? 7/26 Emma AMPS 176

Manuel

Member Since 2022
First post in an ISG! I have just a question about dosing using the SLGS method.

The guideline for SLGS for "lower than normal" pre-shot recommends that:
<150 no insulin
150–200 (three options, including reduced or token dose, which is what I normally do)
>200 but below usual, reduced dose

This seems to work fine for me except that I notice now that Emma has pretty frequently been between 170–185 PS in the morning (and fairly regularly at 215-290 in the evening). As a result, it's hard for me to say if 170-185 is "lower than normal" in the pre-shot, and if I should keep reducing in the morning.

For context, here is my new member thread. You'll see that my vet started Emma on 2.5u of Lantus then asked me to increase, but with testing and the advice of members on here I've actually brought Emma down to 2.0.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ransitioning-to-wet-food.265735/#post-2977217

I am slowly changing the shooting time to 8/8 so that I can run more PM tests.

Thanks!
 
Welcome to LLB. Here’s your post from main as for continuity we link posts.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ransitioning-to-wet-food.265735/#post-2978122

As you gain data you will raise the no shot number. We look fir patterns. So shoot anything around 170 both cycles. You will soon lower that number as you gain data until you are shooting over 90.

Thank you, Elise! Just want to make sure I understand. You're saying as I gather more data, eventually I will know that blue AMPS is pretty normal for Emma, and as she becomes a bit more regulated, it shouldn't be surprising to see her going blue AMPS? Thus the do-not-shoot number will gradually decrease.

Progression/earning a decrease is the interesting part of the SLGS dosing strategy I'm not 100% on yet. I assume we want our kitties' numbers to drop over time, and for the curve to be less steep (i.e., shorter amplitudes and predictable; as flat as possible). As those numbers creep down (any nadirs <90mg), I'll want to reduce dosage. Do I have all of that right?

Thanks again so much for your help.
 
Hi Manuel just curious you gave 2 units this morning and Emma's BG was 176
Her BG tonight was 191 why did you only give 1.50 units
Can you get more tests in after PMPS
Hello Diane, thanks for caring about my cat! I gave Emma 1.5 even though her AMPS was actually a bit lower because I have noticed her BG is slightly lower during the night time cycle, given the AMPS. Plus, this morning I actually fed partially and waited an hour before giving the dose at 205 rather than 176.

I see now that my note on the cell doesn’t show up on the US measurements page; I’ll need to figure out how to enter a stalled shot (I read something earlier but couldn’t figure it out. Will need to find more sample spreadsheets).

I have just tested her at +2.5 and she’s doing well at 155. So far I find her nadir tends to be at +3, at least in the daytime, which is why I also give a small snack at +2. I’m working on slowly transitioning to an earlier time so I can take early PM tests more regularly; I can’t typically stay up till 1am for shots.
 
Hello Diane, thanks for caring about my cat! I gave Emma 1.5 even though her AMPS was actually a bit lower because I have noticed her BG is slightly lower during the night time cycle, given the AMPS. Plus, this morning I actually fed partially and waited an hour before giving the dose at 205 rather than 176.

I see now that my note on the cell doesn’t show up on the US measurements page; I’ll need to figure out how to enter a stalled shot (I read something earlier but couldn’t figure it out. Will need to find more sample spreadsheets).

I have just tested her at +2.5 and she’s doing well at 155. So far I find her nadir tends to be at +3, at least in the daytime, which is why I also give a small snack at +2. I’m working on slowly transitioning to an earlier time so I can take early PM tests more regularly; I can’t typically stay up till 1am for shots.

I wanted to check in on you and Emma to see how you were doing :cat:
Yes I know you want to get to back shooting at 8 AM and 8 PM

About how to enter stalling in the units cell I just tied to find someone that has stalled and how they entered it
To tell you the truth I never had to stall

When stalling you wait 20 minutes and retest to see if the BG is coming up on it's own without food

I'm going to tag a few members to tell you how to enter it in the BG cell


@Bandit's Mom

@tiffmaxee

@Manuel

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Wendy&Neko

@Chris & China (GA)

@Suzanne & Darcy
.
 
Last edited:
I wanted to check in on you and Emma to see how you were doing :cat:

When stalling you wait 20 minutes and retest to see if the BG is coming up on it's own without food
You're so on the ball! Thank you for following up even without being asked. I am sure you've helped save dozens or even hundreds of cats from a lot of suffering. And thanks for the specifics re: stalling. I'll keep it in mind.
 
You're so on the ball! Thank you for following up even without being asked. I am sure you've helped save dozens or even hundreds of cats from a lot of suffering. And thanks for the specifics re: stalling. I'll keep it in mind.
You give me too much credit, I am no where that experienced at suggesting doses
or other things. The experienced members here have saved hundreds of cats from a lot of suffering. If I see someone needs help I will tag some members for them
But thanks anyway :bighug::bighug::cat:
 
You give me too much credit, I am no where that experienced at suggesting doses
or other things. The experienced members here have saved hundreds of cats from a lot of suffering. If I see someone needs help I will tag some members for them
But thanks anyway :bighug::bighug::cat:
It's not only dosage suggestion that helps cats! But anyway in this case you appear to have been right about dosage. Emma has a 295 AMPS this morning, probably because I was too conservative in giving 1.5u instead of the usual 2.0u. I guess she can handle it. The lowest I've ever tested her at was 83, and all other ones have been 113 and higher.

Blue cells spook me a bit, but I suppose actually I should be happy to see them regularly. Reading TR (though not using that method) I see that it's ideal to keep the cats between 50 and 200 as frequently as possible. So I'll keep monitoring but it looks like I probably shouldn't worry about shooting the regular amount while she's at blue.
 
Back
Top