7/26 Jake's (AMPS) - 242 (AMPS) - 61 *DOSE QUESTION*

Status
Not open for further replies.

breayle and jake

Member Since 2010
Ok, Jake's gettin' some blue numbers which I love... however it makes me hold dose until I get a good BG reading. Now, I had the same result a couple weeks ago... and this would make me either hold the dose till later, or not give him one at all. What do you guys think? I was giving him 2.75u and would always get pink/red numbers... and with 3.0u I'm getting quite a few blue numbers. Some of you said you thought 3.0 was too much... but 2.75 is obviously too little... is there a dose between? I don't have one on my syringes if that is the case... so suggestions? Thoughts? His shot is already 1:30min late, and his last BG reading was 70 and there is no way I'm going to shoot him at that number. So... I'm at a loss!

-Breayle and Jake
 
When you get a number you are uncomfortable shooting, you have 3 options other than shooting your regular dose.
  • Stall - do NOT feed. Retest in 15 - 30 min and see if the number is rising or if you have a surf. Repeat. This is a reasonable option is you have flexibility with your schedule since your next shot will be 12 hours from when you gave the current shot.
  • Shoot a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. This is a reduced dose.
  • Skip the shot. This is the least best option.

All of these options have an effect of the shed.

I don't think you are quite data ready to shoot in the 60s. I would retest and post the number. I saw you retested with a 70. I think you shot in the 80s. If you shoot, you need to get at least a +1 and a +2. Even with giving HC the other night with a 77, you really need to re-test after 30 min. to see what's happening with Jake's numbers. HC can wear off in an hour and numbers can drop. Take a look at Gabby's SS on the morning of the 24th. You'll see how her numbers bobbled around.

Please post and let us know what you're doing.
 
I have never shot in the 80s, I do not shoot below 150. Jake got fed when I got home after I checked his BG level. Basically he was home alone all day and wasn't able to get his lunch so he was extra hungry. So he ate like three servings of his canned food... poor baby. At 9:20pm he tested at 61. I didn't believe the number so I actually tested again, first test was 51 the second was 61. So.... yeah.

I just gave him his supplements for his arthritis, and his probiotic fiber for his constipation. I'm actually going to talk to the vet tomorrow to ask her a step by step enema procedure for him, due to his impacted colon. Still waiting for the senior blood work/fPLI test results to come back (tomorrow). I actually thought he tested clean for this on Saturday, and celebrated... however my mom sort of left out the test results coming in on Tuesday.

Not sure what to do... I don't even want to give him a 1u shot with a BG reading of 61.

-Breayle and Jake
 
Also... I forgot to update the SS with the complete numbers from Saturday. I did test an hour after I gave him the fancy feast, it went to 121 @ 1am, I ended up going to bed because I just had too... I was beat. So... yeah I think I might reduce shot tomorrow... but I'm worried holding shot too long will screw him up like last time.

-Breayle and Jake
 
If you read it you can see the shot was given at 4pm (my mom administered it late, I was working and she took him to the vet). I actually asked her to check him again... at the vet his BG test was 116. So I said to my mom to test him again in an hour (the vet tested him at 10:30 and I assumed he'd be at least 150 an hour later.) However she didn't do it till 4pm... and that kinda ticked me off... but she doesn't give him shots or test him so I suppose I should take what I can from her. He ended up not getting a shot that night and I brought him back to the schedule he's supposed to be on the next day as I'm not going to be giving him shots at 4am and 4pm, this is not a possibility with my work sched.

Jake needs an enema, he's getting one tomorrow and I'm going to do it. This last vet visit cost $370.00 I cannot afford to let her do it. I've been reading up online and purchase a baby enema syringe bulb. My friend is going to come over tomorrow and help.

Jake's already got less of a belly after a massive poop he had this morning, but he still needs the enema.
 
Thanks for the explanation. It may help when you put the notes in your comments to refer to time in 'plus hours' since that way we know how much off schedule the shot was (i.e., if it's 3 hours late, it's at +15). The actual time (4:00) didn't really let me know how off schedule you were since I don't know what time you usually shoot.

At some point, you're going to need to start shooting lower than 150. With Lantus, because the curve is flat, this is something you can do. Maybe not tonight, but at some point in the future. You've collected good data. Maybe you can consider shooting above 100 as a first step?

Glad to hear you're on top of the poop situation. Since you'll be talking to your vet, you might want to ask about using Miralax on a regular basis. Many people here use it routinely for their cat's constipation issues. You can mix it right into food (just add water to the food, as well).
 
I don't think it's safe to shoot him above 100 with the 3u dose. To me it seems like I'd make him crash... the vet told me she wants to see his numbers in the 100's but I've read in tons of places that kitty regular is 50-150, even this is debatable considering I have not been able to find a site where they all say the same numbers are safe. I'm checking again in 15 min however I can't imagine giving him 3u even if he hits 100... I'm pretty beat so I think the latest I'll stay up is 12am. It looks like I'll have to skip the shot... unless I give him some fancy feast again... which he will not object to. Probably 1/2 an oz instead of the full 3oz like I did last time. But I think it's counterproductive to give him high carb kitty food to raise his BG levels to an acceptable shooting range.

-Breayle and Jake
 
Tested again at 10:30 - got another 70. His BG isn't moving... it's weird, especially since he's eatin quite a lot since 7pm. Two more tests will happen tonight, then I'm hitting the hay... I know it's not recommended to skip shots... however I do not feel comfortable shooting at these numbers. I supposed I could to the chickenshit dose at midnight if he's over 100... however I'm still scared that giving him even a 1u dose might make him crash, and I'll be sleeping so that's not good. From what I can see he needs a dose between 2.75 and 3.0 and from what I can see there is none LOL!

Arg maytee...

-Breayle and Jake
 
You can shoot a "fat" or "skinny" dose. This is about a drop or so more or less than what you're shooting. In Jake's case, it would be a dose between 3.0 and 2.75u.

As far as shooting 3.0u and it being safe or not safe, take a look at Mocha's SS. Devon has been shooting about the same amount and has routinely shot low numbers. For example, on 7/14 she shot her usual dose of 3.0u with an AMPS of 57. Mocha surfed green the entire day.

I'm not sure how much experience you've had managing Jake's numbers with HC food. It does look like you jump in with HC when Jake is in the 70s. Above 50 is a good range for Jake's pancreas to heal. We generally bump up numbers when they are lower than 50 (or if you need to get to sleep). It takes a little bit of experience to have the confidence to know that you can manage low numbers. The trade off here is that Jake is still within his first year of diagnosis. Cats within their first year of diagnosis have the greatest chance of remission. If that is a goal you're considering, you will need to get more comfortable with lower numbers. If you take a look at either of the formal versions of the Tight Regulation Protocols (i.e., the Tilly Protocol or the Rand Protocol), you'll see that reductions are earned for numbers below 50.

Let us know how we can help.
 
I don't think I'm experienced enough to do something like Moca's bean did. It scares me to be honest... especially since 50 is such a good number. I think we might have gotten to him too late for the remission... I'm going to assume Jake was diabetic for at least three months before we got diagnosed. I'm sure I'm going to need lots of help because this is all so very confusing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top