You should not wait an hour to re-test. For future reference, you have three options if you get a pre-shot number you are uncomfortable shooting.
Stall - do not feed and retest in 15 - 30 min. Repeat this process until you have a surf or a rising number. You want to avoid shooting a dropping number unless you have sufficient data to allow you to do so. The downside of stalling is the effect it has on your schedule since your next shot will be 12 hours after you shoot.
Shoot a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. This is a reduced amount.
Skip the shot completely.
All of these choices have an effect on the shed. A late shot acts like a dose reduction as well as throws your schedule off. A reduced dose and skipping have obvious effects.
The best choice is to shoot your full dose on time. However, you need to be data ready. You also need to be able to get a +1 and a +2. You should have plenty of strips and high carb food on hand, as well.
"The worrying portion" - I think I have my days divided into "worrying portions"! Although, lately it's more like "when can I nap?" Oh yes... I can nap from shot time till +2 or +3... then after +4 or +5... Have to give snack at +9... Can nap till +11.75...
Again, just for future reference, you want to try to not stall/shoot late and shoot a reduced dose. It has double the impact on the shed since a late shot also acts like a dose reduction.
Actually I found that the protocol PDF gives 3 options for a pre-shot number under 100 (130 for my numbers since my meter gives Alphatrak numbers).
a) feed and give a reduced dose
b) feed and wait 1-2 hours, then if over 100 (or 130) then give normal dose, otherwise give reduced dose like a)
or c) give most of the dose and feed, then wait 1-2 hours and give remainder of the dose.
If all these are tried and each leads to an increase in BG levels, then on every next occurence give full dose and watch closely for hypo.
Maybe rubber kitties that have bouncy numbers benefit from strict 12 hour protocol, but after her first week on Lantus from Podo's spreadsheet she doesn't seem to mind shots being off by 1 or 2 hours.
Podo is purring, happy, and healthy, so that is my main concern.