? 7/24, Woody AMPS 194, + +7 198, PMPS 342 dosing advice

Mimik

Member Since 2024
Hello,
Woody has been getting better and better post the three hypo events he had two weeks ago. You all thought he broke through the sugar toxicity. Which I am sure he got out of -- I have been, vacillating between 3.50 - 3.25 and 3 U'S --- Do you think it fair to say he should remain on the 3 U'S for a bit longer or ?

I never thought I would see Woody walk normally again, play, or look as if he's actually enjoying his day -- and now we are -- I am really surprised at how much better his back legs are working. A few mos. back it was two steps and had to sit to rest. Now, he's walking all over the place without the need to rest.
We are waiting for the big JUMP now.
 
Hello,
Woody has been getting better and better post the three hypo events he had two weeks ago. You all thought he broke through the sugar toxicity. Which I am sure he got out of -- I have been, vacillating between 3.50 - 3.25 and 3 U'S --- Do you think it fair to say he should remain on the 3 U'S for a bit longer or ?

I never thought I would see Woody walk normally again, play, or look as if he's actually enjoying his day -- and now we are -- I am really surprised at how much better his back legs are working. A few mos. back it was two steps and had to sit to rest. Now, he's walking all over the place without the need to rest.
We are waiting for the big JUMP now.
What a great report to hear how well Woody is doing!!
Have a safe surf, Woody
Great job, Mimi:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Thanks Staci, yes. Honestly, I never, ever thought we would see a turn-around. Woody, was SO sick since last Dec. So many times I wondered if it was "time" but kept at it ( as did he) he was under 8 pds. about three months ago. He had a vet visit last week ( all his #'s including hyper T) are all totally normal -- and he's now 11 pds. which is what he's weighed all his life. So, yeah. The hard work and dedication, really paid off in huge dollars ---- Woody fell into " very difficult" to regulate cat --- I can see how many people give up ( not that I ever would) but it's a hell of a disease that I would never wish upon anyone.
And, if it were not for this "place" he would have been long dead, that's 4 sure.
 
Last edited:
Great Woody report.:)

He's seen green on this 3.0 dose a couple times. I'd hold this dose at least 10 cycles then evaluate again. He did get 36 on 3.25 units, so no rush to go back there again!
 
Thanks Staci, yes. Honestly, I never, ever thought we would see a turn-around. Woody, was SO sick since last Dec. So many times I wondered if it was "time" but kept at it ( as did he) he was under 8 pds. about three months ago. He had a vet visit last week ( all his #'s including hyper T) are all totally normal -- and he's now 11 pds. which is what he's weighed all his life. So, yeah. The hard work and dedication, really paid off in huge dollars ---- Woody fell into " very difficult" to regulate cat --- I can see how many people give up ( not that I ever would) but it's a hell of a disease that I would never wish upon anyone.
And, if it were not for this "place" he would have been long dead, that's 4 sure.
Well now that I know all that I am even happier to hear how well Woody is doing! You're doing amazing and so is he!
Does he have hyperT? (you may want to put that in your signature, too).
I am now dealing with that with Ivy since diagnosed in March. And we have been dealing with Diabetes since Sept 2022.

I'm so glad Woody is steadily improving :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hahah, yeah Great Woody report, I'll say -- and all thanks to this place. I know I iterate this OFTEN, but honestly, it's meant in all the seriousness of statement - without this village of experts and ladies that genuinely care and go out of their daily to help his life would have ended a long time ago. I had NO idea what I was doing. Wendy, as always MANY thanks. Staci thanks for the nice words. I believe I have Woody's hyper T listed in the Sig. this being said I'll re-check. Yeah. Woody was diagnosed a few years ago with MILD Hyper T and the Methimazole did NOT agree with him. His thyroid levels were OFF the charts -- and started back on this med and was off the charts for mos. and now is fully regulated. I had a cat when we lived in Vancouver with Hyper T -- so I am really knowledgeable about this disease. If you ever need any help Staci just ask. Love from Woody,
 
Hahah, yeah Great Woody report, I'll say -- and all thanks to this place. I know I iterate this OFTEN, but honestly, it's meant in all the seriousness of statement - without this village of experts and ladies that genuinely care and go out of their daily to help his life would have ended a long time ago. I had NO idea what I was doing. Wendy, as always MANY thanks. Staci thanks for the nice words. I believe I have Woody's hyper T listed in the Sig. this being said I'll re-check. Yeah. Woody was diagnosed a few years ago with MILD Hyper T and the Methimazole did NOT agree with him. His thyroid levels were OFF the charts -- and started back on this med and was off the charts for mos. and now is fully regulated. I had a cat when we lived in Vancouver with Hyper T -- so I am really knowledgeable about this disease. If you ever need any help Staci just ask. Love from Woody,
I completely agree with you Mimi about being here in this community and everybody helping each other. It’s such an incredible resource. I knew nothing before I came here either and I’m still learning every single day.
My vets have been barely helpful and I’ve been to see many in the last two years.
I’m so glad you’re getting the help that you need with Woody and he’s doing so well. I really also know nothing about hyper T so I absolutely maybe tapping you for help.
I feel very overwhelmed between the diabetes and the hyperT and of course, the kidney issues as well and anemia. Ivy is very complicated and it’s a very delicate balance keeping her in good shape.
Wishing you and Woody a wonderful day and a very safe cycle :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good Morning Staci, yes. like me. I knew NOTHING about diabetes in cats. Was not even aware it existed in pets - so there you go. Initial diagnosis -- sent home with a box of syringes and medicine instruct, that was it, literally. I am sure, you, like me, if we had the knowledge from the start the first "some" months of this hell ride would have been a lot less of a struggle for Woody and for myself. Days, nights were spent researching, each and every one of the threads on the boards here. Little, by very little I was starting to " get it" and, yes, for sure I am still learning. Woody, also VERY complicated, to say the least. So, I guess Mz. Ivy and Woody have a ton in common - Woody was peeing "everywhere" for mos. I have spent a ton of $$$$$$$$$ area rugs ( and I won't even get into the cost of some of them -- we have one rug that was commissioned by Pete Townsend of the rock group The Who -- he was going through a divorce and it was in auction -- this was the one he LOVED to use as a port O potty -- I am still dealing with a part of it -- it's MASSIVE - I was going mental with rug anxiety, lemme tell you. This is under control "now" with his sugars being regulated ( starting to) been a real battle royale -- Woody, again thanks U for your nice words.
 
