Luckyducky
Member Since 2012
Hi everybody! I'm writing in with Lucky's numbers for today, and an update on his wobbly legs/visit to the vet. Here's his spreadsheet, as well as his numbers for today:
Readings for 7/24
AMPS 360
+9 103
+11 66
PMPS 72
+1 87
Lucky had a low PMPS (listed as +11 on the chart), and when I measured again at +15 he had a reading of 72. I assumed it meant his numbers were rising again so I gave him his PM shot after the reading. I thought I should mention it in case I made a mistake (I wasn't exactly sure how much of an increase would have been okay for going ahead with the shot).
As for the vet visit today: I mentioned in a previous post that Lucky's back legs were wobbly, and that I was going to bring him in to the vet if it hadn't improved by yesterday. Well, his legs did and didn't improve (last night they seemed better since he was able to run up the stairs, but this morning he was limping up the stairs again), so I erred on the side of caution and decided to bring him in to see the vet today.
It was a new vet this time, and while some of the information he told me sounded correct from what I've learned in the past few months, some of it I wasn't so sure about, and was hoping some of you might be able to give some perspective on.
First, the information I thought sounded right:
And here's the information I wasn't so sure about:
Any help or insight you all can give regarding this experience is really appreciated. Part of me wants to trust vets, but another part also can't help thinking that they run a business, and so I have a hard time shaking off the doubt.
Readings for 7/24
AMPS 360
+9 103
+11 66
PMPS 72
+1 87
Lucky had a low PMPS (listed as +11 on the chart), and when I measured again at +15 he had a reading of 72. I assumed it meant his numbers were rising again so I gave him his PM shot after the reading. I thought I should mention it in case I made a mistake (I wasn't exactly sure how much of an increase would have been okay for going ahead with the shot).
As for the vet visit today: I mentioned in a previous post that Lucky's back legs were wobbly, and that I was going to bring him in to the vet if it hadn't improved by yesterday. Well, his legs did and didn't improve (last night they seemed better since he was able to run up the stairs, but this morning he was limping up the stairs again), so I erred on the side of caution and decided to bring him in to see the vet today.
It was a new vet this time, and while some of the information he told me sounded correct from what I've learned in the past few months, some of it I wasn't so sure about, and was hoping some of you might be able to give some perspective on.
First, the information I thought sounded right:
- 1. The doctor said that he figured Lucky's leg problem was likely neuropathy based on all of the symptoms he was seeing. He pinched into Lucky's foot/leg (I don't recall which) and Lucky flinched/kicked, which the doctor said was a sign that the nerves in his legs seemed fine. When he watched Lucky walk across the floor, though, he noticed that his foot placement seemed uncertain, and he figured it was a sign that his neural messages weren't properly reaching his legs, and that Lucky was mostly guessing from experience where his feet were supposed to go. He ordered blood work to check for other conditions, and I'll know the results in the next two days. Lucky seemed otherwise in good spirits at the vet's office (active, curious, purring, cleaning, etc.).
2. The vet also found that Lucky's teeth are apparently a real mess, worse than the worst grading on his charts. :sad: The doctor mentioned that bad dental health can contribute to problems with regulation, and he placed Lucky on a liquid antibiotic called ClindoCure, since it appeared Lucky's gums were inflamed/infected. I think I really need to buckle down to clean his teeth daily now, because the doctor was convinced that Lucky needs some of his teeth removed (he explained that since Lucky isn't regulated yet he can't undergo anesthesia, so the procedure has to wait).
And here's the information I wasn't so sure about:
- 1. I got a strange impression that the vet might not be familiar with Lantus (the vet tech asked me how to spell it, and the doctor didn't say anything about it when it came up in our conversation). The vet instead said that if I wanted to get Lucky off of insulin in the future I would want to switch to using PZI once Lucky starts getting better regulated with the Lantus. Is that right? I actually don't know much about PZI, but I remember reading that Lantus was very good at helping cats get off of insulin, so I was kind of surprised. That said, Lantus doesn't seem to have been working too well for Lucky so far, and I wonder if switching to PZI might be a good idea given his inconsistent readings so far.
2. When I explained to the vet that I was feeding Lucky the Fancy Feasts classics brand of canned food, he decided to prescribe Purina DM, saying that it was more nutritionally balanced for diabetic cats. I remember reading that the DM brand wasn't so good because it mostly has liver in it, but I was wondering if anyone had any experience or resources that say anything different.
Any help or insight you all can give regarding this experience is really appreciated. Part of me wants to trust vets, but another part also can't help thinking that they run a business, and so I have a hard time shaking off the doubt.