7/22 Trixie AMPS 176 +2 192 +4 124 PMPS 162 +2 90 +4 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=48131

:shock: :? :shock:

Ok, can't joke about it any longer. With the two increases we've done in the past few weeks, we've had nothing but steadily rising numbers.Is it even remotely possibly that .75U is too much insulin for her?

Yes, I know I'm grasping at straws, and I'm doing the super-silly thing of actually trying to understand the trends of Trixie's numbers, but I figured I might as well toss the idea out there. Her insulin is only a few weeks old, so I'd like to think that's not the issue. No sign of UTI or anything else that could be making her feel icky. I'm just so perplexed!

As always, any and all insight is welcome!

Amy
 
Re: 7/22 Trixie AMPS 176 +2 192 - thoughts???

Tray and I are in the same boat. My vet actually had us lower the dose and we did see better numbers but still not great.
So frustrating. I hope you figure out what's going on with Trixie and those greens return.
 
Re: 7/22 Trixie AMPS 176 +2 192 - thoughts???

Sorry Amy, no insight here :oops: Back in June .75 seemed to be dose Trixie did really well on...
When it went skinny then down to f.50, all the blue PS's started...

I can see it, but can't interpret it. :?
 
Re: 7/22 Trixie AMPS 176 +2 192 - thoughts???

Hi Amy, this will give you a bump up! So sorry Trixie is not feeling like herself. I'm sure someone will be along to advise. It is frustrating for sure. I'm on the same dose now for a long time.
 
Re: 7/22 Trixie AMPS 176 +2 192 - thoughts???

This could be a food spike, reaction to heat, stress, but listen, This is just one number, just one day, for just one cycle. It could change by +4 or +5 too! We tend to get so hung up on every number, let's just see where it goes-OK?
Looks to me also like Trixie likes 0.75U as well...If you look at Moonie's SS(3 1/2 yrs worth! and not up to date) you will see she has done much the same over the years..She is still on a chubby 0.5U, and now is pretty good.
I guess it is possible for a cat to be getting too much insulin, but I'm not sure this is the case--
Patience & consistancy, that's what works--Seeing positive behavior, old before dx behaviors returning, good WCR(whole cat report) that's the best indicator of improvement--When that happens, good numbers will follow...Let's see next few numbers OK? Big comfort Hugs to you! I've been here many times with Moonie.
 
Re: 7/22 Trixie AMPS 176 +2 192 - thoughts???

This could be one of those, you have to go up before you come down situations. Keep in mind, you've been increasing by drops not full 0.25u increases so it may seem more frustrating. I wouldn't look at the +2 in isolation -- Roni's right -- it's only one number.

The pen has about a week. Where did you buy your insulin? Was it shipped via Canada or elsewhere?

You said there's no indication of a UTI. What about the need for a dental?
 
Re: 7/22 Trixie AMPS 176 +2 192 +4 124- thoughts???

Hi guys .. I don't have any advice or words of wisdom to give .. I know it's frustrating .. just keep hanging in there, you're doing awesome .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/22 Trixie AMPS 176 +2 192 +4 124- thoughts???

Thanks, everyone. I actually am looking past that ugly +2 and at her trend from the past month or so in general...that's what is throwing me off. She was doing beautifully - maintaining normal numbers 24/7 - on .75U just last month. So, we tried shaving her down to S.75U; she earned a reduction on that dose by dropping below 50 a few days later. Shaved her down again t F.50u; still doing well, but those pre-shots started creeping up. In a attempt to get those pre-shots to come back down and flatten out her curve, we added a drop back in. All numbers in general started creeping up. Added another drop back in...once again, all numbers start creeping up even further, and here we are.

The pen is from my local Target pharmacy, which is where I always get her insulin. I'm on the fence as to whether I should refill it ASAP, or try and hold out for a few more cycles. I hate to waste it if it's still good and this numbers things is just Trixie being Trixie.

She had her dental back in April. She had 7 extractions: 1 full tooth; 6 roots that were left behind from other teeth that had broken off. She was re-checked a couple weeks later and given the all-clear. She currently doesn't display any signs of discomfort when she eats.

She's behaving like her usual furry, purry self. I just don't like seeing her numbers climb; naturally, I'd rather they stay down in the healthy "normal" range like they were several weeks ago. I do know that if and when we get her back to that point, I will be much, much slower to shave her down again. I was hesitant about doing it the last time, but I figured it wouldn't be that big of a deal....if her numbers started going up, we'd just add the juice back in to get her back on track. Apparently, easier said than done!
 
Re: 7/22 Trixie AMPS 176 +2 192 +4 124- thoughts???

Maybe her bg's don't like the heat. Or the month of July. Or the color of the sky. Just kidding! I have no idea why these cats do what they do, or respond the way they do, but I know you are being thoughtful in your care for Trixie and I wish you the best in deciding how to do so.
 
Re: 7/22 Trixie AMPS 176 +2 192 +4 124- thoughts???

I usually, because we are here so long, wait for Moonie to get 3--40's numbers before I reduce her, as she usually has trouble holding a dose...But as you know FD is an unpredictable disease--
And Look she's already coming down--YEAH!! :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup
 
Re: 7/22 Trixie AMPS 176 +2 192 +4 124- thoughts???

Yeah, once we saw this last round of reductions not holding, we did decide to go the "3 tries before reducing" route in the future as well. I know I shouldn't be, but I'm surprised that it's been hard getting her back on track...oh well, I'm sure she'll get there again at some point.
 
Re: 7/22 Trixie AMPS 176 +2 192 +4 124- thoughts???

Amy: sorry, no thoughts here that Sienne hasn't stated. I hope you can get her back to those beautiful cycles. These are still lovely, but I know they were a titch better with really nice green numbers.

Good luck...thinking of you. I know the frustration.
 
Re: 7/22 Trixie AMPS 176 +2 192 +4 124 PMPS 162 +2 90

Looking a bit better this evening, but not holding my breath just yet...
 
Re: 7/22 Trixie AMPS 176 +2 192 +4 124 PMPS 162 +2 90

Wish I knew Amy!! We have gone down, up, down. I can't fifure it out either. I would give it a few more cycles and see what happens. Hugs to you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top