carolyn & jesse (GA) & spock
Member Since 2009
Hi all - checking in with a Spock update. He was vomiting every meal so I took him to the vet on 7/14. This is a new vet (since moving to Salem) and she's seen Spock one other time - when he had a bad itchy ear. His AMPS on the 14th was 88 (.25u). The vet said it was too low (I'm pretty sure she knew I was using a human glucometer). She said the 48 he got on the 9th was dangerously low. :?
She couldn't find anything apparent regarding the vomiting and suggested blood work. She said there was no blood work in his file but I know he had blood work before his major dental in Oct. (I'm going to have to ask my old vet for that) I let her talk me into adding a Fructosamine test (in my mind just to prove her wrong). Here's the results: July blood work. According to this lab's interpretation Spock has been in prolonged hypoglycemia (although in the bar chart range it was okay). She said "a fructosamine of 210 is very low. Why don't you do a glucose curve for at least 12 hours and see what is really happening with the blood sugar throughout the day. There may be lower readings than the spot checks you are doing. My final thought is that the hyperthyroidism may be causing the low fructosamine so we can treat that and see how things are after that." I did remind her that I'm using a human glucometer and sent her the protocol.
I did a curve on the 18th. I stopped his insulin on 7/23 (four cycles so far) and his numbers are up a bit. I wanted to see if maybe even the .1u was too much (that's the way it was with Jesse before he went OTJ).
Also, his appetite is not as good as it was (maybe it was "good" only because he wasn't controlled). And he is also still living alone in his bedroom because he wants to be an only cat. But with the Feliway plug-in he's stopped being mean to me. :smile:
So, I guess I'd just like some experienced eyes on his spreadsheet and blood work to see if anyone can offer an opinion on where I should go from here.
Thanks!
She couldn't find anything apparent regarding the vomiting and suggested blood work. She said there was no blood work in his file but I know he had blood work before his major dental in Oct. (I'm going to have to ask my old vet for that) I let her talk me into adding a Fructosamine test (in my mind just to prove her wrong). Here's the results: July blood work. According to this lab's interpretation Spock has been in prolonged hypoglycemia (although in the bar chart range it was okay). She said "a fructosamine of 210 is very low. Why don't you do a glucose curve for at least 12 hours and see what is really happening with the blood sugar throughout the day. There may be lower readings than the spot checks you are doing. My final thought is that the hyperthyroidism may be causing the low fructosamine so we can treat that and see how things are after that." I did remind her that I'm using a human glucometer and sent her the protocol.
I did a curve on the 18th. I stopped his insulin on 7/23 (four cycles so far) and his numbers are up a bit. I wanted to see if maybe even the .1u was too much (that's the way it was with Jesse before he went OTJ).
Also, his appetite is not as good as it was (maybe it was "good" only because he wasn't controlled). And he is also still living alone in his bedroom because he wants to be an only cat. But with the Feliway plug-in he's stopped being mean to me. :smile:
So, I guess I'd just like some experienced eyes on his spreadsheet and blood work to see if anyone can offer an opinion on where I should go from here.
Thanks!