7/23 Enana PMPS 238 +1/145 +2/102 +3/87 Dental Advice :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Natalia & Enana

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Good morning LL,

4ps present. Enana had a great day yesterday. Decreased the dose at PMPS. She did great. :-D Today a little bounce for my bouncy girl.

Tuesday (am) is her dental cleaning. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

Im going with the BF to go look at laptops. He hasnt had time to buy one to replace the stolen one :?

Have a great day.
 
Re: 7/23 Enana AMPS 278

Nice report on Enana. Best of luck in finding a laptop. That's so horrible what happened! Were there any other cars nearby also broken into and items stolen? Have a nice day.
 
Re: 7/23 Enana AMPS 278

We were the only ones in the parking lot. :? We still cannot believe how fast it all happened. @-)
 
Re: 7/23 Enana PMPS 238

This town is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo HOT! Enana shoved herself inside a box underneath a ceiling fan.

Hope everyone is ok. I'm exhausted. We were out driving around looking for a laptop since noon.
 
Re: 7/23 Enana PMPS 238

Stoopid Theives :evil:

Good luck with this dosecrease *clapping*

I know I'd be nervous about the dental also. You may want to put it in your subject line for a concensus on what to do. I remember a couple months back there were like five kitties all having dentals at the same time. I didn't pay any attention to the advice since no dental was needed here.

Hugs.
 
Re: 7/23 Enana PMPS 238 Dental coming up advice appreciated

I think the problem is that there isn't a consensus. It used to be that the "rule" was no food after midnight. My understanding is that anesthesia practice has changed and this is not necessarily the case.

As far as dose, this gets complicated with the food issue. If you shoot, you've got to feed. In addition, anesthesia lowers BG levels. I would go with what your vet tells you. You may not have an idea of what time they will actually get started on Enana's dental and that can be a factor, as well.
 
Re: 7/23 Enana PMPS 238 Dental coming up advice appreciated

She told me to shoot and feed a little. What's a little? A teaspoon? :shock: ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 7/23 Enana PMPS 238 Dental coming up advice appreciated

Hmmmm......

I don't know that I'd shoot a full dose with such vague instructions. I certainly don't think I'd give more than half of a dose. Let me see if I can round up some additional opinions.
 
Re: 7/23 Enana PMPS 238 Dental coming up advice appreciated

Enana....come on down, sweetie.....good luck on the reduction!!!

Oh yeah...TX (Houston)....summer...sweltering. Yikes. Hope you found a new laptop????

Good luck with the dental and hope you get the info you need from Sienne.
 
Dentals, oh boy! I always pressured our vet for more specific info on feeding. What they told me is no food within 6 hours (or 8, depending on who you talk to) from the anesthesia. If they are really going to get anesthesia at 8 a.m., that's nothing after midnight. But so often, you drop off the kitty, and the surgery isn't until 11 - one hungry kitty.

so we always got them to tell us when exactly the surgery was - maybe 11 a.m. -- and I would stay up late to feed right before the cut-off. That way, depending on your timing, you've had a chance to feed after shooting. So reduced dose at 9 p.m., for example, then late snack at 1 a.m., +4, then off to the vet in the morning.

They also told me it was okay to leave out water, that this isn't the same kind of issue with cats that it is with humans.

But I'll bet Sienne finds more reliable feedback than mine!
 
Marje, we didnt find a new laptop :?

Her first appointment is at 9am. I was told to not give food or water after 12 am. Shoot the usual with the minimal amount of food I could give her. I just feel weird about doing that. I think it would be better not to shoot at all. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

I dont know and that freaks me out.
 
Are you getting x-rays first, at 9 a.m.?

It looks like she gets her shot at 7:30 pm or so. Could you shoot, and then give a snack at midnight?

I'm not up on Enana's particular, but I completely understand how you feel. I have given a half dose the night before and no dose in the morning - even though the vet usually told me to give a full dose at night and a half dose in the morning.

Hope you get some good feedback. I'll send good dental vines your way!
 
Yeah, he is checking her at 9. The secretary told me the dental would be after that.

I guess it is ok to give food the day before? :shock:
 
I can only say what I was told by vet techs: The truth is (they say) that 6 hours prior to anesthesia is okay, and 8 hours is definitely adequate. This is what I was told, when I was persistent. But this is just one vet tech, and Enana is different.

I was thinking about this, and Kitty is so different from Enana - dose, history, etc. Six is cutting it too close. I did cut it as close as 8, but again, ECID.

Maybe you could post in Health. Maybe one of the vet techs there would respond.

Sorry not to be more helpful. :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top