7/24 Ann & Maggie AMPS 130; PMPS 98 OTJ Trial Day 13

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
Alpha Trak 130
Relion 104

Morning! I had the hardest time getting a drop of blood from Maggie's pricking ear! I think it is from the Lancets I've been using. I have some Walgreens Super Thin 0.3cc syringes that only have the whole unit markings left over that I wasn't using and was going to donate, and I started using them and have an easier time. She still pulls away though when she knows I'm about to prick, and my finger gets the prick :lol: I did even warm up the ear, too! I put Neosporin on it and hopeffully it heals today. The other ear just won't give me a drop either. Mags sits there patiently waiting for me to get it overwith, as she wants the bf chicken with broth appetizer. Well, again her AMPS is a bit on the high side, and maybe waiting for the prick raised it, as it took me several times to get a drop.

Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20487
 
Re: 7/24 Ann & Maggie AMPS 130 OTJ Trial Day 13

One More Day!!!! Let's go Maggie!! We are all rooting for you! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 7/24 Ann & Maggie AMPS 130 OTJ Trial Day 13

Aww, thanks Sienne, Roni and Krys! Do you think her numbers are okay for a party? I thought they had to be all pretty greens. You guys have just been great and everyone, too, with all the support. I was going to place an Avatar pic in my condo with the help of Krys, but I wonder if it might be better to surprise you when we have a party. CD made an Avatar pic. My one-time digital camera did not take the best pics but they are not bad for a $9.99 camera which came with a free CD development pics.
 
Re: 7/24 Ann & Maggie AMPS 130 OTJ Trial Day 13

One more day!!!!! Happy Day 13!!!!!!!

130 is acceptable with the Alpha Trak...if you can, I would test about fours hours after eating to make sure she dropped.

Happy Day 13!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 7/24 Ann & Maggie AMPS 130 OTJ Trial Day 13

Amy and Six said:
One more day!!!!! Happy Day 13!!!!!!!

130 is acceptable with the Alpha Trak...if you can, I would test about fours hours after eating to make sure she dropped.

Happy Day 13!!!!!!!!!

+4 123 Alpha Trak

Good idea Amy! Thanks I just tested at +4, and her bg is 123 on the Alpha Trak. this time I didn't have the Relion handy. I was able to get the other side of her ear (not the sore side rubbed with Neosporin).

I don't understand why she is high in the mornings. It's as if she is still on insulin and needs her juice! Yet she goes lower at the +4! I can't figure her out! :?
 
Re: 7/24 Ann & Maggie AMPS 130; +4 123 OTJ Trial Day 13

Yeah! You got it, look at that pretty face! Hi Maggie, nice to see you here on the eve of your party!
 
Re: 7/24 Ann & Maggie AMPS 130; +4 123 OTJ Trial Day 13

With a big thanks to CD we finally have a pretty pic of Maggie. I was a slow student in catching on with uploading her picture. Better late than never, right! Thanks CD.
 
All right Maggie girl, here it goes with her PMPS check:

Alpha Trak 98

Relion 65

She finally gave me a green on the Alpha Trak. I even bought some of the BD Ultra-fine 33 gauge lancets, and her ear still won't cooperate, so I guess she's had enough pricking and is trying to tell me to stop. I gave her an extra big helping of the Beechnut chicken with chicken broth baby food as a treat. Thanks everyone for putting up with me with the two meters. :YMHUG:
 
That is a great photo of her, she's just dazzling! Look at that face!

Paws crossed for you, day 13, yippeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!
 
Thanks Myla. TThanks to CD, the pic had a little help from CD with the background. I have another pic of her on her side showing her cute Manx stubble tail. She's been a sweetie putting up with me pricking her ear. I wonder if any of the other kitties get sore ears? My petsitter noticed her poor ear, too!
 
Great pic of Maggie! Now I can see what Blue's always talking about! She's beautiful!

Nice background too, CD!!!
 
Barb & Checkers said:
WooHoo, I see a party coming up!! :RAHCAT
Checkers

Thanks everyone; I hope so! For some reason she can be high in the mornings. It's as if she needs the Lantus, but then she drops after a few hours and gets lower in the pm. When I also use the Relion, it's as Krys says, it's in everyone's language with the human meters, so to speak, if I am making any sense today!
 
Maggie, it's nice to finally meet you!!!

I think her numbers are just fine and that we should get ready to party. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Aww, thanks Libby. We are ready to party. Maggie is even prettier in person and quite talkative lately, too! I can't thank you and everyone enough for all the help and support in caring for Maggie and getting her OTJ! I know some of you had to really nudge me to get the nighttime checks, but it worked finally and I did it! I don't know what people do that don't have the Internet to get their information. My petsitter is so impressed with how well Maggie is doing and how quickly she got OTJ. I've referred her to LL and copied the protocol, and she's very interested. She's never heard of dosecreasing down to a drop, but now she understands how it worked. My Vet is very supportive of how well Maggie is doing and says whatever I'm doing is working, so I plan on telling him about this site and the protocol we follow. I am a little sad though that now we won't have a condo, but on the bright side, we will still be around visiting condos and encouraging everyone. I do realize that she can become diabetic again, according to my Vet, but for the time being she is in remission.

Thanks again and lots of hugs from me and Maggie! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Maggie is quite a "looker"! :) Congrats on being steps away from the finish line! Enjoy!!

I know the Alpha meter runs a bit higher (and maybe more accurate for animals, right?)...but I'm wondering if the finish line for a human meter (we use Relion Micro) is mostly paved with greens. Johnny's heading into Day 4 and I'm just curious as to what we're looking for to signal possible success. Way to go with your girl!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top