7/25 Herman amps 232, 99 +2.5, 66 +3, 66+4, 74@+5, 370 +9

Hi Amy, if you can monitor you can shoot any number over 90 with SLGS. Sometimes stalling without food can cause numbers to drop - as you saw today - and make the shooting decision even more difficult. 230 was a safe number to shoot so I am not sure why you stalled? Herman is not newly diagnosed and you have enough data on how he responds to insulin. Also, a preshot is not a great indicator of how the cycle will turn out. You shot 434 the other night and he dropped to 59. Lantus is, in fact, very good at giving flat cycles when shooting low.
 
Hi Amy, if you can monitor you can shoot any number over 90 with SLGS. Sometimes stalling without food can cause numbers to drop - as you saw today - and make the shooting decision even more difficult. 230 was a safe number to shoot so I am not sure why you stalled? Herman is not newly diagnosed and you have enough data on how he responds to insulin. Also, a preshot is not a great indicator of how the cycle will turn out. You shot 434 the other night and he dropped to 59. Lantus is, in fact, very good at giving flat cycles when shooting low.
I guess I stalled because the number was trending down from previous few tests and I thought we are aiming for a number that’s rising. Or maybe that was just when we were on Caninsulin? I know I’m overly cautious I’m working on being more confident but he’s had a few steep scary drops that have me on edge plus I don’t see a pattern. There is all this talk of learning the onset nadir and duration for your cat and I can’t make heads or tails of those details for Herman. So I don’t feel like I “know thy cat” despite my efforts to gather tons of tests to become “data ready” as recommended on the site. I am assuming these days of steady increases are “bounces”? Which is a term I just throw out because I see it so often. He steadily rose all day yesterday …for 24 hours, then just started to lower his BG when I’d expect insulin to be waning, not kicking in. That had me worried. Plus the one day I did shoot “Low for us” we had steep greens which just makes me think….what if I wasn’t there that particular hour to test him? Anyway. I’ll get there, I hope. This has been a real roller coaster.
 
Hi Amy, if you can monitor you can shoot any number over 90 with SLGS. Sometimes stalling without food can cause numbers to drop - as you saw today - and make the shooting decision even more difficult. 230 was a safe number to shoot so I am not sure why you stalled? Herman is not newly diagnosed and you have enough data on how he responds to insulin. Also, a preshot is not a great indicator of how the cycle will turn out. You shot 434 the other night and he dropped to 59. Lantus is, in fact, very good at giving flat cycles when shooting low.
….and further to my previous comments…THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR HELP. I’ve been telling my friends and family about the wonderful support on this group and especially you, Bhooma, on my middle of the night panics. Your patience and commitment is amazing.
 
Dropping fast if someone could advise if I should try 13-15% higher carb to slow him down as we only at +2.5
 
Ok I just searched house and found vomit with hair ball. From stickiness level it must have been between amps and +1 when I let him out. He just had some 5% and I gave him some 12% cats in kitchen weruva pouch with gravy pumpkin licking chicken. Only licked up small amount.
 
Last edited:
He is in safe numbers for now. 50-100 is the normal range for blood sugar. It's only below 50 that the numbers are low.

The vomit is from pmps and +1 or amps and +1?
 
Food takes 20 mins to affect the numbers. Has it been 20 mins since he had the MC? If yes, feed a little more and test at +3.
Yes, had been 20 min. Just gave 15% ff gravy now about a teaspoon, he wasn’t crazy about the weruva pouch. Will test again in 20 min. He is definitely feeling the green, found him under couch. I know he’s just not used to it.
 
He is definitely feeling the green, found him under couch. I know he’s just not used to it.
His body is used to high numbers so normal numbers feel strange. Like caffeine withdrawal. Once he gets used to normal numbers he will love them.

I have to go for a class in 10 mins so I will not be around. If he stops dropping at +3.5, go easy on the MC and HC. We want him to spend in the 50-100 range which is a healing range for the pancreas. I would not feed any more MC or HC unless he drops below 50.
 
Last edited:
His body is used to high numbers so normal numbers feel strange. Like caffeine withdrawal. Once he gets used to normal numbers he will love them.

I have to go for a class in 10 mins so I will not be around. If he stops dropping at +3, go easy on the MC and HC. We want him to spend in the 50-100 range which is a healing range for the pancreas. I would not feed any more MC or HC unless he drops below 50.
Ok thanks again for your help.
 
Planning to test @+4.25, I’m worried I won’t be able to get him to eat more since been getting so many snacks, he’s also definitely feeling weird as to be expected, he keeps hiding…hoping I keep managing to find him! It’s our longest stretch of green. :nailbiting: ….so hard not to reach for syrup and temptations as I’ve done in past….
 
Herman frequently hits his lowest bg later in the cycle …as I’ve mentioned I still have trouble seeing any sort of a repeatable pattern but I do think he more commonly drops later in cycle than early, as such shall I be prepared to continue close monitoring over next few hours or is this likely going to be the nadir and we rise from here? I’m letting staff know if I will be available for online meetings in a couple hours or if I should postpone because we likely haven’t seen his lowest yet. I can work late tonight that’s not a problem to make up the work and reschedule meetings but I don’t wanna cancel meetings if this is something members I’ve seen before and it seems unlikely that he will go much lower.
 
So you have to leave after +7?

Nadirs are later in bounce breaking cycles. What you are seeing in his case is him bouncing from greens, then clearing a bounce (that cycle has a late nadir) and then bouncing again. Patterns are a little hard to discern in unregulated cats. It doesn't help that he is speeding down the dosing ladder.
 
No I don’t have to leave I was just going to do some online meetings that I can’t skip away from once I’m into them …….but you know what I just did a test which would be a +5.5 and he is at 68 (3.8) so I think I will just work from laptop with no meetings and keep close eye on him…….Just gave more 15%ff gravy. Not having a huge impact from what I can tell, what is my next step if he doesn’t bump up a bit by +6? Or are we ok in this range and just keep with the 15%?
 
+6 115 (6.4) I assume at this point I do not offer more gravy…or any food for that matter since he’s been eating every half hour at more for last couple hours. Snack and test at +7? Or should I snack him sooner?
 
Yes, newly diagnosed and bouncy cats can bounce a couple of 100 points in as many hours.
Also feeding carbs after the nadir can reduce duration and contribute to bouncing.
 
Back
Top