7/26 - Poppy - 5 days in blue at .1 - Next Steps?

Sharon & Poppy

Member Since 2023
With SLGS a reduction has been earned with the ambg test under 90. You don’t test enough to shoot green. Remember we raise and lower the dose based upon his l of w a dose takes your cat. We have no idea at this point. Reduce to a drop tonight.
 
When can you next do a curve, or at least some spot checks during the cycle, morning and night?
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-21-poppy-first-glucose-curve.279766/#post-3090093

@Hendrick Cuddleclaw - Thank you for looking at Poppy’s SS. Not sure what to make of it. She has been able to maintain blue for 5 days at .1 u. I keep thinking that we will have to increase at some point. So, I have been waiting for her to give me a sign. She not showing any clinical signs of the diabetes.

Thoughts? What are normally the next steps?

wow, look at her go! Did you see what Elise said though, the 88 Poppy had at AMPS was below 90 so the dose gets reduced to a drop dose now.

Do you know how to do a drop dose?
 
@Hendrick Cuddleclaw I dont know how to do a drop dose. So any help you can give me would be appreciated.

@Wendy&Neko I did a curve last Friday, July 20th. This week I reduced the testing to PS only Because we had done so many tests last Friday. I wanted to give Poppy a break for this week. Are you thinking +1, +2, +10, +11? If yes, I would like to spread out over a couple of days.
 
I never did the drop dose. I am trying to find the instructions, but coming up empty.

@tiffmaxee can you help

Yes. Hold the plunger all the way in and insert into the vial or pen. Then release the plunger and the syringe will draw up a drop. When you inject try and hold the plunger in for about 10 seconds if possible.
I would also try using a used syringe and water to count how many drops are in your 0.10.
 
Yes. Hold the plunger all the way in and insert into the vial or pen. Then release the plunger and the syringe will draw up a drop. When you inject try and hold the plunger in for about 10 seconds if possible.
I would also try using a used syringe and water to count how many drops are in your 0.10.
I will try it later. And let you know. I have meetings for the rest of the afternoon.

Thanks for all the information.
 
Interesting twist. I have been using the 1/2 ml syringe needs for the last 7 cycles. When I went to measure the drops, it was one drop for where I thought it was .1. I was using the very first line at the very top of the syringe. I think that is the 0.0. And I had the plunger on the line.

For the prior 3 .1 was with the 3/10 syringe using the very first line at the top of the syringe. The one before the first .5 marking. I think this is the 0.0. I had the plunger on the line.

Do you know what the amount is for the first line at the top of the 1/2ml and 3/10 ml syringes?

When I put water in both sized of syringes at the very top line, I get 1 drop of water.

I suspect that I have drop dosed her by accident. This is why people with computer degrees(such as myself) should not be medicating anyone :woot:

It is amazing that Poppy is still alive.

Thoughts?
 
Last edited:
Back
Top