7/22 Shadow amps 129 +1 115 +5 1/2 76 +11 166

Status
Not open for further replies.

rhiannon and shadow (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hello all,
I'd like a little input.

My poor shadow's little ears are so bruised you can see all the red spots under my bright light for seeing what I am doing.
I know she's really tender and my new lancet should be here in tomorrow's mail.
We often have to try several times which is why she looks and feels so bruised. The fastclix lancet that came with my accu-chek avia meter is
too fine a gauge , I decided to change and we've just had to make due while waiting for the new one. accuchek softclix.
I looked all over santa fe and couldn't find anything but the fine gauge ones and she really cries if I try to poke freely with the other kind.


So... here's my question.
I am planning on shooting .75 in 40 minutes.
I don't want to push it too hard because I have to run off tomorrow but I will be in and out and my daughter will be here to call me.
I wasn't going to do a pmps since I can see where my number is with the +11.
We are definitely trending downward in a good way. I want to keep doing that but not push it to an uncomfortable low where I feel
I have to keep poking her tonite.

I will set the alarm for at least one in the night.
Anyone see a reason to do it differently?
 
Re: 7/28 Shadow amps 129 +1 115 +5 1/2 76 +11 166

If Shadow's capillary bed in her ear has not yet developed, if you poke twice in the same spot (or close), you'll have a better chance of getting blood. Using Neosporin with pain relief will also help.

I'm really unclear as to what you're doing with dosing. With Lantus, consistency is key. You should really be shooting the same amount at AM and PM -- I'm not clear why you shot a reduced dose this morning.

I would strongly urge you to get a PMPS even if you have a +11. Numbers can change quickly. As a rule, it is important for your cat's safety to know what the pre-test number is. In some cases, getting a +11 and a PS test, will tell you if you have a dropping number. Without seeing your pre-shot, it's hard to know what to suggest. I would, however, suggest you get at least a +2. If your +2 is markedly lower than your PMPS, then you will need to get another early test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top