7/24 Charms AMPS 382, +2 467,+4 374, +6 379, +8 438,PMPS 405

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam and Charms

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Hi , Charms is very hungry today. Tested negative for ketones. Doing all the p's. Raise the dose in the morning?

Also , do you think he is still adjusting to the new food (YA)? Let me know what you think about his SS. Seemed like he was heading in the right direction (down) and then he went back to more reds. Started out with a pink today, not as good as yesterdays yellow. Well let me know what you think- Sam

Even though he still has high BG , how do you know when the dose should stay the same and not increase? Sounds like a stupid question, I hope you know what I mean.
 
Re: 7/24 Charms AMPS 382, +2 467,+4 374, +6 379, +8 438,PMPS

Good idea on the increase tomorrow. I think you want to keep going as you have been until you see a lot more yellow in Charm's SS. Good to hear that he continues to be negative for ketones with him being in the reds.

How much YA food is Charms getting per day now? Is that the only dry food he's getting now?

BTW, there are no stupid questions here. I was wondering the same thing on our upward journey as my Neko has a high dose condition. Basically you keep going up until you either go down (see a reduction worthy number below 50) or the numbers all fall into the normal range. Due to Charm's dose, you might want to ask your vet about getting him tested for one of the high dose conditions. One of acromegaly and/or IAA are the more likely ones. Neko tested positive for both. Information on the tests is in the link.
 
Re: 7/24 Charms AMPS 382, +2 467,+4 374, +6 379, +8 438,PMPS

Ideally, you hold the dose once Charms is in closer to normal numbers. According to one version of the TR protocol:

Phase 3: Holding the dose

Try to keep the cat at a dose where the BGs are in the 50 to 200 mg/dl range for as much of the day as possible. The majority of cats are actually able to achieve consistent BGs in the 50 to <100 mg/dl range with consistent dosing. A well regulated cat looks like this.

Don't let the cat go below 50 mg/dl (N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way). 200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. This phase may last a long time (many months). Periodic slight adjustments are necessary in many cases.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top