7/25 Bob PMBG=41, +13=78, +14.5=168

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Good morning - I feel a million times better today, although I'm sad to see these numbers. Guess it was to be expected. Bob is in a very good mood this morning and all the food was gone. I wonder if that's related to the high numbers? He's really playful and silly. I apologized to him for being so aggravated at him last night. He forgave me. :smile:

Anyway, meant to get a few numbers in the middle of the night, but I did not. I didn't wake up one time and I usually don't sleep solidly like that.

Could I get some assistance on his dose this morning please?

Thanks again to everyone who helped the last few days and stopped by with encouragement! Everyone is so nice and helpful!
 
Re: 7/25 Bob +9.5=332, +11=358, AMPS=?, Dose help please??

I haven't read the rest of your condo from last night, yet. I will in a minute.

I think you can shoot the 3.25 (unless it was recommended that you lower the dose last night) now, if you shot schedule will allow you to shoot at 6:30/6:30.

I'll go finish reading your condo now.
 
Re: 7/25 Bob +9.5=332, +11=358, AMPS=?, Dose help please??

I think it's safe to give the 3.25. That's a whole unit less than 4 days ago. I would shoot now, if you schedule allows the adjustment. Hoping he's eating better, today.
 
Re: 7/25 Bob +9.5=332, +11=358, AMPS=?, Dose help please??

Hi Dyana - He was on the 3.5 so did he earn another reduction yesterday? Man, that was miserable. I couldn't believe how long he stayed so low. He hasn't been bouncing too bad lately, but he also hasn't stayed under 50 for 8 hours straight! Do you think the pinks are a bounce or a result of skipping a shot? He ate all his food last night. :RAHCAT He is anxiously awaiting food, but that doesn't always mean he will eat it! ohmygod_smile Thanks for the response- he gets his shot at 7:00am. I'm getting ready to test him again and feed him!
 
Re: 7/25 Bob +2.5=332, +11=358, AMPS=?, Dose help please??

I see 3.25 in your yesterday's units column. Is that a typo?

I'm glad he ate well last night and is hungry.
 
Re: 7/25 Bob +2.5=332, +11=358, AMPS=?, Dose help please??

I think Bob read your PM's and is afraid of Nikki! :lol: Glad you got a decent night's sleep. And don't feel too bad about the numbers. They'll come back down! Plus, it took months for diabetes to happen, one night in higher numbers won't undo all the great numbers he's had lately!
 
Re: 7/25 Bob +2.5=332, +11=358, AMPS=?, Dose help please??

oh yeah - that's correct. Marje said I could reduce by .5 that day. Ok - I just gave him his shot and he's still eating. So, I take it the depot is empty and it will take some time to fill it back up at this dose? Does that mean I have to give this dose for a while (as long as his numbers don't get too low)?
 
Re: 7/25 Bob +11=358, AMPS=383

If the reduction does not hold, you may have to take him up sooner than 3 days.
 
Re: 7/25 Bob +11=358, AMPS=383

Hi Alexis - I think he's afraid of Nikki too! He ate his fuds and let his mom sleep! woo hoo! Now I don't feel like I'm going to die today. It's a good feeling! :-D

Hope you and Nikki have a great day! dancing_cat
 
Re: 7/25 Bob +11=358, AMPS=383

I'm glad you are feeling better. We all get frazzled w/ the sugardance sometimes. The shed will have drained but not completely, so it won't take as long to rebuild as it did at first.
 
Re: 7/25 Bob +11=358, AMPS=383

Thanks Ann - do you think his high numbers are a bounce or because of the skipped shot? Or I guess we may not know.
 
Re: 7/25 Bob +11=358, AMPS=383, +5=231

Hey Bob-
Talk about giving your mamabean the go-around. Take it a bit easier on her, OK? How cool though that Bob is kitty-crack free. I know its hard as he is being all picky and what not, but those numbers are letting you konw just how 'bad' that dry food is.

I sure hope you got some sleep Dara. Deep breaths. You are doing fine. :-D

Karen
 
Re: 7/25 Bob PMPS=41 REALLY??????

I have no words. I felt very safe at work because he was so high this am. I can't believe he was this low - I checked twice. I'm traumatized. I even came home at lunch to make sure he was ok. I'm skipping his shot tonight. I can't give him 3 units when his number is 41. I just don't know what to do. He ate a good amount of food this morning and he was very hungry when I came home. Gave him some peking ducken and some maple syrup. He is 50 now 20 minutes later.

