Tina & Rocky
Member Since 2013
Good morning,
Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122243
Yesterday's SS:
AMBG 60 +14.5 57 +16.5 65 +19.5 56 +22 78
PMPS 77 +2 81 +5 50 +6.5 51 +7.5 61 +11 66
Well, so far so good. I DID give Rocky his shot last night without reducing his dose, and then I managed it by feeding him higher carbs. I didn't want to skip two shots, back-to-back. Rocky's BG came down only two points from his PMPS +11 of 66 last night to 64 at his AMPS this morning. I reduced his insulin only slightly today, from a skinny 1.25u to now a fat 1.0u. I also fed him Wellness Core 8% for his first mini-meal.
I caught both mom and one of her babies in the same trap last night! I could hardly believe it. Of course, it took me more than three hours. The caretaker wanted to sit on the porch, right next to the drop trap, and that just wasn't working. I told her I would go sit in my car. Then, after I had been there for nearly two hours, I told her that I would just set the other trap and then maybe we would catch just mom or one of the other kittens overnight. I set one trap on her porch and covered it with a sheet, then went into her house with the second trap to show her how to to set it. As I was showing her the second trap I heard the door on the trap I had just set on the porch go down. It was mom with one of her babies!
So, that leaves only one more of here kittens out there... I set the second trap and left at midnight. It's a 20 minute drive home. I then had to get a cage ready for this mom and babe when I got home. After taking care of Rocky, I didn't get to bed until about 3:00.
I'll call the caretaker at 10am today to see if she got the last kitten. If so, I need to drive over there ASAP and get it. It is going to be 103°F here today, and the weatherman says above 100° every single day until at least this coming Wednesday. Whew.. this is some heat. I'll be checking to make sure my feral colonies have water at least two times a day. I use some good quality pretty large "Durabowls," but the water still evaporates when it gets this hot outside.
Praying for everyone here who is suffering with sadness and worry over their family and cats, sending you kindness and gentle thoughts.
Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122243
Yesterday's SS:
AMBG 60 +14.5 57 +16.5 65 +19.5 56 +22 78
PMPS 77 +2 81 +5 50 +6.5 51 +7.5 61 +11 66
Well, so far so good. I DID give Rocky his shot last night without reducing his dose, and then I managed it by feeding him higher carbs. I didn't want to skip two shots, back-to-back. Rocky's BG came down only two points from his PMPS +11 of 66 last night to 64 at his AMPS this morning. I reduced his insulin only slightly today, from a skinny 1.25u to now a fat 1.0u. I also fed him Wellness Core 8% for his first mini-meal.
I caught both mom and one of her babies in the same trap last night! I could hardly believe it. Of course, it took me more than three hours. The caretaker wanted to sit on the porch, right next to the drop trap, and that just wasn't working. I told her I would go sit in my car. Then, after I had been there for nearly two hours, I told her that I would just set the other trap and then maybe we would catch just mom or one of the other kittens overnight. I set one trap on her porch and covered it with a sheet, then went into her house with the second trap to show her how to to set it. As I was showing her the second trap I heard the door on the trap I had just set on the porch go down. It was mom with one of her babies!
I'll call the caretaker at 10am today to see if she got the last kitten. If so, I need to drive over there ASAP and get it. It is going to be 103°F here today, and the weatherman says above 100° every single day until at least this coming Wednesday. Whew.. this is some heat. I'll be checking to make sure my feral colonies have water at least two times a day. I use some good quality pretty large "Durabowls," but the water still evaporates when it gets this hot outside.
Praying for everyone here who is suffering with sadness and worry over their family and cats, sending you kindness and gentle thoughts.