7/24 Perry AMPS 182, +6.33 96 | PMPS 367, +2 259

Perry & Jenn

Member Since 2019
The automatic feeder is doing its thing! I was up at 3:30 a.m. reminding Perry that it contains food -- I think he forgot, so this might require a little bit of training. But he ate well out of it then, and the tray shifted at 4 so he couldn't get any more. Got a clean, non-food-influenced AMPS this morning.

Nice to start the day in blues on just the third cycle after the half dose. Does that mean it wasn't a huge depletion of the depot, or that he could still run high tonight or tomorrow? I kinda figured a missed half dose would have an effect for a few days, but this is the first time we'd done that, so I don't know.

Hope all the kitties and humans have a good day. :bighug:
 
96 at +6.33. Seemed like Perry ate all morning, and this was my first chance to get a clean read on him. He's zonked out in my office chair now -- as he has been every day this week and several days last week. I finally gave up and ordered an adjustable desk stool that I hope I can store next to my chair.
 
I went to get a +7 and popped open a new case of test strips. Tested and got a number in the 300s. Tried again and got another. And another. This wasn't making any sense to me, because Perry should've been solidly in the nadir zone at this time, and all he'd done since his previous test was continue to nap in my office chair. After the third, I decided to stop because it seemed like I had not just one bad strip but an entire 50 pack of them.

Perry ate in the meantime, and because I was tired of poking him, I decided to poke myself and test these seemingly faulty strips with another new case of test strips. I registered a 126 on a strip from the new case and a 168 on the questionable case less than a minute later. It seems they are indeed different! Has anyone else had this happen? I'm wondering if the new case was left out on a dock somewhere during the heat wave and they got fried or something.
 
I went to get a +7 and popped open a new case of test strips. Tested and got a number in the 300s. Tried again and got another. And another. This wasn't making any sense to me, because Perry should've been solidly in the nadir zone at this time, and all he'd done since his previous test was continue to nap in my office chair. After the third, I decided to stop because it seemed like I had not just one bad strip but an entire 50 pack of them.

Perry ate in the meantime, and because I was tired of poking him, I decided to poke myself and test these seemingly faulty strips with another new case of test strips. I registered a 126 on a strip from the new case and a 168 on the questionable case less than a minute later. It seems they are indeed different! Has anyone else had this happen? I'm wondering if the new case was left out on a dock somewhere during the heat wave and they got fried or something.
Did you make sure the cat code is the same on the new vial? Each AT strip batch can have a different code.
 
Well that rules that out. Always worth checking the obvious! But maybe the strips are fine and he is bouncing?
As far as your comparison, a 20% variance would account for that difference I think, i.e. both could reflect an "actual" number nearer 140.
ETA I am no expert on bouncing, I'd be curious what experienced members think.
 
Here is the link to yesterday’s post http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-508-2-5-293-5-310-pmps-394-2-5-253.217211/

Perry has shown before that he likes to bounce, see 6/23 AM as an example. I have no familiarity with the AT strips, so don’t know what can cause them to go bad. Never had a problem with the human meter strips.
Seemed like Perry ate all morning, and this was my first chance to get a clean read on him.
Don’t worry about him feeding low carb and influencing the numbers. You don’t need to wait for the carbs to clear his system if low carb. Just test when you think best.

Any particular reason you didn’t reduce down to 1.75 units after he earned a reduction a couple nights ago by showing you an 87? Keeping at a dose that you know can get him below the SLGS reduction point of 90 may not be safe, especially for a newly diagnosed kitty whose pancreas may be healing. I rather suspect Perry went below 96 earlier today, hence the resulting bounce.
 
Any particular reason you didn’t reduce down to 1.75 units after he earned a reduction a couple nights ago by showing you an 87? Keeping at a dose that you know can get him below the SLGS reduction point of 90 may not be safe, especially for a newly diagnosed kitty whose pancreas may be healing. I rather suspect Perry went below 96 earlier today, hence the resulting bounce.
You know, it just didn't occur to me that he earned a reduction! We haven't been anywhere near even thinking about a reduction, so I think I was focused on keeping him safe that night and didn't even pause to consider it. So you're thinking he should go to 1.75?
 
And I just went back to reference the SLSG sticky:
"Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately."
Holy cow, @Wendy&Neko , thank goodness you pointed that out! I guess I better bust out the calipers again.
 
PMPS 367. We are in the bounce house! But we went ahead with the reduction to 1.75...which maybe seems nuts with that 367! Sigh. It's a dance, I guess. Thanks, @Wendy&Neko . In addition to that 87, we had a 90 on 7/16, which is right on the border for a reducie. I've been nervous about his nighttime numbers, too.
 
Good luck with the new dose. Whenever in doubt about dose, put dose question in your subject line to get eyes on you. It takes a while to figure it out at first. OK, honesty here, took me ages of asking.:oops:
 
Good luck with the new dose. Whenever in doubt about dose, put dose question in your subject line to get eyes on you.
Honestly, it was in the back of my mind but wasn't even a fully formed thought yet, so I couldn't have asked. You just stated the obvious for me, which is super helpful when you're taking in the boatload of information that comes with diagnosis and dialing in the dose and food and ... does it ever end?!?
 
It does get easier, and by that time you have your Masters in Feline Diabetes. Or at least it seems like that.

I love the change in Perry’s spreadsheet the last 10 days, good work!
 
I would say that at least this MFD costs less than my MA did ... but we just started, so the price tags could eventually match. o_O

I think the feeder is going to help those AMPS numbers. It was so frustrating to get food-influenced numbers day after day and not know what was really going on behind the scenes, but the good thing is that we learned just how much food can spike him. The more you know.
 
Back
Top