7/25 Loudogg AMPS 395 +6 329 PMPS 321 - Frustration abounds

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
July 23, 2018 Condo - Belated Gotcha Anniversary and Pics

Morning all,
So yesterday morning, I was so frustrated with Lou's pink AMPS that I decided not to post a condo. I figured I would take my momma's advice of "if you can't say anything nice, than don't say anything at all." So after the brief toe dip into the lagoon yesterday at PMPS, I thought I'd at least have something nice to write about today. When I saw the almost 400 pink AMPS this morning, I almost screamed in frustration. :banghead: With the house purchasing process, I can't keep my patience pants on for any length of time. I apparently can only be patient for one thing at a time, and usually it's not Lou's FD dance.

I just don't understand how one day it seems he really is turning a corner, either by only bouncing into the yellows instead of pinks, bounces breaking in less than a cycle, or having a full day at the lagoon. And then he reverts right back to his previous bad behavior: bouncing like he went hypo over blues or a high green, jumping to pinks instead of yellows, or going stretches without seeing a green or only one in a day (not even a cycle). It's one step forward and three (or more) steps back. I'm truly at my wit's end.

I'm not really seeing much indication that the 3.25u is the best dose for him. He goes into the greens here and there, sure, but he generally doesn't linger. When we spent the whole day at the lagoon, I thought we were on to something, but he actually stayed in the high greens the whole cycle. I can't help but feel like the 3.5u dose was better for him. The only downside there was that 38, which I wonder if it was from the IAA instead of the dose. *Sigh* I have been thinking of switching him to Levemir once I'm done with this box of Basaglar. He's doing much better overall on a depot insulin, but not nearly as well as I was hoping. Starting to feel like even regulation is a pipe dream at this point. :arghh:

Anywhoo, enough of my pity party. I guess it's just as well that he's high this morning because Caleb and I have a busy day today. Our house inspection is this morning at 1000 and we meet again with our loan officer this afternoon. Caleb has to work and I have a work meeting tonight. No rest for the wicked I suppose, haha. Here's hoping nothing major comes up on the inspection! I hope you all have a wonderful day!
 
I'm truly at my wit's end.
I use to throw fits regularly and threaten to toss my meter in the garbage :p:p So be assured your frustration is normal and shared by most beans. L&L is to help manage our kitties diabetes but also to help keep the beans somewhat sane so vent away! Most cats are not regulated if you take a look at others SS's and you have IAA in the mix. He's only been on Lantus for 2 months and we usually say to stick with it for 6-12 months before switching but it's really up to you.

When looking at the dose and his numbers ask "where do I want his nadirs" to be. Is there room for an increase by evaluating how low has he gone in the last 5-10 cycles. With TR anything before that is almost irrelevant. He's seeing a decent amount of green on this dose but there might be room for the increase back to 3.5u since you monitor him enough. Keep in mind, sometimes you may need to feed a little higher/low carb food to help him surf to avoid him earning reductions. We call it
Feeding the Curve . With the added stress of a home purchase if he's seeing green and staying safe that might be something to consider. Also remember Loudogg is more then his numbers :)
 
Hey Amanda, I think I just wrote the other day, misery loves company! So here we are 'your company'... This dance we're doing does get old...I feel so worn out sometimes, I just wonder what I'm doing wrong and why I keep doing it?:banghead: Then I remember those haunting words - when she was first diagnosed - and the vet said, 'If it was my cat, I'd put her down' - so that's your option.:mad: Hate to be so blunt, but without your help and your loving care - Loudogg is going to become very sick...and well...you can do what that vet said, or you can dig in your heels and just say, NO, there is another way!

I swear lots of times I think about that other option - and then I think - that's not a very nice thing for someone who's been a family member here for nearly 10 years - she's given us a lot - now it's time for us to give to her...and if she never goes into remission - well, then that's the way it is...but I'm just not worn out enough or ready yet to return to my 'normal' life and let her go...can't do it, won't do it.

Lou is depending on you for his very life...and yes, although he's not in remission and, what the heck, may never go into remission - you're buying him a quality of life that so many sugar cats don't get.

I'm sure he loves you for it...look into those eyes - of that great big ole relaxed cat you've got there...and just ask him...Lou - what do you think? Maybe he'll give you a sign?:D

Or you can just put those patience pants back on...and get him something to eat...another BG test...and oh, while you're in the kitchen (or where ever)...check on those supplies, scoop that LB...and forget any normal life like you used to have.:rolleyes:.

Vent whenever you need to...you're actually doing great - give him some time...and hang in there.:cat: I know you're overwhelmed right now with the new house...but the house is coming...and then moving day...and packing...and OMG all the rest of it...but Lou is going to be there, right by your side..looking to his mama bean for love, care, protection....and general servitude...:kiss::kiss:

Luci is waiting now on the footstool for her next meal..next shot...and to teach me a few more dance steps... we wouldn't have it any other way, now would we? Sending hugs and vines to you:bighug::bighug: - hope you'll have a better day tomorrow - come on Lou...show your mama some surfin'...besides we've got @Jill & Jade OTJ party tomorrow - come celebrate with the kitties...Luci wants a dance or three...she's excited...might never have one of those parties herself...what do they say, never a bride, always a bridesmaid??? :joyful::joyful:
 
DD7C2155-FD58-404E-A18F-65DFEB4C7530.gif
Hey Amanda, I think I just wrote the other day, misery loves company! So here we are 'your company'... This dance we're doing does get old...I feel so worn out sometimes, I just wonder what I'm doing wrong and why I keep doing it?:banghead: Then I remember those haunting words - when she was first diagnosed - and the vet said, 'If it was my cat, I'd put her down' - so that's your option.:mad: Hate to be so blunt, but without your help and your loving care - Loudogg is going to become very sick...and well...you can do what that vet said, or you can dig in your heels and just say, NO, there is another way!

