7/23 Lucian LEV, PS 242,+3/262,+5/132,+7/61,+9/68,+10.75/73

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
OK, I didn't want to try the Lev when he was this high or after using R, but didn't realize that last nights dose was the last in the Lantus pen. Since I had to open a new pen anyway, I figured, 'might as well'. Good days are few and far between, so if I was waiting on that, it might have been a while. We'll see what happens.

I did reduce the dose from 1.5 Lantus, to 1.0 Lev. I was told most cats need less Lev. ( Of course that is really stupid reasoning on my part, considering we're dealing with Lucian and not MOST cats) I shouldn't have reduced it much, if at all, probably, but it's not like he can get much worse, number wise.

After thinking about it, I'm going to give another .25 to make his starting dose 1.25. Shouldn't try to make changes when I'm not awake. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 7/23 Lucian AMPS 510 - STARTED LEV, +3.25/264

Debbie,

I think you will 'love' the Lev. It has made a huge difference with Scratchie. He is more engaged (playful, talking, wandering around the house, more mellow, more fun), not as lethargic, his bounces are not across the board any more and lots of other things that are too numerous to mention. I won't go back to Lantus with my boy. Finally got my vet convinced (actually threatened him) to write me the prescription for Lev and I am really happy about that.

I've been 'lurking' even though not posting much since I fell, so hoping you see the difference in Lucian that I saw in Scratchie.

Have a great day!

Jo
 
Re: 7/23 Lucian AMPS 510 - STARTED LEV, +3.25/264,+4.5/205

Thanks Jo.

My only problem is NOT being able to get it, if it does help him.

DCIN helped me with the Lantus, along with another member, have no 'script for Lev and can't get one.

A friend/member gave me a couple Lev pens to try. We'll just have to wait and see what happens.

The first thing I noticed, is that the Lev doesn't hurt him, he pays no attention to the shot. I know that Lantus stings and Lev doesn't. I've poked myself, I know it stings.

He doesn't react to the R either, just the Lantus.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucian STARTED LEV, +3.25/264,+4.5/205,+6/148

Knowing he should have several hours until nadir, I gave him 2T MC to slow down his drop.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucian STARTED LEV, +3.25/264,+4.5/205,+6/148

Here's to new adventures!

As you collect data, you'll be able to show a vet the difference between giving Lucian Lantus vs giving him Levemir. That may help you convince the vet its the right thing to do.

And watch maybe your local Craigslist.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucian ST. LEV, +3.25/264,+4.5/205,+6/148,+8/173

It will have to be something other than the vet.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucian ST. LEV, +3.25/264,+4.5/205,+6/148,+8/173

Well, htere's an excuse to go visit Canada!
 
Re: 7/23 Lucian ST. LEV, +3.25/264,+4.5/205,+6/148,+8/173

Hmmmmmmmmmm what about shipping out of Canada....... :?:
 
Re: 7/23 Lucian ST. LEV, +3.25/264,+4.5/205,+6/148,+8/173

Canada now wants an Rx if you've in the US. Got to make sure everyone is happy, eh?

What is the reason you cannot get it from the vet? Or do you need a new vet?
 
Re: 7/23 Lucian START LEV, +4.5/205,+6/148,+8/173,+10/202

I was thinking more along the line of someone from Canada sending it to me. ;-)

I have no $$ for a vet, I'm on Worker's comp, waiting on disability, trying to survive on $1200 a month and disability will be even less. :o
 
Re: 7/23 Lucian START LEV, +4.5/205,+6/148,+8/173,+10/202

You bit the bullet and made the change to Lev. I'm excited for you and Lucian. :-D It will be interesting to see how it goes with the Lev.

Keeping fingers and toes and eyes and my heart crossed for better results for Lucian on the Lev. All 3 sets of kitty paws crossed too.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucian START LEV, +6/148,+8/173,+10/202,PMPS 242

Thanks Deb. It'll be interesting to see how the next few weeks play out.
 
Re: 7/23 Lucian LEV, PS 242,+3/262,+5/132,+7/61,+9/68,+10.75

Give it a few days to get stable ... need some more patience pants?
 
Re: 7/23 Lucian LEV, PS 242,+3/262,+5/132,+7/61,+9/68,+10.75

oh yeah, I know it'll take a few days, but I'm happy with the numbers for sure!

Dare I say it? :?: :!: He hasn't needed the R since I started the Lev. :o (anti jinx)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top