7/25 Shadow pmps 136 +2~108 +3~89 +5~85 +7~93

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 needs eyes asap shottime

I have no dosing advice for you, as I'm not experienced enough. By looking at your SS, though, it looks like you shot the dose when Shadow was in the upper 90's a couple of days ago, and then perhaps spiked after a feeding (or the shot) right after that. Hoping that someone will come around soon to help you with this. Otherwise, Shadow's looking very lovely in the :mrgreen: s! :-D Keep up the excellent work! :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 needs eyes asap shottime

As I understand it, for tight protocol, I need to stay the course and watch hard.

If i want to get her numbers lower and get her moving towards otj, I need to keep the dose the same.
So I'm ready to do that, I was ready 2 days ago but everyone wanted me to wait and watch her numbers a bit longer.

I can do a curve today.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 needs eyes asap shottime

rhiannon and shadow said:
I was ready 2 days ago but everyone wanted me to wait and watch her numbers a bit longer..

You have shot this low before. The concern before was there was very little data on how Shadow would react AND you were going to be gone for a period of time without being able to check on her. Later that evening, the concern was how long you had stalled in addition to it being an evening cycle and whether or not you would be able to stay up all night if need be.

You have strips, high carb food, and ability to monitor (potentially every 30 min) today...so now you get to see what she will do! :mrgreen:

Please get a +1 and post

I will be around my computer most of the day and can check in, if you need help.

I think it would be ok to remove the 911.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 needs eyes asap shottime

Hi guys .. so glad carolyn was here to help with your dosing questions .. This is a beautiful amps number and I hope shadow surfs here for a very long time .. have a great day!
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 needs eyes asap shottime

I think you have a choice. You have limited experience with managing low numbers and 2 weeks of data and those issues are factoring into my perspective. In addition, I don't know how many experienced people will be around during the day today and the Board seems to be hanging up. As a result, I don't know how immediately people will be able to respond if you need a hand.

  • You can shoot your usual dose. However, you will need to get a +1 and a +2 and continue to monitor as Shadow's numbers warrant.
  • You can reduce the dose to 0.75u. You are consistently running in to numbers that are on the lower end and you don't have a great deal of data to draw on to know how your cat will respond. Lowering the dose should allow you to shoot twice a day consistently.

Sorry -- the Board timed out while I was trying to post.

If you shoot, you may want these instructions on handling low numbers.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +1~71

ok Rhiannon- can you get a +2 and post? If I am correct, your +2 is actually coming up in 15 minutes?
Should I be checking back on you to help if you need it in the next 15 minutes?
If Shadow keeps dropping at +2, you will need to start doing 20-30 minute checks (depending on the drop) + have your high carb food ready.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +1~71

Her shot was at 8:30.

so the +2 is 38 minutes away. I'll do a test in 8 minutes to see.
she gets half a shrimp every time I stick her , her favorite reward.

I just dug thru all my old friskies cans and found a 16% carb... prime filets with chicken in gravy. So
i have it ready if needed.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +1~71 +1 1/2~73

Excellent +1.5. Did you feed at shot time OR any other time beside the the shrimp? The insulin *should* start to kick in soon, and any food spike from breakfast wearing off.

Are you planning a +2 or +2.5? Please post whichever one you get. I will check back in 30 minutes.

To give yourself more room in the original subject line, you can use +1.5 instead of +1 1/2, ok?
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +1~71 +1 1/2~73

She did have food after her shot. still a bite left in the bowl, didn't finish it.

She senses she 's going to get poked a lot today and acted like she wanted to disappear so I gave her catnip .
Now she's just sitting here with me , enjoying her buzz.

will wait til much later in day before going to get allergy shot ( i have until 4:30)
and I will test every hour all day.
needed a curve anyway.
I will keep testing every half hour for now . think her nadir is usually +6 but we'll find that out today.

Our new lancet is turning out to be better after all. The softclix plus is to be recommended. It is a 28 gauge.
Our previous fastclix was a 31 gauge.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +1~71 +1 1/2~73

by the way, since the website had a flicker of disappearing earlier....
my email ....
welll, i took it off afterbeing advised to.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +1~71 +1 1/2~73

There is a back up board for Lantus Land here:
http://lalalalantus.yuku.com/
You will have to register. It's a good idea to set up an account in advance in case anything happens.

I think it is preferred that emails are not posted here. You may want to take that down, otherwise a moderator will probably edit it. It is just for everyone's protection.