Also, one of the partners talked to me today. Since Bob has been diagnosed I have missed a lot of work. I take long lunches, come in late, leave early, blah blah blah. They try to be understanding, but you know how non-animal lovers react to "but my cat has diabetes...". ohmygod_smile I absolutely need to start working regularly again.

So, I need a new plan. Has this happened before with any other kitties? I'm assuming the high number this morning was a bounce? normally after +4 or +5, he starts coming back up. Today he went back down!!! Does that mean his pancreas is working a little?

Sorry to be so dramatic. I could be having worse problems like so many others on the board. Truly, I'm happy with him being in the green, just not while I'm away from home.

Somebody please help me.... :cry:
 
Re: 7/25 Bob PMPS=41 Houston, we have a problem...???

First, no one will tell you to shoot the 40s. Marje and I shoot low and we don't shoot the 40s. I'd give Bob a bit of dinner and then re-test in 30 min. to see what he thinks he's doing other than driving you crazy.

I'd like to see where he's at and when numbers start to rise. I'd prefer that you don't skip (even though it may be necessary) so Bob doesn't have those big swings in numbers. It's going to be important to find a dose that works for both you and Bob.
 
Re: 7/25 Bob PMPS=41 Houston, we have a problem...???

Thanks Sienne - what do you think would happen if I skipped again (would it clear the depot totally?) and then started at 1 again? I can raise him every 3 days. He handled those larger numbers pretty well. He never developed ketones, etc. I know you guys tend to stick to a more aggressive approach, but his numbers are starting to freak me out. I have to run out now but I'm going to test him first and leave some grandma's chicken soup for him (21%). Please let me know what you think.
 
Re: 7/25 Bob PMPS=41, +1=78

(((Dara)))

Wow, that was some drop Bob did for you! I have no dosing answers, but others will have great ideas to keep Bob safe. Is he completely off of dry now? I am sending find the "just right" dose for Bob vines!!

Jane
 
Re: 7/25 Bob PMPS=41, +1=78

Dara - :YMHUG: :YMHUG: You so did NOT need to come home to that! Did you give insulin tonight? If not, your PMPS should be PMBG or +12.

I don't know if your schedule would support non skipping tonight as Sienne mentioned. One thing to think about, and that was in Timber's SS that I showed you the other day - she shot at night and when she needed to, skipped in the morning. That way she could go to work, knowing that Timber was safe for the day without insulin, and was home for the lows at night. Otherwise you are skipping at night and worrying at work during the day.
 
Re: 7/25 Bob PMPS=41, +1=78

Aww....thanks Jane - I appreciate the support! :-D

Thanks Wendy - giving the shot at night makes sense. Do I still have time to do that because I didn't give it at 7:00 like I normally do? If I don't give the shot tonight, what should I do in the morning?

I'll fix my heading and he's at 168 right now +2.5 or I guess it should be +14.5? I don't even know what those letters mean - haha. I know the PM and AM but I guess I never bothered to see what the PS stood for. I guess S is for shot - what's the P for?
 
Re: 7/25 Bob PMPS=41, +1=78

I'm not a big fan of once a day dosing.

I also think dropping the dose to 1.0u is too big of a decrease. Bob is doing great and looking at what happened with a skipped shot, I think you'll be back at square one if you decrease too much. Let me discuss dose and get back to you.
 
PS is preshot.

You have options: you can either just continue to skip tonight or shoot now but you will be off by +2.5 hours so if he's not at a low number in the morning, you will be forced to skip since you can't be 2.5 hours late to work.

If it were me, I'd just skip at this point so you can get back on track tomorrow. Also, IMHO, I agree with what Sienne said the other day....I would not drop to 1u and start over. I'd try to deal with the dose coming down quickly as best as I could. The goal is to go OTJ so why take a chance on delaying it by starting over.

The trip down the dosing scale can be fast and harrowing. I would try to get a +11 tomorrow and post for help. You don't want to shoot any MORE than 3u that's certain.
 
I could do that - skip tonight and ask for help in the am like I did today. so, I guess he earned a .25 reduction, making his dose 3.0? What a weird time for him to go so low. He usually heads back up around +5, but for the last two days he did not.

