7/24 Lucy PMPS=173;+2=142

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

First of all, I'd like to thank you for your vines, prayers, really good advice and suggestions.
I printed out yesterday's condo so that I can start collecting the suggested items, and can use it as a reference if a day like yesterday happens again.
Thank you very much.

Yesterday's

7/23 AMBG=203 (NOT EATING, SKIPPED SHOT)
7/23 PMPS=193; +1=207; +2=205; +3=194; +5=200

7/24 AMPS=151; +2=106; +4=103; +5=115
7/24 PMPS=173; +2=142

Today, Lucy is much better, but it's a little strange.
She vomited a small amount of brownish liquid with little fur in it, not even a hair ball, but some loose fur.
Yesterday's vomit was also brownish, but much thinker mucus.
Today's was more liquidish, and much less in amount.
Her poop early morning was partially formed and partially diarrhea.

What's strange is that her appetite this morning is suspiciously good.
She started begging before the breakfast time, ate her 1st portion (slightly bigger than usual since she ate less yesterday) all by herself.
And she's been asking for more every time our eyes meet.
She doesn't seem to be nauseated, and her walking seems stronger than yesterday.

I am thinking this is a residual effect of last night's Cypro.
It's possible she is extra hungry because of less food yesterday, but I don't know...
How long does Cypro's effect last?
Does anyone know?
I gave her a quarter of 4mg pill, but I picked a smaller piece.
Maybe I shouldn't have given her the Cypro last night as she was eating little by little, but I wanted to give her insulin and wanted to make sure I could get her to eat more if needed.
I am definitely going to get some anti-nausea pills from the vet to keep at hand for future.
Lucy has an acupuncture appointment this weekend, and a blood work appointment next weekend, so lots of opportunities to talk to the vet about it.

I'm going to work from home this morning to make sure she keeps the food down.
I'm really happy she wants to eat, but I'm worried what would happen when the Cypro wears off.....
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151 // BETTER TODAY

It's certainly possible that she had a virus that's now passing. Cats can get a GI bug, just like people.

Do you have an FortiFlora? A probiotic may help with the poo issues. At least for many cats, FortiFlora can entice them to eat so it may be a good option over the cypro. (Cypro can be given on a daily basis.)
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151 // BETTER TODAY

Very lovely # this morning, Miss Lucy! I'm glad to hear that Lucy's doing much better today. Sending tons of healing vines, and positive thoughts, and wishing for her to make a full and speedy recovery. Have a great day!
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151 // BETTER TODAY

Hi, Mariko, I'm so glad Lucy is feeling better and EATING! Yay! I hope she continues to feel good.
Have a great day!
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151 // BETTER TODAY

Thank you, Sienne,
I have FortiFlora.
Unfortunately, she doesn't like the taste, but I still give it to her mixed with food once in a while, especially when her poop smells gassy or is soft.
But since it make her want to eat her food less, I can't give it to her as often as I like.
The shelf life of FortiFlora is not that long, so I always end up throwing away 2/3 of a box.....
She seems to have a problem keeping good bacteria in her gut, so I do want to give FortiFlora every day, but then I'd have to deal with not wanting to eat.

Thank you, Angela, for your visit and well wishes.

Thank you, Josie, for checking on Lucy and cheering that she's better.
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151 // BETTER TODAY

You might want to try Pearls. They are a probiotic that's a tiny pill and is carried in most pharmacies. If Lucy is relatively easy to pill, you wont have to add anything to her food.
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151 // BETTER TODAY

Sienne,
Lucy is easy to pill as long as she has good appetite, and as long as the pill is not bitter.
I can cover any pill with food, and she'd just eat it.
It's when she doesn't want to eat that I can't pill her.

I have a question about pearl.
I'd like to try it, but could you please let me know the dose?
One pearl once a day?
Also, I've seen some acidophilus / probiotic for dogs/cats in powder (white powder) form in pet food stores.
I think these are tasteless, and If so I think Lucy will eat it mixed in food.
I just haven't tried them because I didn't know how good they are or which one is the quality brand.
Do you or anyone know anything about any of those for animal?
Do you think pearl is better?
I heard that Fortiflora for dogs are harmful to cats, so I was a little worried to give probiotic that is not formulated specifically for cats.....
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=106 // BETTER TODAY

I'd start with one pill per day and see how that goes. Sometimes, too much probiotic can cause cramping or gas, etc. Some folks have used Culturelle. I've used a pretty intense protbiotic, ReNew Ulitimate, with Gabby when she was having some major GI issues.

I don't know about the acidophilus powders. Some cats like plain yogurt, so that's an option. Marje uses squash baby food as it's high in fiber.

