7/23 Enana AMPS 299 +1/259 Dental thursday.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Natalia & Enana

Member Since 2011
Hello everybody! I hope everyone of you is having a good/great summer.

Friday night I noticed a foul mouth (not the regular fishy smell) coming off from Enana's mouth. I checked and she had bleeding gums. Soooo, I just made an appointment for Thursday morning...

But, for the life of me, I dont remember a thing I did last year for her dental. I know I shot her...but if I did, I had had to given her food :shock: isnt it?
 
Re: 7/23 Enana AMPS 299 Dental thursday.

Vets vary with their preferences regarding food and insulin. A lot will depend on what time the dental is scheduled. Most vets will suggest either a reduced dose or to skip since anesthesia can lower BG levels. Ditto on the food issue -- I think many vets want at least several hours where your cat hasn't eaten. I'd check with your vet.

Remember, you want to get pre- and post- procedure x-rays. Post-dental pictures are important if there are extractions.

When Enana gets home, don't give her a full meal. Feed in small amounts since the anesthesia also will slow her GI track and if you feed too much, you'll get scarf-and-barf. If there are extractions, some cats need a day or two to get back to eating their regular food. Baby food is easy on the mouth (the all meat and broth type -- no onions, etc.)

If there are extractions, pain meds are needed. Most of us opt for buprenex/buprenorphine. Remember, no Metacam (meloxicam) due to it's causing kidney failure in some cats. If an antibiotic is given, most of us stay away from Convenia since it lasts for 2 weeks and if Enana is allergic, once it's in, you can't get it out. (My vet gives clindomycin after a dental.)
 
He told me not to give her food or water after midnight. To shoot the same as always.

Thanks Sienne. I made note of all of this :-D
 
Good dental vines for Enana on Thursday. My vet to says no food, but asked for a half dose of insulin. I know I would not shoot the full dose, not without any food on board. Once we skipped the shot altogether too, as Mannie was low that morning.

I hope all goes well with the dental. I am sure it will.
 
nice to see you two, natalia! but i'm sorry enana is off to the vetty on thursday - hopefully it will go very smoothly. i gave punkin a watered down spoonful of food just so he'd have his face in the bowl and i could shoot him, then the vet waited a little longer to put him under. i'd gotten the ok to do that in advance. i think we did a 1/2 dose, but as someone pointed out to me, you probably want to do what your vet suggests because that's what they know how to deal with.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top