I shall try to be brave and continue on this "harrowing" journey. :shock:

From what I read when I first started visiting this site is that the human meters are pretty accurate at lower numbers. Is that true or is it possible Bob is not as low as I think? I would never take that chance of course and always treat it like it's completely accurate - I am just curious.
 
The difference in BG between the human meters and the AT is likely much less than 30 mg/dL at lower numbers.

We're discussing the dose possibilities for tomorrow. One of us will post on the condo tonight so please be sure and check it before you shoot in the morning, ok?

Enjoy two nights of sleep!!!!
 
oh Dara

what to say? what to say?

well......I don't know what to say..........however....you said the funniest thing last night that had me laughing all night and day today.......and I needed that!!!

If he doesn't want to eat out of the 82 bowls of different food I have given him, then he's going to starve to death and I guess I won't have to worry about it anymore. I'm getting a shower and going to bed

priceless truly
:lol:
I feel for ya lady!! I know you are on the edge.....just try, in your delirium, to take a few proud moments and stand tall woman.....you are beating this!! you will succeed .....it is already written all over the walls!!

be good tonight for mom BOBBOY!
or wait.....save your goodness for the AM cycles ...and be good for mom tomorrow bob!


~sorry about your bosses......I can just imagine what their eyes do when you explain the situation......!!

~kelly
 
I feel really bad for Bob - he's already at 242 and I can tell he doesn't feel good. Sigh. I should have waited and given him a shot. :cry: Poor little fella....I guess he doesn't feel good when his BG goes so low and then goes crazy high.

Marje and Gracie said:
The difference in BG between the human meters and the AT is likely much less than 30 mg/dL at lower numbers.

We're discussing the dose possibilities for tomorrow. One of us will post on the condo tonight so please be sure and check it before you shoot in the morning, ok?

Enjoy two nights of sleep!!!!

Thanks Marje! I'll be sure to check!!

Hey Kelly!! Yes, I was totally over Bob at that point. Isn't that stupid? Getting mad at a cat for not eating? Anyway, I just felt like he was doing it on purpose! :lol:

And, yes, I work with accountants (I have an accounting degree, but I'm not an anal nerd who is cheap and horribly conservative!) NO offense to any accountants or Republicans out there! :-D So yes, when I talk about my cat they roll their eyes. Buttheads!
 
Hang in there Dara. Just keep posting the numbers so the experts can help you out. This is such a harrowing experience. Bummer about the 'talk' at work. Good thing the weekend is coming and you ca focus on the 'brat' better. He's on a mission!!!

Get some sleep tonight!
Karen
 
Dara --

Marje and I were chatting. We're thinking that a dose of 2.5u, especially after skipping tonight should be safe to shoot and not totally deplete Bob's depot. Do you think you'll be comfortable with that dose?
 
Just wanted to clarify, I wasn't suggesting once a day dosing. I was hoping that you could have done a shot tonight but it looks like it got too late. If you have to skip (and am hoping with the new dose you won't), it's easier in the morning as far as work is concerned.

Sorry about the bosses. I have a friend who loves his boss. She has a diabetic cat and is so understanding.
 
GregFurBall said:
Hang in there Dara. Just keep posting the numbers so the experts can help you out. This is such a harrowing experience. Bummer about the 'talk' at work. Good thing the weekend is coming and you ca focus on the 'brat' better. He's on a mission!!!

Get some sleep tonight!
Karen

Thanks for the support Karen! Unfortunately, I am going into work on Saturday because I don't want to use a vacation day for yesterday. I had to stay home because Bob was so low all day. I'll be here Sunday though. Everyone is being so sweet! I haven't visited hardly any condos because I'm all consumed right now!!! But I will....

Sienne and Gabby said:
Marje and I were chatting. We're thinking that a dose of 2.5u, especially after skipping tonight should be safe to shoot and not totally deplete Bob's depot. Do you think you'll be comfortable with that dose?

Sounds good to me! Thanks everyone for having a Bob's Dosing Conference. I appreciate it!

Wendy&Neko said:
Just wanted to clarify, I wasn't suggesting once a day dosing. I was hoping that you could have done a shot tonight but it looks like it got too late. If you have to skip (and am hoping with the new dose you won't), it's easier in the morning as far as work is concerned.

Sorry about the bosses. I have a friend who loves his boss. She has a diabetic cat and is so understanding.

I'm jealous - your friend's boss must have pets! My boss has a dog, but he only likes dogs! I love all critters equally! What's wrong with him??
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top