I think the issue with FortiFlora is that it's specifically formulated for animals and it's made for dogs or cats. I've not sat down and looked at whether there are differences in the ingredients, though.
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=106 // BETTER TODAY

Thank you!
I think I'll try a couple different probiotic and see what works for Lucy!
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=106 // BETTER TODAY

Hi Mariko,

Shasta and Lucy must have been communicating yesterday because it sounds like both of them had horrible appys. :roll: I'm glad to hear that Lucy is doing better today and she has lovely numbers, too! Shasta gets squash with her dinner and miralax with her breffis. Also, I give her coconut oil to help move things along! Hope Lucy's tummy feels better today. Happy Wednesday!!
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=106 // BETTER TODAY

Morning Mariko, Looks like Miss Lucy is a happy kitty again, YAY nice seeing these numbers, furry hairballs are a fav in our house :lol: Hope the day stays good :smile:
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=106;+4=103

Hi Mariko,

So glad that Lucy is feeling better today. I hope you can get to the bottom of her GI issues, or that they just stop altogether!!

Nice to work from home for awhile to keep an eye on her :-D

Jane
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=106;+4=103

I'm so glad Lucy is feeling better and eating better for you today. Good luck finding a probiotic for her.
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=106;+4=103

I'm very glad to see Lucy is feeling better today! I hope you've found a probiotic that works for her, and that she's feeling even better by now. Have a great evening, Mariko!
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=106;+4=103

Hi guys,
Good news that Lucy is feeling better today. I hope she continues to feel better and better and that you can find a probiotic that works for her.

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=106;+4=103;=+5=115;PMPS=173

Nice to see that Lucy is eating better today. Sending more healing vines and get well vines for Lucy and sleeping good vines to you Mariko.
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=106;+4=103;=+5=115;PMPS=173

Thank you all for your visit!!
Lucy is doing so much better...doesn't act like a cat who was so sick just yesterday.
I think I'm way more exhausted than her.

She ate all 3 of her breakfasts by herself this morning, but I though it was the last night's Cypro still working.
But she also ate her 1st dinner by herself just now.
She was licking the empty plate so hard it fell off the platform. :lol:

Her preshot number this evening a bit high for her, but that's OK because she is feeling better and eating well ! :-D
She'll get back on track soon enough!

I spent a lot of time googling about probiotic today, and I just got too tired in the end.
There are quite many probiotic for dogs/cats available, claiming theirs to be the best and warning to be careful with other company's "low quality" products.
So... I couldn't decide which one I'd like to try.
I still have half a box of FortiFlora left, so I'm going to try and see if Lucy will learn to like it till they expire in September.
She doesn't like it if I mix it in her food, so today I made a small ball with her canned food and rolled it in FortiFlora and gave it to her as a treat.
At first she was hesitant, but her appetite was so good today she ended up eating a couple of those.
It kind of looks like a mini cocoa-powdered truffle. :-D
I'm going to try this for a while. This way I don't have to worry about her disliking her meal. If she doesn't eat her treat, that not too bad.
 
Re: 7/24 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=106;+4=103;=+5=115;PMPS=173

I'm glad Lucy seems to be feeling better and eating by herself today. :-D It seems to be hotter today. I hope she's handling the heat OK.

I wonder what type of probiotics Korna carries. They seem to carry a good lines of pet products and have given me good recommendations before. But you do have to look at the ingredients to make sure they are diabetic friendly.
 
Thank you Wendy, good idea about Korna.
They do seem to have a good selection of supplements for dogs/cats.
I'll take a look when I go there next!!!

Lucy's appetite is still super good.
In fact, she ate all 3 dinners by herself.
This means she ate ALL 6 MEALS by herself today.
This is the first time she scored both breakfast and dinner since..... summer in 2011, 2 years ago. :o :o

I'm really happy, and hope she'll continue.
Still a possibility it's a residual effect of last night's cypro??.. I don't know, so I shouldn't be too excited.

But either way, we are having a much better day today!!!
 
Yes I buy a couple can of wellness sometimes but at $1.95 a can here is to much with 4 cats :smile:
Lucy looking good for the night :smile:
 
Nice to see Lucy eating her fuds. What a relief! :smile:

The cypro clears the system in about 12 hours. If you quartered a 4mg tablet, that would be 1mg and that may be a bit much. You can try 1/2 of that and see if she stills gets a kick to her appy. If she is vomiting, an appy stimulant is not recommended. No one likes to eat much when their tummy is icky.

Paws crossed all gets sorted soon and it's just a bug of some sort.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top