    40's are scary for us at first, but although we do have the "under 50" limit for new diabetics (less than a year since diagnosis) the 40's are still safe for most cats.
     
  17. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Next time you get a PS that low, it's probably safer to stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes (at least at first) until you have a better idea of how she reacts to both food and insulin. We'd hope the re-test would show her going up on her own without the influence of food before making a decision to shoot, continue to stall or skip/give a reduced dose.
     
  18. Roxy & Deb

    Roxy & Deb Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2021
    OK thanks. Just added in the +4 result of 63. :) Will test again in an hour and make sure she's not dropping again.
    She only eats the gravy pretty much anyway LOL, she left all the meat in the bowl :)
    She behaved totally normally, so that was reassuring. Yes will follow this protocol next PS.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  19. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    They ALL love the gravy!!! I swear China would drop low on purpose sometimes just to get "the good stuff"
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  20. Roxy & Deb

    Roxy & Deb Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2021
    LOL :)
    Just did a +5 and now she's at 125.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  21. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I would have been surprised if she was lower after all that yummy gravy!

    But she still earned a reduction so tomorrow morning's dose is only 1.75 unless she were to be over 300....IF over 300, you could shoot the 2U dose one more time (we call it "shooting through the bounce") but you'd still reduce no matter what on the PM cycle.
     
  22. Roxy & Deb

    Roxy & Deb Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2021
    Thanks for the info.
    Btw what does OTJ stand for?
     
  23. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    "Off the Juice" - slang for in remission. No longer on insulin.

    Congrats on the reduction! :)
     
  24. Roxy & Deb

    Roxy & Deb Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2021
    Ah wow congratulations! You need to add that to the list of Acronyms, it's not in there! :D
    After 4 years, amazing!! That must be very rare!?
    Thank you. I hope we can follow in your footsteps!
     
  25. Roxy & Deb

    Roxy & Deb Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2021
    Ah sorry Bhooma didn't notice it was you replying on behalf of Chris!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  26. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
  27. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    We have one cat that went OTJ after 8 years on insulin and stayed that way the rest of it's life!

    You NEVER give up hope!!
     
    Roxy & Deb and Bandit's Mom like this.
  28. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    About this time, the "night shift" people come on like Bhooma (India) and Bron (Australia)

    I can pop in pretty much anytime but generally from about noon to midnight (Central). I also deal with the Feline Diabetes group associated with the FDMB on Facebook so I stay busy in one place or the other!
     
    Roxy & Deb and Bandit's Mom like this.
  29. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    That makes me feel like I'm working for a BPO! :)

    Black Kitty?
     
  30. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yep, that's the one!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  31. Roxy & Deb

    Roxy & Deb Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2021
  32. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yup, there's another list as well. :)
     
    Roxy & Deb likes this.

Share This Page