7/24 - Tip - AMPS(474);

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
7/32 condo

AMPS - 474
+7 - 371
PMPS - 384
+2 - 348
+4 - 355
+6 - 381

I think I'm starting to kind of get the hang of using the pens. :) Other than that, all seems well, the shed still seems to not be filled yet. But I did not get to do a small curve today as I fell back asleep and forgot to change it to wake me up in 3 hours. No questions yet today.

I did make the complete switch to special kitty though. I made that switch this morning, so I'm going to update her profile showing that.
 
Hi guys .. gosh, I can't remember if we've been in tips condo or not, so welcome from us anyways! :lol: Mocha is on special kitty as well, her favorite is the turkey and giblets .. hope you guys have a great day!
 
Thanks for the welcome. :) I don't think I've found Tips favorite yet, but she gets so bored of flavors so quickly, I'm not sure she'll ever have one. You have a great day too! :)
 
Cindy:

What would you think about raising Tip's dose tomorrow? I'd think about increasing to 1.5u. HOWEVER, you do need to get PM cycle tests if you are going to increase. Many cats have lower numbers at night and if you don't get any tests during the evening cycle, you're missing half of your data.
 
I can try to get some more pm tests. That might be a bit difficult when school starts back up, but for now I can. I was actually planning on doing a full curve tonight.
 
PMPS was a toss-up between 340, 414, and 384. I have a feeling 340 was caused from not enough blood, 384 seems the most likely number, though 414 is probably the same way.

About how big of a difference should I see between nadir and the preshot tests? Just so that I know when the shed has been filled.
 
Cindy:

Here is what a typical lantus curve looks like:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Insofar as how big of a difference between nadir and PS tests....it varies by cat, by cycle. If the cat is a diver (drops quickly early on), it could be a big difference. If the cat glides down, it could be lower but not drastically so. That's why, after the first week or so when you are filling the depot, we like caregivers with cats on lantus to get a +2 as much as possible. If the +2 is much higher than the PS, it will probably be an uneventful cycle. If the +2 is similar to the PS, you can expect an active lantus cycle as shown above. If the +2 is much less than the PS, you should be prepared for a possible early drop and a very active cycle.

Obviously, one way to tell if the depot is full is if numbers come down. But if kitty is not yet at a high enough dose, it's going to just look like high numbers. That's why we do the incremental increases per the protocol. I also agree that you should take her dose up to 1.5u with nighttime tests.....even a midcycle test would be helpful each evening.

On the blood in her urine, here is some info from Dr. Lisa's website:
Important: The presence of blood in the urine does *not* necessarily mean that an infection is present.
Cystitis can be a very painful condition! The patient will often start to associate the litter box with his/her pain. This can lead to litter box aversion which causes the patient to urinate elsewhere. In these cases, there may be fewer urine balls in the litter box than usual.

We also know that 99% of cystitis cases in otherwise-healthy patients are *not* due to a bladder infection - contrary to popular belief. The erroneous belief that cystitis is always secondary to an infection leads to the rampant abuse of antibiotics. It is very troubling to witness the very common practice of 'shotgun' treating these patients with antibiotics when most of these cases are 'sterile' (sterile = no infection) cystitis. It is also very frustrating to see these poor cats leaving the veterinary clinic with no pain medication!

To repeat a very important point: Bladder infections are not a common cause of cystitis. Sadly, the rampant abuse of antibiotics when addressing feline urinary tract issues in cats shows that this fact is being ignored. The most important 'treatments' are increasing water consumption and lowering stress.

There is a joke in veterinary medicine that states: "Sterile cystitis patients get better in 1 week with antibiotics and in 7 days without antibiotics."
The good news is that cystitis often resolves within a few days to a week. The bad news is that it tends to recur - especially in patients that are fed dry food and/or continue to live in a stressful environment.

Here is the link to her entire discussion on bladder infections and I hope you will read it....it is extremely informative: Urinary Tract Health

I've been in your shoes with a cat (Gracie) with what vets kept treating as a bladder infection when it was bladder inflammation from stress. They always wanted to throw ABs at it without doing a culture and sensitivity to determine if there was any infection there. That's why it's important to find out what tests your vet ran, did they find bacteria, and what ABs were shown to not be effective. Gracie always had blood in her urine when she had a cystitis event but she never had bacteria.
 
Hm, I see. I didn't know that the +2 told so much about the cycle! I'll try to get more of these then. :)

A number I'm curious about is the 348 that Tip tossed me at +2, what's that mean? that the shed is filled? Or is it just coincidence? Should I get more data before going up to 1.5U? Or go up to 1.5U then more data? How that's worded is confusing me a little.

Huh! I didn't think of it that way! If it is cystitis, is there anything I can do for it? I think part of it would be stress. There's been a big family situation going on for a month that's taking forever to resolve, and a lot of the time someone is yelling about something. I don't like the situation, but I'm not sure what to do with that. :YMSIGH: As her caretaker I've been trying to keep her in a quiet room and making sure she's comfortable and to help all the animals stress levels, actually. I will definitely read the article as soon as I've finished practicing violin.
 
You have to remember about meter variance. A number on a given meter can vary up to 20%. So 384 and 348 easily fall within that range. I'd say she's flat...not down and not down more.

So her +2 is similar to her PS; it's possible you may see her come down some tonight but I think she's so high that she really needs an increase. You dropped her dose pretty substantially from Humulin N to Lantus.

You can also try Rescue Remedy for pets. It has no alcohol. It might work to help stress.

And....I'm not trying to convince you that she doesn't really have a urinary tract infection that needs ABs. I just want you to have the facts to bring to your vet's attention so you can make sure that (1) she does have bacteria verified by a C&S and (2) they are treating it with the correct AB.
 
Alright, I forgot about that.

I'm mostly hesitant to increase the dose because of their yearly appointment coming up on the 30th and the vet will expect her dose to be at 1U still. And after that I'll feel a bit more free to change the dose. I know it's important to get her numbers in the right range. So I'm feeling pretty conflicted.

Right, but either way, the stress can't be good for her, which I imagine it is, so it's best to eliminate that anyways. I'll still discuss it with my vet.
 
Alright, I've almost finished reading the article, and yes, my vet had done a test on the urine for bacteria. Once or twice the urine was taken from the table, so those times might've been iffy. But the most recent test done was by a needle(I actually had to check with my boyfriend, I still get kinda' woozy with needles around the pets). But yes, I am still going to look in to ways of maybe de-stressing the whole family, pets and all.

But another question, it mentions cystitis-caused infections. Would adding more water to her diet still help with warding off infections, or does it not work that way?
 
Unregulated diabetic cats can be prone to actual bacterial infections due to the sugar in their blood. Giving her more water doe sincrease bladder health but it won't prevent bacterial infections. Still..more water is better.
 
Alright. I can just add more water anyways. Tip doesn't mind a soupier food. I'm still figuring out how much I should give them a day, but right now I'm using the strategy of if they've lost a little weight at the end of the week(an ounce to half an ounce) then I add more food. If not, the food amount stays the same.

EDIT: I also think that I'm only going to leave it at half curve tonight, and tomorrow night/morning, I'll just go to sleep early and get up at midnight and do another half-curve. I'm too tired to get back up every 2 hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top