Good Morning Staci, yes. like me. I knew NOTHING about diabetes in cats. Was not even aware it existed in pets - so there you go. Initial diagnosis -- sent home with a box of syringes and medicine instruct, that was it, literally. I am sure, you, like me, if we had the knowledge from the start the first "some" months of this hell ride would have been a lot less of a struggle for Woody and for myself. Days, nights were spent researching, each and every one of the threads on the boards here. Little, by very little I was starting to " get it" and, yes, for sure I am still learning. Woody, also VERY complicated, to say the least. So, I guess Mz. Ivy and Woody have a ton in common - Woody was peeing "everywhere" for mos. I have spent a ton of $$$$$$$$$ area rugs ( and I won't even get into the cost of some of them -- we have one rug that was commissioned by Pete Townsend of the rock group The Who -- he was going through a divorce and it was in auction -- this was the one he LOVED to use as a port O potty -- I am still dealing with a part of it -- it's MASSIVE - I was going mental with rug anxiety, lemme tell you. This is under control "now" with his sugars being regulated ( starting to) been a real battle royale -- Woody, again thanks U for your nice words.
Omg, Mimi. Your saga sounds very similar to mine with the researching and reading and hours days and nights pouring over reading documents, and trying to make heads or tails of what’s going on with diabetes.

I’ve never known anyone who dealt with this and the primary vet who I was using at the time when she was diagnosed (by the internal medicine doctor) called me on the phone and told me to get a prescription immediately for Lantus. Didn’t tell me where to go, what to do… and I ended up paying $300 for that first vial on the spot because I had no idea which end was up.
She told me to look up videos of how to inject the insulin and I didn’t need to test Ivy. (It was not necessary:arghh:)
Now, of course, I know most of what she told me was terrible advice and then one month later she told me she was leaving for Florida for the winter and I should find somebody to work with while she was gone for the winter. It was really a bad time. I felt helpless.

I’m so sorry to hear about your extremely fabulous rug and the anxiety that came along with it being used as a port-a potty. That’s a true nightmare. I really feel for you. That sounds really awful.

Hopefully that chapter is behind you as Woody continues to improve. Hoping that we will continue to see things get better as we progress in this shared journey.
As always, wishing you only the best:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci, well you got more direct than I did. I was not even directed to "youtube" how to's --- I spent the first four mos. crying at totally inappropriate moments because I did not know what the H I was doing. Even, though it seemed as if I did. I've had many invalid cats and Macaws so I thought this would be easy, yeah right. I even had a cat that came to my doorstep that was so messed up you have NO idea. This cat could not pee/poop on his own and that's just the start of our 14 years with the little guy, named Monkey -- I prob. spent 25K easily most every year of his care/ Vet bills, etc... and etc..... I was super lucky. I live in Vancouver and my vet would let me sit in on everything in the back room. All my cats operations, everything. He used to say " what do YOU think we should do" ---diabetes I am the one asking questions here. It's been so complicated. But, I listen research and follow everything within this community. That's the only reason the kid is still alive. And, Staci, yes, anything you need a hand with the Hyper T "thing" just holler or throw something at me and I'll help you out.
 
Last edited:
Hi Staci, well you got more direct than I did. I was not even directed to "youtube" how to's --- I spent the first four mos. crying at totally inappropriate moments because I did not know what the H I was doing. Even, though it seemed as if I did. I've had many invalid cats and Macaws so I thought this would be easy, yeah right. I even had a cat that came to my doorstep that was so messed up you have NO idea. This cat could not pee/poop on his own and that's just the start of our 14 years with the little guy, named Monkey -- I prob. spent 25K easily most every year of his care/ Vet bills, etc... and etc..... I was super lucky. I live in Vancouver and my vet would let me sit in on everything in the back room. All my cats operations, everything. He used to say " what do YOU think we should do" ---diabetes I am the one asking questions here. It's been so complicated. But, I listen research and follow everything within this community. That's the only reason the kid is still alive. And, Staci, yes, anything you need a hand with the Hyper T "thing" just holler or throw something at me and I'll help you out.
You’re amazing and I am in awe at your experience and commitment to your lovable animals.
And thank you for the offer. I really appreciate it more than you know :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ha, well, thanks for the nice words again. I have rescued many "toss out" cases in my life span. Worst of the worst. So, for me I never believe in the " give up" or can't make it work theories -- Woody is the only pet ( in the last 15 years ) that is not a rescue or someone tossed out --- kind of funny,
 
Last edited:
Back
Top