7/24 Lightning AMPS 77, +1 62, +2 54, +3 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pamela and Lightning

Member Since 2010
OK, here we are with another green AMPS.....I'm trying out Sienne's options from yesterday and I'm stalling....going to test again in 30 minutes. At PMPS +6
last night he was at 111, which I was surprised to see, but definitely happy. So it looks like he's been coming down all night. Not sure what to expect in 30 minutes but I'm excited for it!!

7/23 Condo
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20497
 
Re: 7/24 Lightning AMPS 84 - Another green!

Do you have a number in mind where you feel comfortable shooting? Do you have strips and HC?

Remember, if you stall, your PM shot will be 12 hours from your AM shot time. Also, you shot a 101 at a higher dose a few days ago.
 
Re: 7/24 Lightning AMPS 84 - Another green!

NO, i have no idea what number would be the lowest to shoot at! I shot a 79 at 2units before (I'm assuming that's the one you are talking about). Would you normally not shoot with an 84? I have a party (my party actually) today so I'm going to be gone from noon til I don't know when so i won't be around to watch him. But if he's the same as yesterday, he just went up all afternoon....but who knows about today.

Going to go test right now and then feed him regardless.......he is ANNOYING the crap out of me to eat so I gotta give him something! :)
 
Re: 7/24 Lightning AMPS 84 - Another green!

That's such a pretty number! It'd be a shame not to shoot, but it's too bad you won't be home to monitor him...

He's doing so well!!!
 
Re: 7/24 Lightning +11.75 84, AMPS 77 - even lower

Good lord, he's still dropping and he's at 77. This should be a welcomed sign technically right? But it's so confusing! I gave him 1 3 oz can of FF (5% carbs - highest I had) and now I'm about to shoot the 1.75u......wish me luck!!
 
Re: 7/24 Lightning +11.75 84, AMPS 77 - even lower

Generally, you shoot if you have a surf or rising number. If you're not going to be around, shooting a dropping number could mean you've got several hours of steering numbers ahead. On the other hand, numbers may rise on their own. The problem is that you just don't know.

What I would do is feed a little bit, although when stalling we generally don't feed unless numbers are below 50.
 
Re: 7/24 Lightning +11.75 84, AMPS 77 - even lower

I have a feeling he's going back up....I'm going to test again at +1 and maybe +2 if I need it. My sister (who's had a diabetic cat as well) is coming to my party late so I think I'm going to have her stop by my house and test Lightning. That will be around +9. So there will only be 3 hours where I'm not around to test him and I feel pretty comfortable with that.
 
Re: 7/24 Lightning +11.75 84, AMPS 77 - even lower

Sounds like a plan. Absolutely, get a +1 and +2. Depending on where Lightning's numbers are before you leave, you'll be able to decide on whether to leave LC or a higher carb food out.
 
Re: 7/24 Lightning +11.75 84, AMPS 77 - even lower

Pamela, It looks to me like Lightning has a late nadir, like +7 to +9, is when he is the lowest midpoint for the day,If I am not mistaken!
Feeding him some food at that time may help to get him on the surf board..and bring him up
Do you have a timed Feeder?? it is a life saver when you are out for long periods of time...
I have a pet mate 2 but it comes with 5 compartments, so you can feed continously the whole day..
Hope you have a great time at the party!
Just going to look at ss again...

BTW--GREAT NUMBERS TODAY & LAST NIGHT!!!!! You are doing a great JOB!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/24 Lightning +11.75 84, AMPS 77 - even lower

I've been trying to figure the nadir out and I agree, I think its later in the cycle. Just tested and we are +1 62 (hhhmmm....)

I don't have the timed feeders yet, but i found one i like. Its only got 2 compartments though. Do you think feeding 1 can (3oz) of FF at one time is too much? It just seems like such a small amount and when he's done with it, he waits around like I need to give him more...
 
Re: 7/24 Lightning +11.75 84, AMPS 77 - even lower

Moonie does drop sometimes & what I use to bring her up quickly is Elegant Medleys by Fancy Feast--Chicken Tuscany flavor or Turkey Tuscany--
I think it is MC, but it does bring her up pretty quick-(other flavors are on the new canned food list from janet & binky)-I add water & make a gravy, feed a few tsps(she really likes the taste) and up her number goes within 20 minutes- Then I repeat after next test---
Guess ECID, but when I'm desperate, I feed her 10 temptations--Trouble is, Moonie doesnt like Any of the HC FF flavors, so anything she likes, I will use!
If Lightning will eat, can you feed LC with some MC or HC gravy??
If that doesnt work & you have no mc or hc food, How about crushing some temptations onto food if she wont come up??
Moonie is a hard case with her picky taste!!
 
Re: 7/24 Lightning +11.75 84, AMPS 77 - even lower

I wouldnt feed a whole can of food because you may need to feed him several times today to bring his numbers up!!
So can you get away with feeding like 3 tbs of food?? Do you have any MC or Hc you didnt say.. Add some gravy to bring him up as he didnt even get near his nadir yet--Need to get him on surfboard in nice greens!
 
Re: 7/24 Lightning +11.75 84, AMPS 77 - even lower

I have 19% Friskies and I just gave him a tablespoon of it....he ate it right up! And is now licking his chops...he probably wants more!! :) I tested right before I gave it to him and he was at +2 54. So still dropping....So i'm hoping this food works. Should I give him more or just stick with the 1 tbsp and wait to test in another hour?
 
Re: 7/24 Lightning +11.75 84, AMPS 77 - even lower

+3 at 88!! Wooohoo!! We are moving up! Gave a chicken treat and I think I'm going for another tbsp of HC just to be sure. He's doing great!!! :)
 
I use the FF elegant medleys to bring Kasha's numbers up when she drops too.. Even the varieties that are supposed to be 9% will bring her up pretty quickly - so I used it sparingly (even though it's hard to convince yourself that a measly tsp of food will help when they are in the 40s or 30s...). I've learned to quell the panic at the low numbers and just keep testing and feeding little bits... lather, rinse, repeat...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top