7/23 Ollie AMPS 277, PMPS 139, +1 122, +3 73, +4 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Klaree and Ollie

Member Since 2010
Morning LL,

I was surprised by this number but dry kibble may be the culprit. I have a non-diabetic having a hard time transitioning to wet so I have some dry. Ollie has smelled the new bag for 1 day and went on a hunger strike for dinner last night. I crumbled ~8 pieces and put it on top of his wet food, it did the trick and he ate twice last night. I've since put all dry kibble in the freezer and am feeding the non-diabetic well after he eats, in separate rooms, etc. He ate his breakfast without any dry kibble.

I'm bummed I may have made the wrong decision. I hope he goes back into blue, he has such a good day yesterday.

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/23 Ollie AMPS 277

Don't worry - there's a lot of up and down with FD... and if it is the dry food causing a spike, at least that's just temporary.

I can't see your SS from work, so I'm not sure how his numbers were lately... but 277 isn't a terrible number... He'll come down...

Have a great Friday!
 
Re: 7/23 Ollie AMPS 277

Have you tried sprinkling chicken dust(livalittles freeze dried pure chicken treats crumbled,) or parmesean cheese on the wet food?
Believe it or not, it almost always works!--Could you maybe feed the civvie the dry food someplace where Ollie doesnt go??
Hope they make the transition soon--You are doing well so far! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/23 Ollie AMPS 277, +2 340, +10 145

Thanks guys, it's hard not to be anxious and second guess myself. I just want to do what is best for him so badly!! His +10 was 145 (I was gone from +3 - +10), so he's coming down, which is good, but I'm not sure if I should give the full 2.25 or a f2.00. Thoughts??

Thanks,
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/23 Ollie AMPS 277, PMPS 139, +1 122

Great BOS! Always best to shoot the full dose if you can be there to test, Why only a TBS of food?
 
Re: 7/23 Ollie AMPS 277, PMPS 139, +1 122

Same question as Ann -- why so little food at shot time?

Also, you don't want to give a snack at +10. You shouldn't feed within 2 hours of shot time -- it may influence your pre-shot test numbers. If you want to give a snack late in the cycle, I'd suggest feeding at +8 or +9.
 
Re: 7/23 Ollie AMPS 277, PMPS 139, +1 122

I record what he eats, not what I offer. I always offer at least 1/2 a can. I gave him food at +10 to keep a further drop at shot time. His +3 PM was 73. He just won't eat, he has always been so picky! I'll stay up with him, of course. I'll keep posting. I feel like he's playing chicken with me about the dry kibble. I put it outside about 50 feet from the door and haven't fed my other kitty yet. Arghhhhh.

Thanks,
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 7/23 Ollie AMPS 277, PMPS 139, +1 122, +3 73

a couple of tsp of low carb food should help Ollie surf from here. I would feed and test in 30 minutes to an hour to be sure he's surfing.
 
Re: 7/23 Ollie AMPS 277, PMPS 139, +1 122, +3 73

Thanks. He ate TSP at +3 and then another at +4. His +3 and +4 readings were both 73. I know I should be happy with that but after a 340(!) today, I'm just so nervous. I keep putting him in front of fresh food (I've gone through like 5 cans today!) and he only picks at it. I really don't think there is anything wrong with him (he was active all day, playing 'wall-ball' like he used to :) ), I think he's just pouting from the new bag of dry I brought home for his picky civvie sister. I put the dry food outside at PM shot time today and will not EVER bring it back in the house! He was eating the wet so well before. Oh Ollie....

Thanks everyone,
Klaree and Ollie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top