7/23 Oscar amps 273 +6 280 ... new pen wonkiness questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
We started a new pen yesterday and got a 100pt drop for a change. I was hoping it would continue since we were starting with fresh insulin. No dice. Flat curve again today and zoom last night. Pmps today was 275. I plan on going up to 3u tomorrow. What would make him respond so differently with that first dose on the new pen and it not be repeated like this? I know the previous insulin was still good bc it was less than a month old and it was keeping Yoda's numbers down just fine.
 
I don't have an answer about the insulin, but I wanted to say that I love your use of "wonkiness." Great word. First time I heard it was in reference to Paris Hilton's wonky eye. lol

Hope you start to see some lower numbers really soon. Go Oscar!
 
A flat curve is not unusual with Lantus -- in fact, it's characteristic of this insulin. As both of your cats are better regulated and you are getting lower pre-shot numbers, this response will be very desirable since it's what allows you to shoot low. You won't get big drops.

FWIW, there are times when a new pen will cause better numbers. It's not consistent, though, and it may be just chance. I would lean toward the chance explanation since the insulin was still within it's 28 days and Yoda's numbers were good.
 
It was just a fluke. These ups and downs happen and sometimes they coincide with an unrelated event, such as starting a new pen, and your brqain just desperately wants to see a pattern there. I mean, it SHOULD be there...
 
With the upped dose today we are +6 69 and +7 65. This is probably due to the newness of the dose, but I really hope it continues.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top