I swear lots of times I think about that other option - and then I think - that's not a very nice thing for someone who's been a family member here for nearly 10 years - she's given us a lot - now it's time for us to give to her...and if she never goes into remission - well, then that's the way it is...but I'm just not worn out enough or ready yet to return to my 'normal' life and let her go...can't do it, won't do it.

Lou is depending on you for his very life...and yes, although he's not in remission and, what the heck, may never go into remission - you're buying him a quality of life that so many sugar cats don't get.

I'm sure he loves you for it...look into those eyes - of that great big ole relaxed cat you've got there...and just ask him...Lou - what do you think? Maybe he'll give you a sign?:D

Or you can just put those patience pants back on...and get him something to eat...another BG test...and oh, while you're in the kitchen (or where ever)...check on those supplies, scoop that LB...and forget any normal life like you used to have.:rolleyes:.

Vent whenever you need to...you're actually doing great - give him some time...and hang in there.:cat: I know you're overwhelmed right now with the new house...but the house is coming...and then moving day...and packing...and OMG all the rest of it...but Lou is going to be there, right by your side..looking to his mama bean for love, care, protection....and general servitude...:kiss::kiss:

Luci is waiting now on the footstool for her next meal..next shot...and to teach me a few more dance steps... we wouldn't have it any other way, now would we? Sending hugs and vines to you:bighug::bighug: - hope you'll have a better day tomorrow - come on Lou...show your mama some surfin'...besides we've got @Jill & Jade OTJ party tomorrow - come celebrate with the kitties...Luci wants a dance or three...she's excited...might never have one of those parties herself...what do they say, never a bride, always a bridesmaid??? :joyful::joyful:
There go my eyes sweating again!!!! Honestly.
 
OK. Deep breath....

The reason for your frustration is 3 letters: I A A. You're forgetting that the antibodies "catch up" with your dose and push the numbers back up since for lack of a better description, the antibodies are neutralizing the insulin. This doesn't happen just one time. You may get to a point where you figure the antibodies have broken, and surprise, Lou's numbers are in a place where you don't want them to be. Please remember, though, that IAA is a time limited condition. You just need to keep plugging away at getting ahead of the antibodies.

And the other reason may be that Lou is picking up on your stress about the house and about him. Kitty's are funny that way!

I'm tagging @Sandy and Black Kitty -- Sandy is a pro with IAA. Black Kitty's story is inspirational.
 
Thanks everyone! I really do appreciate having a place to vent to people who understand. I feel like I usually do okay, but I am so sick and tired of pinks. I feel like these pinks have ruled our lives for most of the last year, and sometimes that frustration just boils over. I have long accepted the fact that he is not likely to go into remission. I'm okay with that. I feel like I would give almost anything to have him regulated. And by regulated, I would be happy with him staying mostly under renal threshold. But gosh, could you imagine a spreadsheet with all greens or greens and blues?? :oops: I just obviously want him to be healthy and happy, and those continuing pinks make me feel like I'm failing. Logically I know I'm not, but sometimes lack of progress makes it easy for doubt to take hold. ... IAA really is no joke is it?! :blackeye:

On a positive note, our inspection went fantastically well! Our inspector was very thorough and the only major issue was the heater hadn't had maintenance for 10 years. Now that the inspection is over with, we can get started with organizing, throwing stuff out, and packing. I do hate moving though, ugh! :p I am so excited for the new space. It's going to be so much better for the whole family, including the furkids. We just have to make it all work the next couple of months!
 
Pinks are indeed frustrating! :mad: But you are doing all you can. Cat is in charge. :cat: Days like today are days to do something for you. Been there, hit my head against the wall - that's why this icon is there to use. :banghead:
 
I am so sick and tired of pinks. I feel like these pinks have ruled our lives for most of the last year, and sometimes that frustration just boils over. I have long accepted the fact that he is not likely to go into remission. I'm okay with that. I feel like I would give almost anything to have him regulated. And by regulated, I would be happy with him staying mostly under renal threshold. But gosh, could you imagine a spreadsheet with all greens or greens and blues?? :oops: I just obviously want him to be healthy and happy, and those continuing pinks make me feel like I'm failing. Logically I know I'm not, but sometimes lack of progress makes it easy for doubt to take hold.
I am in the same boat but dealing with lots of reds. Ugh! :banghead:

What is IAA??
 
What is IAA??
IAA stands for insulin autoantibodies. It's a high-dose condition where the kitty's antibodies attack the injected insulin, making the dose not as effective because not all the insulin is available to work. You have to try to overrun the antibodies, so the dose usually goes higher and higher. As time goes by, the antibodies begin to overwhelm the insulin again and the cycle starts over. The kitty is considered insulin-resistant, but thankfully it's a self-limiting condition.
 
IAA stands for insulin autoantibodies. It's a high-dose condition where the kitty's antibodies attack the injected insulin, making the dose not as effective because not all the insulin is available to work. You have to try to overrun the antibodies, so the dose usually goes higher and higher. As time goes by, the antibodies begin to overwhelm the insulin again and the cycle starts over. The kitty is considered insulin-resistant, but thankfully it's a self-limiting condition.
Thanks for the info. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top