7/23 Catcat AMPS 248,+3.25=212,+6=188,+9=244,PMPS 294,+3=302

just reading about your adventure with calipers -- I have a slightly easier start, I think, since we're at .5 so I have a line to look at, as I adjust the calipers, to see how far "off" the line really is
 
may miss nadir today if it's before +6 -- I've been guessing that nadir occurs somewhere around +5 but I could be wrong too, so planning to check at +6 today, since Catcat isn't diving in, at least not yet

he's wandering around looking active, is a bit browned off at me because I cleaned his chin acne earlier -- Cetaphil gel face&body wash works well on cats with dirty chins, followed by chlorhexidine on gauze, then benzoyl peroxide after it all dried off
 
now he gets his allotment of protein and fat -- home stewed boneless skinless chicken thigh == freshly warmed from the freezer; next test scheduled at +9 if I'm awake, will see if he dips down in later part of cycle

I'm really more of a SLGS sort of person, but yes, the testing almost looks like TR -- as I search to bracket the nadir time, so that I can test less frequently

part of the problem, is that I can't get a decent test out of Catcat without feeding him at least a tablespoon of food, well watered down -- if I try to do so without it, I get clawed and bitten, and he fights so much it has to be affecting his BG ...

rather have him relatively calm, just a vocal protest (OUCH!) at the prick and a bit of squirming as I hold his ear to begin the process

means, though, that I can't get valid tests closer together than 2 hours and even then there is probably some food influence -- 3 hour separation may give more accurate results

I want his body to get used to these lower numbers, not yet "normal" but at least just above it, and with luck below renal threshold
 
Last edited:
he's saving the blue streak for another day -- good chance this was because of all that chicken I fed him at +6 -- gotta keep his calorie count up

funny thing, even with the excess calories, and his BG coming down, he's getting slender, at least from the top -- still plenty of padding over his backbone and ribs, but his stomach and abdomen, which used to pooch out a little, are nearly vertical, and his flanks have a definite concavity -- not like they were when he was first diagnosed, now it's more like he has a waist and the slender hips of a wide receiver ...
 
good grief, is everyone bouncing tonight?

almost acts like a fur shot, but I was sure it wasn't ... well I suppose it could have been

was thinking about leaving some food available for me to put down if I make the usual biffy trip in the middle of the night; maybe that's not such a good idea now

he's acting fat and sassy anyway -- let him have a quiet night with a full tummy
 
Back
Top