How are things looking?
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +1~71 +2~71

okay. I've joined the yuku site. waiting for approval.

same name so the rest of you can find me. I'll have to figure out navigating that site too.....
but I will also offer up my email address to anyone who wants it, just send a pm.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +1~71 +2~71

Is that 71 a +2 or +2.5?
I think if she is surfing you would be ok to test every hour (for data), UNLESS numbers are dropping OR she goes below 50.
It's up to you.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +1~71 +2~71 +2.5~69

amps 97
shot 8:30 am .9 unit
then food given
+1 71
+1.5 73
+2 71
+2.5 69

she's about to ask for food, she always does after I shower and her kitty clock wants a second breakfast ( such a hobbit)
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +1~71 +2~71 +2.5~69

You're doing great, Rhiannon!
I sent you a PM yesterday :smile:
Have a good cycle! I'll try to follow on my iphone, since even now, my laptop keeps playing up, silly thing.

Jane
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +1~71 +2~71 +3~69 +3.5~76

amps 97
shot 8:30 am .9 unit
then food given
+1 71
+1.5 73
+2 71
+2.5 69
food given
+3 69
+3.5 76
wasn't expecting the small increase.....
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +1~71 +2~71 +3~69 +3.5~76

rhiannon and shadow said:
+2.5 69
food given
+3 69
+3.5 76
wasn't expecting the small increase.....

What and how much did you feed at 2.5? Might be food helping her surf....not really rising.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +1~71 +2~71 +3~69 +3.5~76

I have not seen an update for a while, so I checked your ss and it looks like she has a nice surf going on. :mrgreen:

She may come in low again tonight for pmps. If you feel like you will need help making a decision on what to do then start posting around her +10. Please make sure you continue to have plenty of extra strips, HC food, and karo in your house.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +1~71 +2~71 +3~69 +5~76 +6~80

I have 100 + strips.
honey, ( karo syrup too) , the can of friskies 16% carbs
instructions are printed in case of power failures

and she hasn't had food now since 11:15 am with all that nice surfing.
just a raw shrimp from whole foods (USA) -

guess I'll go order more strips so they'll be here in a week ....

my strips are basically $1 a piece . but I really like my meter and we finally got a rhythm going.

If we get to a remission point, it's all worth it.

I will keep testing every hour so I have a curve to look at.

I would think that I will be getting lower numbers in the next few days and that's when I'll get more nervous.
I hope she will be one of the cats to be at 50 or under and not have a hypo.

IF we keep going downward each day, I will probably have to nudge her dosage on friday back up a tad...
I won't be home but my daughter will be here and watchful and feeding her. I just don't want her to have to deal with a crash.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +1~71 +2~71 +3~69 +5~76 +6~80

rhiannon and shadow said:
I have 100 + strips.
honey, ( karo syrup too) , the can of friskies 16% carbs
instructions are printed in case of power failures.

Ordering more strips is a good idea. I always felt better with about 50 extra shifts, above what I thought I may need. You may want to consider picking some up at the store or being prepared to do so once you get around 50. YOu are shooting low numbers and unsure how Shadow is going to react. You will likely end up needing more than you think.

I would also recommend more than 1 HC can.

Glad you have the instructions printed out.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow amps 97 +3~69 +5~76 +6~80 +7.5~86 +11~139

had food around 5 pm ... would have been the +8 time so I didn't test then....

we went out to dinner ....
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow pmps 136 staying the same dose?!

Doses are reduced when numbers fall below 50 in a cat that is within a year from diagnosis. Shadow's number don't warrant a reduction yet.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow pmps 136 staying the same dose?!

I will really want input on friday morning so all eyes that can help.... Please do.

If our numbers continue like today or even drop lower, I feel like the am shot should drop a tad since I have to be gone most of the day and then I can continue the dosage I am at for the pm shot.

unless something changes beween now and then......
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow pmps 136

Rhiannon

Nice day for Shadow!!

You can shoot a reduced dose in the morning since you are going to be gone but keep in mind that because of the cumulative nature of lantus, the cycle may very well play out the same way as if you shoot the full dose. The effects of shooting a reduced dose are often seen late in the cycle, or more likely, in the next cycle.

Your strips are $1.00 each? :shock: :shock: :shock: Check ebay. I buy all mine there....I only buy from top sellers with high approval and only undamaged boxes. I've never had a problem.
 
Re: 7/25 Shadow pmps 136 +2~108 +3~89

Hi Rhiannon

It's best to see where she is by tomorrow night. She might earn a reduction between now and then. Or she might stall and need an increase. So it's best to ask tomorrow night for dose advice so we aren't trying to guess a scenario that might never happen. We'd love to have our crystal balls working that far out but in reality, they aren't reliable :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top