7/25 Rocky PMPS 70 +2 69 +3.5 62 +4.5 53 +6 50

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122243

Yesterday's SS:
AMBG 60 +14.5 57 +16.5 65 +19.5 56 +22 78
PMPS 77 +2 81 +5 50 +6.5 51 +7.5 61 +11 66

Well, so far so good. I DID give Rocky his shot last night without reducing his dose, and then I managed it by feeding him higher carbs. I didn't want to skip two shots, back-to-back. Rocky's BG came down only two points from his PMPS +11 of 66 last night to 64 at his AMPS this morning. I reduced his insulin only slightly today, from a skinny 1.25u to now a fat 1.0u. I also fed him Wellness Core 8% for his first mini-meal.

I caught both mom and one of her babies in the same trap last night! I could hardly believe it. Of course, it took me more than three hours. The caretaker wanted to sit on the porch, right next to the drop trap, and that just wasn't working. I told her I would go sit in my car. Then, after I had been there for nearly two hours, I told her that I would just set the other trap and then maybe we would catch just mom or one of the other kittens overnight. I set one trap on her porch and covered it with a sheet, then went into her house with the second trap to show her how to to set it. As I was showing her the second trap I heard the door on the trap I had just set on the porch go down. It was mom with one of her babies! :-D So, that leaves only one more of here kittens out there... I set the second trap and left at midnight. It's a 20 minute drive home. I then had to get a cage ready for this mom and babe when I got home. After taking care of Rocky, I didn't get to bed until about 3:00.

I'll call the caretaker at 10am today to see if she got the last kitten. If so, I need to drive over there ASAP and get it. It is going to be 103°F here today, and the weatherman says above 100° every single day until at least this coming Wednesday. Whew.. this is some heat. I'll be checking to make sure my feral colonies have water at least two times a day. I use some good quality pretty large "Durabowls," but the water still evaporates when it gets this hot outside.

Praying for everyone here who is suffering with sadness and worry over their family and cats, sending you kindness and gentle thoughts.
 
Re: 7/25 Rocky(reducie: f1.0): AMPS 64

i know you're busy, tina, but perhaps instead of worrying about putting in past data, you could just begin from right now and add his numbers and dosage to the spreadsheet. i'm worried that you're going to need advice and the spreadsheet isn't going to be up to date. for me, it's an essential part of giving advice and it's a huge handicap to not have it. every time i open rocky's condo to see how he's doing, i also open his spreadsheet because that says it more clearly than a list in the condo.

he's doing really well - after all those months of bouncing it appears he's stopped. pretty exciting!
 
Re: 7/25 Rocky(reducie: f1.0): AMPS 64 +2 71 +3 58 +5 50 +7

Hi Julie,

I'm sorry that I haven't input his SS data in such a long time. This is such a crazy, busy time of year for me. I would rather input everything I have, and like I said before, I am missing some dates but I'm not sure which ones, so I can't really start putting in from today forward.

It looks like Rocky may have reached a "stop reducing" threshold, although I won't really know until his PM shot time tonight.

I've been cleaning litter boxes all day long with a a horrible headache. I think I have a headache every other day, or every day. I'm probably allergic to cats. Ha! Anyway, now I've got to quickly jump in the shower, race off to feed my ferals, and then pick up another trapped adult cat the same place where I trapped the mom and two kittens. I'm kind of pissed about this one.

I will see what I can do with Rocky's computer SS tonight but it depends on how I feel.
 
Re: 7/25 Rocky(reducie: f1.0): AMPS 64 +2 71 +3 58 +5 50 +7

Tina, just start with the last 3 days on the ss and don't bother with the older ones for now. Feel better. Rocky is still looking really good.
 
Re: 7/25 Rocky(reducie: f1.0): AMPS 64 +2 71 +3 58 +5 50 +7

the reason i'm pushing about the spreadsheet is because Rocky is in a new phase. diabetic cats go through phases - increasing the dose, getting a cat to stop bouncing, etc. he's now in flat cat land, and he's been successful at holding reductions.

That change seems really significant to me.

I can't help but think that the time is going to be coming when we're going to need a look at the spreadsheet to see the big picture of doses/numbers. at that point it's going to suck if it's not available. i know you're busy with everything - it's really not necessary to put in past data. that'd be nice, but what's essential is going to be the most recent 3 days, so if you could just start now, that would be good enough.

and when you're feeling crappy and overloaded with too much to do, "good enough" is a perfect place to start. :YMHUG: i hope you feel better soon.
 
Re: 7/25 Rocky PMPS 70 +2 69 +4 62

I'm really sorry, I can't put the SS data in tonight. I'm just too pooped. You'll never believe it. I drove all the way across town, almost 1/2 an hour from my house, one way, to pick up the cat that I didn't really want to take through the T-N-R VERY early tomorrow morning. OK.. so, the caretaker is very lonely woman, very sweet, but she just talks and talks and talks and doesn't have a shut off monitor. It always takes me too long to get out of there.

So, I grab the cat in the cage and get out of there as quickly as I can tonight, without looking at the cat. The cat is complaining, meowing and meowing in the car all the way home. I finally get him in my house, unveil his trap, look at his ears, and he has already been T-N-R'd...His left ear is already tipped. I tried to feed him because the poor thing hasn't eaten anything since last night. Of course, he wasn't going to eat while he was in that trap.

I then got back in the car and drove him all the way back home. I let him out in her dark yard. When I opened the door, he didn't even know if he wanted to leave or not. He just cried more, until finally, he ran out of it. Then, when I was turning around to go home I drove down the back alley of the home where the housing development has the pool. I saw a kitten. I'm not sure if it was the kitten that belongs to this litter, or just another kitten. I got out the trap and set because I thought maybe I could get lucky in just a few minutes. I saw that poor kitten eating a few dry grass pieces and I felt so sorry for it. These kittens I have here now are not completely weaned from their mother. Sadly, I didn't catch it. I had some canned food in the back of my car so I popped one open and left it where he had been eating the dry grass.

It took me nearly two hours to deal with this cat tonight, between the driving, talking to the caregiver, lifting that heavy trap with the cat in it. My headache is still at my temples and in my nose.

Thank goodness Rocky's BG continues to cooperate because I'm on overload.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top